Any way to test if two ends among some coax cables belong to the same cable?

tttsheridan

Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
Location
Seattle
My Satellite Setup
1m motorized dish
DM500 FortecStar FSIR5400 DM500HD DM800.
My Location
Tripoli, Libay, the former rogue state capital
3 dishes with about a dozen cables connected to the LNB swich.
I want to know which is the other end of the cable connected to my receiver in my apartment .
Is there a way to test without using some electrical meter or device?
and because the cable is about 25m, if you drag or pull it:eek:, you see nothing on the roof.

I will really appreciate your idea here.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
5,995
Reaction score
1,254
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Disconnect a cable from the switch and check if the picture disappears from the tele. If it doesn't it's the wrong cable.
 

tttsheridan

Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
Location
Seattle
My Satellite Setup
1m motorized dish
DM500 FortecStar FSIR5400 DM500HD DM800.
My Location
Tripoli, Libay, the former rogue state capital
Guess if there is no better idea, I will have to make the runs.
 

Rick

Retired Mod
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
636
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Fibo 1.2m HH, Wavefield T90. AzBox HD Premium, Vu+ Duo
My Location
Blackburn, Lancs
tttsheridan said:
Guess if there is no better idea, I will have to make the runs.

I'm not sure there is another way without a meter.

I use a loopback socket, which is basically a wall plate, wired so that the dielectric and outer braid are connected. I can then use a multi-meter on continuity mode to ID each cable.

For a cheap tester you could use a battery and a light bulb.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,254
Reaction score
3,684
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
He could of course use a telecoms toner and send a signal down the cable from the stb end and then trace which cable he can pick up the signal at the other end
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,265
Reaction score
3,717
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Lol, at BT we used to have to find one cable out of 100's sometimes, using a toner at one end and headphones incorporating a coil passed over the mass of cables at the other end(s) :-doh2
 

kenny1234

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
418
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Motorised ASC 1.2m,1224 Supermount with C120 Invacom Quad LNB with Matched Feedhorn.
My Location
Scunthorpe
I use both the 2 following ns1608 and ns 1600 both would do the job although expensive for one off job, if used regularly they are a godsend and worth every penny:)

_http://www.sacelectronics.co.uk/ProductList.aspx?Sub=55

I also believe Vision make similar products
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,031
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
kenny1234 said:
I use both the 2 following ns1608 and ns 1600 both would do the job although expensive for one off job, if used regularly they are a godsend and worth every penny:)

_http://www.sacelectronics.co.uk/ProductList.aspx?Sub=55

I also believe Vision make similar products

Yes, use the F Type cable tester also. Must get round to getting the 8way cable mapper shown on the above link.

Great tools for cable identification.
 

tttsheridan

Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
Location
Seattle
My Satellite Setup
1m motorized dish
DM500 FortecStar FSIR5400 DM500HD DM800.
My Location
Tripoli, Libay, the former rogue state capital
Thank you all!

Is it possible to use a small light bulb, batteries and a really long wire/cable to do the test? :-lmao

This was actually my initial plan...
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,265
Reaction score
3,717
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Don't need a long cable - battery at one end and bulb at the other. Make sure the other ends aren't shorted though.
 

tttsheridan

Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
Location
Seattle
My Satellite Setup
1m motorized dish
DM500 FortecStar FSIR5400 DM500HD DM800.
My Location
Tripoli, Libay, the former rogue state capital
Yes. In that case I need to use both the copper core and the braided wires in the cable.
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I had an intermittent fault on a run of coax just last week so I hooked it up to a battery at one end and a bulb at the other and I managed to figure out where the lose connection was in the cable by watching the bulb flicker as I moved the cable at various points.
 

MJL1982

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
Sky MDU engineer
My Location
England
Yes, use the F Type cable tester also. Must get round to getting the 8way cable mapper shown on the above link.

Great tools for cable identification.
Has anyone come across a toner that u can use the wand without unscrewing all the cables out of the switch? Say for tracing a cable to switch from sky + switch to sky Q?
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,082
Reaction score
1,983
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Has anyone come across a toner that u can use the wand without unscrewing all the cables out of the switch? Say for tracing a cable to switch from sky + switch to sky Q?
Wouldn't advise that approach as it would be potentially far too easy to get the tone appearing on the wrong cable if both are left connected to the box.

It's easy to disconnect the Sky cables to the box (best to mark which cable goes to which socket!) - all you need is an 11mm open-ended spanner, or a pair of pliars:
- disconnect the mains plug or power supply to the box
- gently unscrew the SKY cable connections on the box
- do an end-to-end test on each cable (you could use a simple tone tracer kit to do that)
- carefully refit the connections to the box (make sure the centre copper core wire of each cable is dead straight before you do that, and then make sure it is then pushed firmly into the centre of the socket on the box as you do up the nut on the cable connector)
- reconnect the mains supply to the box and restart it.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,515
Reaction score
814
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
30,812
Reaction score
6,963
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Oi ! I'm supposed to do that :D

Depending on the age and quality of the cable installed, you might find distance markings on the outer covering, every metre or so. Knowing the overall distance of the end to the switch (25metres in the o/p's example) you could do a simple subtraction to find which is which in the majority of the bundle.
 
Top