Newbie Here Freesat and Freesat from Sky using same dish

Duncan Thomson

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Sky + HD, Sky Plus, Freesat frm Sky
My Location
Aberdeen
Hi, I'm new to the forum so apologies if I have posted this in the wrong forum section.

My elderly Grandmother used to have a paid Sky Subscription, which after a period of time she cancelled but continued to use the standard sky box in freesat mode as her TV Arial wasn't working with freeview properly.

The dish that she was using was inherited when she moved into the house and I am unsure what condition it was in when the Sky was installed (the installers didn't check it or replace it and it seemed to work).

A while back (around 18 months) she had an issue with "No Satellite signal" and for some reason instead of phoning me (I am her grandson and usually deal with all this stuff) she called out a TV installer.

He proceeded to tell her that she needed a new dish, and when he found out the Arial wasn't working, he persuaded her to have that replaced too. Then when he found out she was using the sky box in freesat mode he told her she would be better off with a freesat receiver. So all of the above work was carried out and she paid up. (She is in her 90s so I think he may have taken advantage here somewhat).

Fast forward to the current day and she asked me if I could reconnect up her sky box as she find the EPG on the freesat receiver hard to use and see.

So I proceeded to reconnect it, only to find it said no satellite signal was being received.

I took the box home to my house and connected it up and it worked perfectly. The box is a Thomson DSI 4214.

The thing that's confusing me is that I thought that a dish aligned for Sky would work a freesat receiver and vice versa. My Sony Freesat TV certainly works ok with my sky cable plugged in.

Is there another frequency that the installed has aligned the dish to so that it sees Freesat but not Sky?