I have european beam but not UK beam ?

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
1,003
Reaction score
538
Points
113
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,023
Reaction score
2,454
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!

dmaavrigdo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
292
Reaction score
270
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m Laminas OFC1200 dish
Golden Media 202+
Octagon SF8008 twin
Zgemma H9S
Technomate Nano M3
Technomate F3/5
Yamaha HTR-2067
My Location
Vansbro Sweden
Yes I am experiencing that - I now have a much better signal thanks to you all, however I seem to have 2E really well but poor 2F, at present not too much of an issue because I have ITV4 with great picture which I want (ironically for tour de France in English) but will need to re-balance at some point.

Is there anything that describes the relative positions of the 28.2E satellites, all I can find seem to just say 28.2, eg. something that says move slightly east for 2F or higher elevation or opposite etc ?
Set your own location.
 

dmaavrigdo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
292
Reaction score
270
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m Laminas OFC1200 dish
Golden Media 202+
Octagon SF8008 twin
Zgemma H9S
Technomate Nano M3
Technomate F3/5
Yamaha HTR-2067
My Location
Vansbro Sweden
Using an online calculator it tells me that 2F and 2G skew is a "special case" and should be "-.74" but 2E it gives "-7.9 " no mention of "special case". Should I be fitting a skew motor?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
33,602
Reaction score
7,752
Points
113
Age
58
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Using an online calculator it tells me that 2F and 2G skew is a "special case" and should be "-.74" but 2E it gives "-7.9 " no mention of "special case". Should I be fitting a skew motor?
With a 1.2m it will assist fine tuning across the arc in general, but not for distinguishing the best setting for individual Astra satellites.
 
Last edited:

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
1,003
Reaction score
538
Points
113
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
From that, because the longitude is the same but the declination differs slightly, ...

I don't call 'about 28.5' and 'about 28.2' the same longitude. That's the whole point of finding the best compromise between 28.2E and 28.5E, that is mentioned above, while doing the dish's fine-alignment.


Using an online calculator it tells me that 2F and 2G skew is a "special case" and should be "-.74" but 2E it gives "-7.9 " no mention of "special case". Should I be fitting a skew motor?

Indeed the Astra satellites have a "special case" pre-skew of 7.5 degrees.
I've never seen tested (and have never done the testing myself) if the 28.5E satellite has or has not the same pre-skew.
This could indeed be an issue, when you just barely can receive a spot beam transponder.....

(BTW. The Eutelsat satellites usually have a pre-skew of 3.535 degrees, it seems.)


Greetz,
A33
 

4wd

Getting the picture
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
2,190
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
5 W, 9-13-19-28 E
My Location
Bergen, Norway \ Alpes Maritimes, France
Yes I am experiencing that - I now have a much better signal thanks to you all, however I seem to have 2E really well but poor 2F, at present not too much of an issue because I have ITV4 with great picture which I want (ironically for tour de France in English) but will need to re-balance at some point.
Good work. And confirmed that the UK's are well present in the region. Now see how the current setup tackles the normal level variations (day\night\weather etc). If some fine tuning does not result in having satisfactory reception over time, next step looks like the larger dish. Not knowing the dish size, 110 (110x120) or 120 (120x130) ? Then a 130x140 alt. 140x150 will give a welcome boost in reliability, especially for rain, HD's & 2G \ 2F.
 

jhalliday45

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Setting up still bought a 125 dish for France and planning to use old Sky HD for Freesat
My Location
Cazeres
Good work. And confirmed that the UK's are well present in the region. Now see how the current setup tackles the normal level variations (day\night\weather etc). If some fine tuning does not result in having satisfactory reception over time, next step looks like the larger dish. Not knowing the dish size, 110 (110x120) or 120 (120x130) ? Then a 130x140 alt. 140x150 will give a welcome boost in reliability, especially for rain, HD's & 2G \ 2F.
OK so one year on, and with a new satellite mount pole I have managed to get more accuracy, and hence better signal strength and quality.
I get HD from time to time depending upon conditions and channel

But no matter what I do I have never been able to get any of this set of FTA channels on 2E, even on SD etc

1654419843790.png
I can get other channels on 2E fine for example just now; 5 USA , BLaze, DMAX etc all fine.

Any ideas why I cannot get the above channels ? is it just signal strength on these particular ones ?

I have not been able to get 4-seven either ;

1654420369473.png

Which I note is also Vertical Polarity - could that be the issue ?

However I can received other 2E Vertical signals fine such as E4+1 Film 4 + 1 etc they all work
1654420770133.png

Any help appreciated I am at the limits of my understanding on what I can do other than constantly tinker with direction/skew but with everything else working well enough including many/most 2E channels I am loathe to mess it up.

Thank you
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
33,602
Reaction score
7,752
Points
113
Age
58
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
As per


Rodscha has the same size dish and confirmed he also loses signal at certain times, so really you need something else.
 

Attachments

  • Dish.jpg
    Dish.jpg
    74.6 KB · Views: 47
Last edited:

dmaavrigdo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
292
Reaction score
270
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m Laminas OFC1200 dish
Golden Media 202+
Octagon SF8008 twin
Zgemma H9S
Technomate Nano M3
Technomate F3/5
Yamaha HTR-2067
My Location
Vansbro Sweden
OK so one year on, and with a new satellite mount pole I have managed to get more accuracy, and hence better signal strength and quality.
I get HD from time to time depending upon conditions and channel

But no matter what I do I have never been able to get any of this set of FTA channels on 2E, even on SD etc

View attachment 143188
I can get other channels on 2E fine for example just now; 5 USA , BLaze, DMAX etc all fine.

Any ideas why I cannot get the above channels ? is it just signal strength on these particular ones ?

I have not been able to get 4-seven either ;

View attachment 143189

Which I note is also Vertical Polarity - could that be the issue ?

However I can received other 2E Vertical signals fine such as E4+1 Film 4 + 1 etc they all work
View attachment 143190

Any help appreciated I am at the limits of my understanding on what I can do other than constantly tinker with direction/skew but with everything else working well enough including many/most 2E channels I am loathe to mess it up.

Thank you
I have the same here in Sweden today (cloudy). I've had Dave etc. in the past. I used to to tweak my dish but now just leave it in the mid position. Rarely anything on 12129 that we desperately want to watch. Will check my elevation next clear day.
 

Burnham Beech

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
1,037
Reaction score
51
Points
48
Will check next week when I am back in the northern French Alps. Long way from you in the French south west, but also well off from the published UK beams.
 

dmaavrigdo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
292
Reaction score
270
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m Laminas OFC1200 dish
Golden Media 202+
Octagon SF8008 twin
Zgemma H9S
Technomate Nano M3
Technomate F3/5
Yamaha HTR-2067
My Location
Vansbro Sweden
Just noticed 12129V is on 2F not 2E. So try a bit to the right .
 

dmaavrigdo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
292
Reaction score
270
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m Laminas OFC1200 dish
Golden Media 202+
Octagon SF8008 twin
Zgemma H9S
Technomate Nano M3
Technomate F3/5
Yamaha HTR-2067
My Location
Vansbro Sweden
Clear today so after a slight tweak.Screenshot 2022-06-06 at 17-00-06 Technomate TM-NANO M3 - OpenWebif.png
 

jhalliday45

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Setting up still bought a 125 dish for France and planning to use old Sky HD for Freesat
My Location
Cazeres
As per


Rodscha has the same size dish and confirmed he also loses signal at certain times, so really you need something else.
Yes just as I can receive other channels fine plus some in HD, wondering if there is a technical reason why this set of channels are proving illusive - are they weaker signal or something
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
33,602
Reaction score
7,752
Points
113
Age
58
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Many reasons. Some will be local (the sensitivity of your receive equipment at specific frequencies and polarities), some remote (the type of transmission beam, and the symbole rate used)/

Your location and dish size are however the main problems, which one do you wish to change ?
 

Burnham Beech

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
1,037
Reaction score
51
Points
48
Will check next week when I am back in the northern French Alps. Long way from you in the French south west, but also well off from the published UK beams.
Was able to test today, and I can get this transponder in the nothern French Alps. But it is definitely lower power than other lower power transponders on 28°e - shows 8.3dB vs 10.1dB on the the other lower power transponders (enigma2 box). Getting relatively stable video with only a few glitches, but easily watchable. Weather conditions perfect today, so could be marginal in heavy cloud cover and rain.

This is with my ancient 60mm Sky mesh dish, but with a modern LNB.

It just might be that the beam is slightly stronger this side (ie the far east) of the French south. And you are probably a few degrees further south that I am at 45.5°N.
 

Nalleman

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
138
Reaction score
76
Points
28
Location
Motala Sweden
My Satellite Setup
1,8 Channel Master, Black Pro LNB with CM feedhorn and VU+ DUO 2 and Vantage 8000 TS receivers. Fixed dishes at: 28,2/28,5 E (1,8 m), 19,2 E (1,5 m), 13 E (1,1 m), 5 E (1,2 m) and 1 W (0,7 m).
My Location
Sweden
OK so one year on, and with a new satellite mount pole I have managed to get more accuracy, and hence better signal strength and quality.
I get HD from time to time depending upon conditions and channel

But no matter what I do I have never been able to get any of this set of FTA channels on 2E, even on SD etc

View attachment 143188
I can get other channels on 2E fine for example just now; 5 USA , BLaze, DMAX etc all fine.

Any ideas why I cannot get the above channels ? is it just signal strength on these particular ones ?

I have not been able to get 4-seven either ;

View attachment 143189

Which I note is also Vertical Polarity - could that be the issue ?

However I can received other 2E Vertical signals fine such as E4+1 Film 4 + 1 etc they all work
View attachment 143190

Any help appreciated I am at the limits of my understanding on what I can do other than constantly tinker with direction/skew but with everything else working well enough including many/most 2E channels I am loathe to mess it up.

Thank you

I remember 4Seven beeing very sensitive regarding the skew. Turning the LNB the slightest could mean the difference between no picture and a good signal. After a lot of work I get around 11,5 dB on 11126 V.
My weakest TP:s are:
12129 V: 9,5 dB
12168 V: 9,0 dB
12226 H: 9,0 dB
12363 V: 9,5 dB
12382 H: 9,5 dB

Generally 2F is the weakest of the three birds here. 2E is the strongest.
The European beams comes in very strong from all three birds. 2G is almost incredebly strong.

This is with an 1,8 m Channel Master antenna in the southern parts of Sweden.
 

Manikm909

Small'ish Dish Man
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
1,540
Reaction score
686
Points
113
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.8M on Edision MIO 4K & GTMEDIA Combo, and CM1.2M on Octagon SF8008
My Location
Kent, UK
slightly off topic, but i noticed in Lanzarote all dishes had skew set about 45 degrees - was quite telling.

took a pic...
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20220607_061153474.jpg
    PXL_20220607_061153474.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 19

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
367
Reaction score
114
Points
43
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
slightly off topic, but i noticed in Lanzarote all dishes had skew set about 45 degrees - was quite telling.

took a pic...
Are ya sure it wasn’t the skew from the local beer or the local gangsters using them for target practice. Much of the island is gone fibre optic and less and less dishes are now in use. Good time to seek out the big dishes for sale now.
 
Top