Newbie Here Diagnosing no signal?

Smiffy2422

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Regular ex-sky Mini-Dish going to Manhattan Plaza HD-S2 Freesat Receiver
My Location
Epsom, Surrey
Hi guys,

We recently moved in to a property that had a Sky Mini-Dish set up on the wall (and was working when the previous family lived there). We never used the dish initially, but bought a freesat box, and assuming the satellite is the same, hooked it up, only to be greeted with not being able to even do the initial set up on the freesat box, because there's no signal whatsoever.

The physical appearance of the dish is in good condition, the LNB and connectors look almost new and there's no sign of degradation or corrosion. We've tried to re-position the dish along its horizontal alignment, but still no luck.

Out of curiosity we also tried both the old satellite cable that was already attached to the dish, and tried a brand new one, both had the same results.

It's also worth noting the freesat receiver is brand new, too.

Thanks,
Lewis

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Hi Lewis, did you mark where the dish was originally before you moved it? A couple of millimetres in the wrong direction and signal is lost. Is the dish looking in the the same general direction as other Sky dishes around you?