Ground stand on a flat roof, weight concerns

statalite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
548
Reaction score
230
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Nova-HD-S2, Dr HD D15, Free sat V7S, Free sat v8 finder V-71HD
Zone 1 @ 28.2°E with cable tied LNB @ 19.2°E
Zone 2 @ 28.2°E
Channel Master 1.0m (to be setup)
Channel Master 1.2m (to be setup)
SMR 1224
My Location
UK Midlands
I have a question about the attached stand in the photo, it might not be a straight answer but would it be the wrong thing to put this on a flat roof due to the weight?
Also taking into account the weight of a dish with bracket or take off bracket and replace with motor plus dish.
 

Attachments

  • Imagepipe_10.jpg
    Imagepipe_10.jpg
    104.6 KB · Views: 40

TJExcalibur

Sleepy Hollow
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
1,737
Reaction score
1,035
Points
113
Age
78
Location
Out of this world.
My Satellite Setup
Master Focus 90cm .Gigablue UHD Quad 4K on TM 2600 motor. *Tm 5402 HD M3, *Atemio Nemesis. *Not Used.
My Location
Southern England
My dish is on a flat roof but despite having a 8" x 4" prestressed timber in the centre spanning 10 ft I felt it was to heavy with the added weight of blocks to hold the dish in place. I used 2 of 30" brackets from the gable end with a 2" alloy pole going down to the roof. The brackets take 90% of the weight with the pole taking the rest. Satmix SMN00201
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
30,558
Reaction score
6,900
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Putting static equipment on a flat roof safely is checking the combination of bearing load, dead weight, plus the local environment in terms of maximium wind, temperature extremes and overall height to work out potential wind shear.

This link lets you calculate the recommended minimum weight of ballast for certain dish designs.


though the figures can be reduced (slightly) if you are using adhesives to stop the dish and mount from sliding about.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,728
Reaction score
1,648
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Just find a load bearing wall underneath the roof where the dish mount will be located, solves most load factors.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
4,984
Reaction score
1,959
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
My dish is on a flat roof but despite having a 8" x 4" prestressed timber in the centre spanning 10 ft I felt it was to heavy with the added weight of blocks to hold the dish in place. I used 2 of 30" brackets from the gable end with a 2" alloy pole going down to the roof. The brackets take 90% of the weight with the pole taking the rest. Satmix SMN00201
Maybe a slightly different approach?: Bolt the stand to a large sheet of marine grade plywood to spread the mass (hopefully that would avoid the need for the mass of the blocks on top of the stand), coat the edges of the ply with some expoxy-based sealant, and then seal the whole sheet with a bitumen-based coating. I agree with concept of bracing/support the stand to a nearby wall if possible.
 

daro2096

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
427
Reaction score
41
Points
28
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
No setup at present
My Location
Consett, Durham
Get an expert out to check your roof. The roof might need some kind of work done to it first. Probably better to install at ground level.
 
Top