Newbie Here Have I misunderstood what a channel update achieves?

SoSatnaive

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD (M1)
My Location
Birmingham UK
I have had a TM5402HD (Mk1 type) for many years linked to a motorised 1m dish. It was originally set up purely to give my wife access to a Japanese language feed on Hotbird, but I took the opportunity to include a motorised system, albeit with no real idea how much we would use it (as it turned out, very little - it spends most of its life pointing at Hotbird!). The initial installation was straightforward, and the system has worked well, although with good line of sight to satellites limited by local obstructions to the range 4.8E to 28.0E.

I recently installed the update TM5402HD Channel List by William-1 for August 7th 2021 downloaded from this site. When I point the dish at Astra 28.0E, Hotbird 13.0E or Astra 4.8E, I get good reception of a large percentage of the FTA channels that appear on the channel list for each satellite, although a significant number of the remainder just display 'No or Bad Signal'. When I try other satellites that lie between these three, the success rate is much less, and in some cases none of the channels listed can be tuned. When I try moving the dish E and W slightly to try to improve the signal with these, there is no improvement - it looks as though I'm not pointing at a satellite. (I have tried updates from other sources over the years and had similar issues, so I don't believe there is any problem with the update itself).

My question is - why does this happen? Given that this is a very recent update, I assume the channel data is current, so I must be doing something wrong or I'm assuming that a channel update does more than is actually the case?