Monoblock LNBs 6° Astra/hotbird type..which is the best,most sensitive to weak signals?

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,839
Reaction score
2,376
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
And, generally, will be easier and more precise to set up (speaking from, never to be repeated, "experience"!) - although you might well need slimline (23mm neck") LNBs to allow them to be mounted a bit closer together.
Another - not yet mentioned - advantage of 2x single LNB's over a monobloc is that they can be used with a 4-way(+) DiSEqC switch and thus allowing one to add LNB's for a 3rd or 4th Sat (possibly on a separate dish??) if you want to try that, whereas a monobloc has its own internal A & B switch and thus making adding a 3rd/4th LNB somewhat more complex to set up in the receiver menus.
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
928
Reaction score
484
Points
63
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
whereas a monobloc has its own internal A & B switch and thus making adding a 3rd/4th LNB somewhat more complex to set up in the receiver menus.

Well, the menu settings would (should) follow the physical setup.

It's more the physical setup that you have to think about, I would say; e.g. as in this photo here (possible solution still under diseqc 1.0): Unifying Monoblock + Single LNB.

But of course other solutions are possible, under diseqc 1.0, or 1.1.
(Diseqc 1.0 solutions might not work flawlessly, if the diseqc command is not sent with a repeat. I believe some (older?) receivers do not support that. That makes switching to the B port a bit tedious...)

Greetz,
A33
 

rodscha

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
720
Reaction score
153
Points
43
Age
66
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
Another - not yet mentioned - advantage of 2x single LNB's over a monobloc is that they can be used with a 4-way(+) DiSEqC switch and thus allowing one to add LNB's for a 3rd or 4th Sat (possibly on a separate dish??) if you want to try that, whereas a monobloc has its own internal A & B switch and thus making adding a 3rd/4th LNB somewhat more complex to set up in the receiver menus.
I can easily move the dish myself,so,indeed,a screw adjustable monoblock LNB would be convenient for me
I ordered one...
 

rodscha

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
720
Reaction score
153
Points
43
Age
66
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
got the thing very fast from amazon... it is NOT a monoblock,it s got 2 cables out
when a monoblock has one... don t know what I ll do with it
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,619
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
got the thing very fast from amazon... it is NOT a monoblock,it s got 2 cables out
when a monoblock has one... don t know what I ll do with it


If it is the Dintel, then it actually is a Monoblock by virtue of being a homogeneous unit with two LNB heads. The difference between it and "conventional" Monoblocks is the absence of an integral DiSEqC switch - is that a problem?
 

rodscha

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
720
Reaction score
153
Points
43
Age
66
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
yes,because I usually have the astra 2 dedicated fixed dish on one entry of my twin-receiver
and the monoblock on a "mobile" dish on the other entry & it has 2 entries... so!
and a monoblock has 1 cable out!
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,619
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,839
Reaction score
2,376
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
got the thing very fast from amazon... it is NOT a monoblock,it s got 2 cables out
when a monoblock has one... don t know what I ll do with it
I didn't look at the link to the Dintel until just now - at which it became clear to me, as it should have to you, that the device has separate o/p's for each LNB :rolleyes:

As for your receiver, can you not use an external DiSEqC switch for the 2 cables to one LNB i/p and set the receiver in the menuse to use DiSEqC for that i/p?

If not, then just send it back to Amazon with the reason that it's not suitable for the purpose - that way, you might get a free return.

Still comes back to my original point that completely separate single LNB's would be a far better idea - especially as you can then set the skew individually for each LNB, whereas you can't with that monobloc!
 

rodscha

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
720
Reaction score
153
Points
43
Age
66
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
so,a pretty useless device...cost me under 10 euros so i m not too preoccupied
i still am waiting for another parcel ;if I catch the guy i 'll try to return it.
Thanks for the advice anyway!!
is it easy to install an external DiSEqC switch? and program it on the receiver?

People who use brackets with 3,4or5 lnbs on them..must use DiSEqC switches..
.how many lnbs cables can you connect to 1 DiSEqC switch?
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
233
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
If you're using a monoblock then your receiver should already be programmed to use the settings of the internal diseqc switch of a "traditional" monoblock.

All you need is an external diseqc, a 2-way or 4-way one will do fine for you.
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
928
Reaction score
484
Points
63
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
( A 4-way switch might even be cheaper than a 2-way switch! Just a hint.... )

Greetz,
A33
 

rodscha

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
720
Reaction score
153
Points
43
Age
66
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
Is that the thing?
/6333-Répartiteur-répartiteur-intérieur-connecteur/dp/B07M77WC68/ref=sr_1_14?__mk_fr_FR=ÅMÅŽÕÑ&keywords=Répartiteur+coaxial+4+"F&qid=1637252756&s=electronics&sr=1-14
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,839
Reaction score
2,376
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Basic 4-way DiSEqC switches:
- can be very cheap (but DO NOT buy anything branded "BEST" on Amazon - i had a lot of problems with those!) - although those from EMP-Centauri are probably some of the best but more expensive (and sometimes difficult to find - at least in the UK).
- are easy to install - 1 extra short length of sat cable and 2 extra F plugs for each LNB - but it's a good idea to locate the switch where there is some protection from rain etc.., and that might mean that the extra cables are quite long.
- are easy to set up in the receiver - just go into the menus and look for the DiSEqc settings and turn on DiSEqC 1.0, then select ports A-D or 1-4 for each LNB as appropriate.

You can also get 8-1 & 10-1 way switches (but I wouldn't recommend the latter) - and then there's switches like the 16-1 EMP-Centauri down at the bottom of my garden! :D

That's really all there is (or should be) to do!

As for signal loss, that's marginal at around 1-2 dB per LNB
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
3,382
Reaction score
1,284
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
I have an Inverto twin LNB, one output direct to a receiver, the other goes through a DiSEqC switch. Signal strength is lower on the output which goes through switch but more importantly signal quality/dB readings are identical.
 

rodscha

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
720
Reaction score
153
Points
43
Age
66
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
or i may get a not too expensive additional receiver to connect an additional "dx" dish... with separate lnbs
 

rodscha

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
720
Reaction score
153
Points
43
Age
66
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
Another question Re Albania:I get 90% power(strenth) and 10-15% quality... and a decent pictiure although it varies with clouds
What s wrong when I get 10% quality & 90% strenth?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,682
Reaction score
7,415
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I see ... thank you for the sound advice!
since I manually point my dish,I appreciate having 2 sats in one go,like 13 and 19/ 16 and 9/1w and 4.8 east...
but I get your point, a single LNB means more precision

also,I notice different "pointings"/elevations/ on 16 East between Romania/croats and slovenes/ and the Kosovo-Albania group...
they seem to be on slighly different points of the Clarke Belt,thereby needing some precision fiddling.
Albania needs more elevation than Slovenia for example
Not true, (unless you are using a dish greater than say 3m) all transponders will be received from the same position in space, unless there are two satellites in the same orbital slot and one is in inclined orbit. In that case the shifting transponders will appear both below and above the stationary arc position depending on the time of day viewed.
 
Top