Newbie Here Hotbird 13 and Astra 28.2 with the same dish?

ojaysmoke

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Icecrypt - Hotbird 13
My Location
manchester
I've never set up a satellite dish or anything as such and this will be my first time. I have an Icecrypt receiver connected to a dish, 80cm i think, pointed towards Hotbird 13e and it works fine.
However I want to get the Sky channels too which are on Astra 28.2.
Would it be possible for me to add another LNB to my current dish and receive both of them with the same dish?
If so, how hard will it be and would installing a new dish be easier?

Thanks in advance

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Hi Ojaysmoke

Welcome to the forum

Whilst a second lnb is often a possibility in these circumstances it really depend on the dish size and amount of patience you have and your line of sight. Both birds are reasonably powerful and I would tend to go with your focal point on 28.2E and picking 13E as the offset lnb. As I am not an installer or indeed very experienced in 2nd lnb's I would wait for a reply from someone more experienced, in the meantime have a search on the forum search utility for your needs or start with this thread

https://www.satellites.co.uk/forums/threads/my-sat-setup-part-2.161783/#post-902824

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Dead easy to do - get something like this

http://tinyurl.com/ln24wem

hook the second lnb up, adjust for maximum signal, set the disecq switching arrangements up and away you go :)

Stick a third lnb in and you can have 19E as well :D

ojaysmoke

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Icecrypt - Hotbird 13
My Location
manchester
Dead easy to do - get something like this

http://tinyurl.com/ln24wem