Capitalised words being changed, even after editing.

Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
215
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
TV with built in Freeview/ Virgin Media TiVo V6 box
My Location
UK
I've noticed that, after the first word, capitalised letters are being changed back.

At first I thought it was my auto correct, but even after editing this still happens.

Example:

 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,649
Reaction score
674
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Just tried editing your title, and it worked for me.
I sort of remember another thread, on this subject, that referred to the same problem, possibly due to a forum update.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,109
Reaction score
9,826
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Yeah its a bug in the current version of the forum software. The only way to change it seems to be to go back into your original post, change the title and save the changes. Thats worked ok for me this afternoon on one of the new channel threads
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,741
Reaction score
2,328
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Yeah its a bug in the current version of the forum software. The only way to change it seems to be to go back into your original post, change the title and save the changes. Thats worked ok for me this afternoon on one of the new channel threads
But you have to do it very quickly for the changes to "take".
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,525
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Staff can go back in and make changes after any period of time but, err, lesser mortals :) have a limited time in which to amend a post or a title.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,469
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
The Edit Window remains open in perpetuity for Staff, so if you need a change, let us know via the Report button.

Edit: Snap.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,741
Reaction score
2,328
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
IIRC, the "window" for "lesser mortals" (like me :) ) is 60 mins from the initial post - but, personally, I wouldn't wait "that long" :rolleyes:
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,525
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Ah, here's the thread where it was originally discussed.

 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,469
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Ah, here's the thread where it was originally discussed.


Lots of spurious inverted commas in that Thread. Weird.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,741
Reaction score
2,328
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Ah, here's the thread where it was originally discussed.

Yup, it was me wot posted that - and with "good reason" :angry:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
215
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
TV with built in Freeview/ Virgin Media TiVo V6 box
My Location
UK
Thanks for explaining everyone. I did try and correct it via editing, but it didn't work.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,525
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
The editing wasn't allowed or it was allowed and when you changed the title the change didn't stick?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
215
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
TV with built in Freeview/ Virgin Media TiVo V6 box
My Location
UK
Editing was allowed as I tried to change it straight away, but it had no effect.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,525
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
OK, I have no answer to that as it does work me - but then I have staff rights. Unfortunately I don't have a secondary ordinary member account to try this out from. I'm not sure of which (if any!) staff members have such an account to try this out.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,635
Reaction score
3,839
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
OK, I have no answer to that as it does work me - but then I have staff rights. Unfortunately I don't have a secondary ordinary member account to try this out from. I'm not sure of which (if any!) staff members have such an account to try this out.
Only @rolfw I suspect, who is not on the forum ATM
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,109
Reaction score
9,826
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
I have found my old test account - give me a few minutes to see what happens
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,109
Reaction score
1,478
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Sorry guys, just got back from France with very little internet access, only on phone.
 
Top