Help Required How many lnbs is possible to put in dishes

gaulez

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
Kaon KSC 570 and Ouralis evo 3 with Metronic motor and sat.dish metronic 80 cm with lnb televes 0,5 db
My Location
portugal
Hello.My question is how many lnbs is possible to put in 80cm dish,and the same question for 90cm and 120cm dishes,thank you for helping,I'm waiting for an answer.Best regards.
 

davemurgtroyd

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
1,308
Reaction score
707
Points
113
Age
71
Location
Oxford
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Oxford
It depends a lot on the separation between the satellites you are trying to receive, whether the satelllites can be received on the size of dish used (remember offset lnbs will have a significantly lower signal) and the lnbs you use.
Which satellites are you looking to receive i.e. what part of the satellite arc?
What is your location?
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,813
Reaction score
1,680
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
If your trying for more then 3 satellites it would be better to use an elliptical** dish, you would have better signal strength on the outside LNB's.

**An elliptical dish is a bit wider side to side then a normal parabolic dish, this way you can use a multi LNB bracket to add LNB's.

Look at a Dish 1000 setup (used in the US) it can receive 3 satellites at a 19 degree spread, I don't know if you can find one outside of the US or Canada, but there are other makes out there.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,759
Reaction score
7,174
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
At one time i had 10 narrow invertos on a TD88, there was some juggling to work out the best position for pointing the dish in the first instance. Have Turksat satellite at 42 on the far end of a line of LNBs was fine for me at the time as the signals were incredibly strong here in the mdlands.....
 

gaulez

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
Kaon KSC 570 and Ouralis evo 3 with Metronic motor and sat.dish metronic 80 cm with lnb televes 0,5 db
My Location
portugal
Hello everybody.I think to put Hotbird 13E+Astra3B23,5E+ Astra2B28,5E in first dish,and Eutelsat9B9E + Astra1 19,2E+Badr 26E in the other,tell me what size is necessary and it is possible? My location is Lisbon,Portugal.Thanks for yours posts,and for your help.Best regards.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,041
Reaction score
9,795
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
On a 1m dish the minimum seperation you can get is about 4 degrees. It will be a bit less for bigger dishes, & a bit more for smaller dishes.
 
Top