Advice Needed Improving reception in Australia

Pauliewalnuts

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Three Sats Optus D1,D2 and Intelsat19
My Location
Melbourne Australia
Hi there, i'm new to this site and am inexperinced in regards to satellite lingo.

I currently live in Melb Aus and have 2 x 1.2m Dishes to catch feeds from D1 nd D2 and a 90cm for Intelsat19 KU

I do have issues with signal quality so what setup dish size and quality would improve this?

Also would a better quality LNB help

TIA Paulie
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
182
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
I have absolutely no experiences nor advices from your area, sorry. But remember that a bigger dish will always (ALWAYS!!) improve your signal largely better than a better LNB. Most modern LNBs have good quality, so you could gain very few points. Instead, switching from 1.2m to, say, 1.8m dish you will experience a very big jump!
 

Pauliewalnuts

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Three Sats Optus D1,D2 and Intelsat19
My Location
Melbourne Australia

Pauliewalnuts

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Three Sats Optus D1,D2 and Intelsat19
My Location
Melbourne Australia

Pauliewalnuts

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Three Sats Optus D1,D2 and Intelsat19
My Location
Melbourne Australia
Even with a 1.2m dish some feeds the quality is poor
 

Pauliewalnuts

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Three Sats Optus D1,D2 and Intelsat19
My Location
Melbourne Australia

Pauliewalnuts

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Three Sats Optus D1,D2 and Intelsat19
My Location
Melbourne Australia
Yeah getting the ch's is no dramas but the feeds are different they come from racetracks, football grounds, motorsport tracks etc and some feeds work better than others, looks like i need a 2.4m to cover all bases. Thanks
 

astra19

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
250
Reaction score
132
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
98cm motorised technomate. 50e to 34.5w
My Location
Europe
Ah yes it's likely they're going to be a lot weaker. If you post specific frequencies people might be able to give slightly more scientific calculations.
 

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
332
Reaction score
438
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
Currently: 52E, 51.5E, 46E, 45E, 42E, 39E, 28E, 23.5E, 19.2E, 16E, 13E, 9E & 4.8E
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
As a rule, outside broadcast & network feeds usually tend to be less powerful transmissions compared to those intended for direct-to-home broadcast transmissions (like Foxtel or VAST) from the same satellite and may also use transmission parameters that require a higher signal-to-noise (SNR, sometimes carrier-to-noise or CNR) level than the same broadcast transmissions. While a different LNB may help in gaining a marginal SNR increase, as mentioned by @7mdish nothing beats a bigger dish reflector when pulling in weak signals.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,981
Reaction score
1,769
Points
113
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
How old is your dish system??

And how far from the dish's to the receiver?? Anything inline with the coax coming from the LNB's, like a switch??
 

Pauliewalnuts

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Three Sats Optus D1,D2 and Intelsat19
My Location
Melbourne Australia
Thanks for all the help much appreciated, going to get 2 x 2.4m dishes which will hopefully solve the issues, now the fun part of trying to get an installer to mount it onto my roof haha wish me luck!
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
182
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Which dishes you choose? Fixed or motorised?
 

Pauliewalnuts

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Three Sats Optus D1,D2 and Intelsat19
My Location
Melbourne Australia
Not 100% sure yet mate, prob 2 solid fixed 2.4m dishes, i need them on my roof as i have a lot of shrub and trees on the ground so need a clear line of sight and only option is there.
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
182
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Why two? Do you need only two positions? If not, just one motorised is better I believe.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,829
Reaction score
3,912
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Are the lnb's skewed correctly?, a photo of them dishes and lnbs would help considerably
 
Top