Dreambox 600 with existing sky dish

h_p

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
PC Dreambox
My Location
London
Hi all,

I have recently moved into a new house which has a WNC Universal quad lnb satellite dish (south facing) connected, there is no receiver but I am thinking of getting a Dreambox 600 and was wondering if I would be able to cardshare using this dish or do I need to get another dish (motorised or other)?

Any advice/help will be much appreciated.

Thanks
 

h_p

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
PC Dreambox
My Location
London
Hi all,

I have recently moved into a new house which has a WNC Universal quad lnb satellite dish (south facing) connected, there is no receiver but I am thinking of getting a Dreambox 600 and was wondering if I would be able to cardshare using this dish or do I need to get another dish (motorised or other)?

Any advice/help will be much appreciated.

Thanks
 

shumifan50

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
521
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
2xDM7025(DVB-S tuner), DM600SPVR, DM800S, DM500S HD, Triax 90cm with MultiBracket 4 sats.
My Location
Europe
Any dish/LNB (inclduing multi-LNBs) that works with a Sly dish will also work with a dreambox. Card sharing discussions are not allowed on this forum.
 

shumifan50

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
521
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
2xDM7025(DVB-S tuner), DM600SPVR, DM800S, DM500S HD, Triax 90cm with MultiBracket 4 sats.
My Location
Europe
Any dish/LNB (inclduing multi-LNBs) that works with a Sly dish will also work with a dreambox. Card sharing discussions are not allowed on this forum.
 

h_p

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
PC Dreambox
My Location
London
I have read all necessary guides and tutorials and am pretty confident with learning the dreambox, plus I work in Media and have a IT background so am fine with Networking and loading software/firmware etc.

The only thing I have not done before is install a satellite dish and have been reading tutorials and guides and can see it is a very complicated process. So ideally would like to avoid this if I can use the existing WNC Universal quad lnb satellite dish which is already set up and 2 cables are in the sockets next to my TV.

Many people on the forums have mentioned using a motorized dish, from what I understand this is good for picking up multiple satellites using one receiver, which I may consider doing at a later stage once I have set my dreambox up and have it working for the basic level. At the moment I am only interested in cardshare and want to know if I can do this with my current satellite set up.

Thanks in advance for your help
 

h_p

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
PC Dreambox
My Location
London
I have read all necessary guides and tutorials and am pretty confident with learning the dreambox, plus I work in Media and have a IT background so am fine with Networking and loading software/firmware etc.

The only thing I have not done before is install a satellite dish and have been reading tutorials and guides and can see it is a very complicated process. So ideally would like to avoid this if I can use the existing WNC Universal quad lnb satellite dish which is already set up and 2 cables are in the sockets next to my TV.

Many people on the forums have mentioned using a motorized dish, from what I understand this is good for picking up multiple satellites using one receiver, which I may consider doing at a later stage once I have set my dreambox up and have it working for the basic level. At the moment I am only interested in cardshare and want to know if I can do this with my current satellite set up.

Thanks in advance for your help
 

sonic1

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
869
Reaction score
112
Points
43
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
Vu + Ultimo 4K - Solo 4K - Uno 4K - Duo2- SoloSE - Zero- Uno -Prismcube Open Black Hole - 0.6 , 98cm Funkee , 28E-23.5E-19E-13E
My Location
Black Hole Team
With a fixed dish you can do what you are suggesting, you will of course be limited to viewing just the one satellite so sharing and having other viewing cards will be a little pointless.
But you can still do it.
 

sonic1

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
869
Reaction score
112
Points
43
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
Vu + Ultimo 4K - Solo 4K - Uno 4K - Duo2- SoloSE - Zero- Uno -Prismcube Open Black Hole - 0.6 , 98cm Funkee , 28E-23.5E-19E-13E
My Location
Black Hole Team
With a fixed dish you can do what you are suggesting, you will of course be limited to viewing just the one satellite so sharing and having other viewing cards will be a little pointless.
But you can still do it.
 

compufunk

Regular Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1
Points
36
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
My Location
NW, Ireland
Provided the existing dish is pointed at Astra2 (28.2E) and the cabling/LNB is good you will have no problem using it for sharing. (I'm assuming you are interested in Sky) Sharing really has nothing to do with the dish/lnb.

Going motorized would let you avail of a lot more services, but as you say, you are probably better getting your receiver up and running with the basics first.

The DM600 is a nice reliable little receiver. :)

EDIT: Too slow on the typewriter!
 

compufunk

Regular Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1
Points
36
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
My Location
NW, Ireland
Provided the existing dish is pointed at Astra2 (28.2E) and the cabling/LNB is good you will have no problem using it for sharing. (I'm assuming you are interested in Sky) Sharing really has nothing to do with the dish/lnb.

Going motorized would let you avail of a lot more services, but as you say, you are probably better getting your receiver up and running with the basics first.

The DM600 is a nice reliable little receiver. :)

EDIT: Too slow on the typewriter!
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,541
Reaction score
8,236
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
h_p said:
The only thing I have not done before is install a satellite dish and have been reading tutorials and guides and can see it is a very complicated process.

It really isn't difficult, even for a first-timer. A methodical approach yields dividends :)
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,541
Reaction score
8,236
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
h_p said:
The only thing I have not done before is install a satellite dish and have been reading tutorials and guides and can see it is a very complicated process.

It really isn't difficult, even for a first-timer. A methodical approach yields dividends :)
 

shumifan50

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
521
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
2xDM7025(DVB-S tuner), DM600SPVR, DM800S, DM500S HD, Triax 90cm with MultiBracket 4 sats.
My Location
Europe
You dont have to motorise the dish - this seems to cause a lot of people a lot of problems. But you could go for a multi-bracket solution. This means you put multiple lnbs on a bracket and dont need a motor, but you will need a bigger dish (around 90cm - 1m). It means you can only see the satellites the dish is aimed at, but switching time is instant as the dish does not have to move, it is done with an electronic diseqc switch.
The second benefit of the multi bracket solution is that you can use multi-lnbs to different stbs and each stb can watch a different satellite. With a motor the dish is aimed at one satellite at a time, so all stbs connected to the dish have to watch services on the same satellite.
 

shumifan50

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
521
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
2xDM7025(DVB-S tuner), DM600SPVR, DM800S, DM500S HD, Triax 90cm with MultiBracket 4 sats.
My Location
Europe
You dont have to motorise the dish - this seems to cause a lot of people a lot of problems. But you could go for a multi-bracket solution. This means you put multiple lnbs on a bracket and dont need a motor, but you will need a bigger dish (around 90cm - 1m). It means you can only see the satellites the dish is aimed at, but switching time is instant as the dish does not have to move, it is done with an electronic diseqc switch.
The second benefit of the multi bracket solution is that you can use multi-lnbs to different stbs and each stb can watch a different satellite. With a motor the dish is aimed at one satellite at a time, so all stbs connected to the dish have to watch services on the same satellite.
 

h_p

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
PC Dreambox
My Location
London
thanks for all your help.

I presume my dish is pointed at Astra2 (28.2E), but cannot be certain as I am not sure how to check this - if anyone can give show me an easy way to this I would appreciate it. The dish is secured to the wall quite high up and is south facing, I am able to get access to it which is how I managed to get the detials - WNC Universal quad lnb, the dish is black mesh but doesnt have a name, well at least I can't see one.

I have got Klona's guide and have read through it so will use this to get my dreambox up and running.

If my current satellite dish is pointing to Astra2 (28.2E) I understand I will only be able to get FTA channels that SKY offer unless I use a cardshare, is this correct? When I am ready to take my dreambox a little further, e.g. load images etc which dish set up would you recomend? I know there is a lot more I can do with the dreambox but am still trying to learn how I can use it to its full potential using guides and tutorials.

If there are any distributors that are willing to help, I will be happy to buy my necessary equipment from you, this includes the actual dreambox, please get in touch.

Thanks
 

h_p

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
PC Dreambox
My Location
London
thanks for all your help.

I presume my dish is pointed at Astra2 (28.2E), but cannot be certain as I am not sure how to check this - if anyone can give show me an easy way to this I would appreciate it. The dish is secured to the wall quite high up and is south facing, I am able to get access to it which is how I managed to get the detials - WNC Universal quad lnb, the dish is black mesh but doesnt have a name, well at least I can't see one.

I have got Klona's guide and have read through it so will use this to get my dreambox up and running.

If my current satellite dish is pointing to Astra2 (28.2E) I understand I will only be able to get FTA channels that SKY offer unless I use a cardshare, is this correct? When I am ready to take my dreambox a little further, e.g. load images etc which dish set up would you recomend? I know there is a lot more I can do with the dreambox but am still trying to learn how I can use it to its full potential using guides and tutorials.

If there are any distributors that are willing to help, I will be happy to buy my necessary equipment from you, this includes the actual dreambox, please get in touch.

Thanks
 
Top