hop 2 working better than hop 1

shanamat

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
dm600 pvr
My Location
scotland
First off im a complete newbie with boxes so go easy on me with techie Q's ;)

i've been given a cline to connect direct to a server, there's only 4 or 5 people of the server (ubuntu)

when i put in my cline my picture is either freezing or pixalting (is that a word ?) with this cline im 1 hop away

so i was given another line which is 2 hops away and this works 100 % better than my original line

im using a dm600 pvr with a pli jade2 image on it

can anyone shed any light on why the line that is 2 hops away would work better than the one thats 1 hop away

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
shanamat said:
can anyone shed any light on why the line that is 2 hops away would work better than the one thats 1 hop away

I am not a dreamer but from what I understand there is a way of masking how many hops are taking place and reporting just one hop to the next in line, so although you are reading 1 hop it could in reality be 100 hops and you could be tied into a mafia controlled C/S ring who will be arriving on your doorstep to demand their money. ;)

B16MCC

Dreambox Gimp & Coder
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
2 Dreamboxes..........
---------------------------------------------
--- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
My Location
/var/tuxbox/config
There could be another slightly less cinister explanation.

The server you are connecting to is running NewCS / CCcam.
The card is hosted in NewCS and shared via CCcam, therefore you see it as 2 hops but as NewCS and CCcam are on the same machine it isn't actually a hop at all and therfore it performs very well.