Lost Channels on FoxSat HDR

TomS43

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
FoxSat HDR. 80 cm offset dish with quad LNB
My Location
Germany
I have been using my FoxSat HDR for several years to receive Freesat in Germany without any problems. However, I recently noticed that, although I have Channel 5 HD, Channel 5 SD seems to have vanished. Because of the proximity of a number of large trees, the signal I receive via my dish is not strong enough to provide HD without some pixelation. However, I cannot get around the tree problem, either by moving my dish, or by getting out the chainsaw. I have found out that by doing a manual tune, I can get Channel 5 SD, but then the STB Mode changes to non-freesat, and I get a whole lot of Channels that I don't want, everything is in the wrong order, and also the EPG is less helpful and orderly than it seems to be after an Auto tune. Is there a way around this, or do I just have to either do without Channel 5 SD on auto tune, or tediously edit the channel list on the EPG on the non-freesat STB?

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
C5HD replaced the SD version on all Freesat HD boxes at channel number 105 quite a few months ago. The SD version only appears at position 105 on SD boxes now.

There's still C5 +1, of course, which is an SD channel.

It may be possible to modify your channels in Freesat mode if your HDR has the Raydon firmware fitted. I don't have this so can't say for sure.

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Further to @PaulR's comment, if you have the original Foxsat HDR, you can install Custom Firmware which allows you to transfer Channels tuned in non-Freesat mode to the end of the Freesat EPG, so you can operate the box in Freesat mode for simplicity.