CAMS and Cards - advice for complete novice req

bmews

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
HDCI-2000 in apartment with common sat feed. Just ordered SKY+ (not HD) so i can get broadband
My Location
cambridgeshire
Setup = Humax HDCI-2000 on a fixed (shared dish) running v.16 firmware. About to have SKY+ installed with the variety package (1 mix?) Primarily wanted it for the broadband.

i know nothing about cams and cards and would like advice and pointers as to what i can reasonably expect to do should i purchase one and what card/s will need to be purchased along with the cam.

i really need a dummies guide (yet again) to this whole area and would appreciate advice and guidance.

regards

Barry.

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
As you are fixed on Astra 28E, there's little point in obtaining a CAM for your Humax, as all you will be able to do is use your Sky card in it to watch the channels on the Humax that you are already subscribed to with your Sky box - unless that is what you are proposing to do. For this you will need to program the CAM.

The Diablo CAM would be a good choice, as in the future if you decide to add another dish, you will have access to other encrypted channels on various satellites that can currently be opened

A CAS programmer (from Duolabs) will be necessary to program the Diablo - the CAS3+ would be the best version.

Alternatively the Dragon/TRex Cam would be OK (still needs to be programmed, but other programmers will also work with this).

Check the CAM section of this forum for help in programming etc.

Llew

bmews

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup