Humax 5400 v Dreambox 7000 v Dreambox 5620

kungfumaster

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to this satellite 'hobby' and I was thinking of getting a patched 5400z, now I've started to read about this Dreambox and I'm wondering whether it's worth getting this instead?

However, it seems that it is quite difficult to setup, is this really the case? I have a computing degree from a few years back but know nothing about the Linux OS - do I need to?

Also, the German sateliite shop http://www.hm-sat-shop.de are doing the 5620 for an amazing 169euro, which is about £112! Which is very tempting, the 7000 is 319euro. How much more difficult, if any, is it to get the 5620 working than the 7000? And for the people who have ordered from them before, how much is postage and is there a tax cost involved as well?

Thanks in advance!

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Do a search in this sectin for hm-sat.de and you will see the cost in another couple of threads, can't remember what the carriage was, but my 7000s with 120GB HD was £305 delivered.

kungfumaster

Reaction score
Yeah, I saw that thread, but I think the 7000s has changed price since then, so I can't work out the postage. Did you have to pay any tax?

rolfw

Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
The price was inclusive of VAT.

rolfw

Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
Berkshire
Sorry, was doing several other things at the same time, missed the most important question. :)