Converting from analogue to digital for German TV

County Jon

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Analogue dish pointed to 19E for receiving German stations
My Location
South, UK
Hi, newbie here, so apologies for the basic question.

Some 18 years ago on returning to the UK I got a satellite dish pointed at 19degE so my mother-in-law could watch German TV when visiting. I understand the analogue signal will be turned off in 6 months, so called in an engineer to ask about converting (upgrading?) the system to digital. Price: £450, though after some spluttering this came down to £150 for a "very basic" system. But maybe this is also too much?

From reading these forums I understand I'll need to upgrade the LNB and install a digital receiver box. Is it really that simple?

Also, around the same time, analogue terrestrial signals will turn off in our area - we are in the last phase of conversion to digital. Can I use a single box for both satellite and terrestrial digital signals?

We live in a very poor terrestrial reception area, due to the distance to transmitters, and unfortunately placed trees. The trees even bock out view to Sky, as confirmed by Sky's crack team of fitters, and Freesat too I guess. Are some digiboxes better than others in poor Freeview reception areas?

Thanks for any help
County Jon

Rick

Retired Mod
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Fibo 1.2m HH, Wavefield T90. AzBox HD Premium, Vu+ Duo
My Location
Blackburn, Lancs
County Jon said:
as confirmed by Sky's crack team of fitters,

Now there is a laugh and a half ! :-rofl2

I would say that £150 to change the LNB and supply and fit a relatively basic reciever for 19e, a technomate perhaps, sounds OK TBH.