Multi LNB Set up on a Sky Dish

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,839
Reaction score
2,376
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Any ideas if this dish would be easier to set up than the triax (the one I have) if I went bigger than the zone 1.

Should be OK, but, personally, I prefer something like this Satellite Antenna Dish 80cm 800mm White Galvanized steel Aluminum Astra Hotbird | eBay - it's very similar to the fixed one that I have for 42E/46E/52E.

The elevation is easier to set because you only have to loosen the top elevation bolt very slightly, and then the lower one a little more to be able adjust the elevation - then simply tighten the bottom bolt and finally the top one. OTOH, the feedarm is not as well supported and so likely to "move around a bit", especially with multiple LNBs mounted, but that's easily fixed with braces from the edge of the dish to the outer end of the feedarm (like most of mine are).
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
233
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
Thanks, so when I'm attaching a pole to a fence post. Am I right in thinking that I would better off by using aluminium than steel as it will add less weight to the post, or is the difference rather negligible?
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
3,382
Reaction score
1,284
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Wouldn't worry about the weight difference.
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
233
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
I think I've managed to find a supplier for my scaffold pole finally.

I will ask him to get me another one if he can, for this fence post dish.

Should I get a pole as long as the fence post?

The dish will probably have to be about 6 to 7 feet above ground level.
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
3,382
Reaction score
1,284
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
The key thing is to have the dish as close to the top bracket as possible, or even below it. A long pole with a bracket at the top & bottom of the post will add stability to the post, but I don't think it's vital for it to be the full length of the it.

An 80cm fixed dish should be fine if mounted in the middle of one of those brackets I linked to, would then only need a very short pole.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,839
Reaction score
2,376
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
I think I've managed to find a supplier for my scaffold pole finally.

I will ask him to get me another one if he can, for this fence post dish.

Should I get a pole as long as the fence post?

The dish will probably have to be about 6 to 7 feet above ground level.
Depends how you decide to secure the pole because scaffolding poles are heavy!:
- if the bottom is in the ground (which is probably the best option due to the combined weight of the pole, and dish - and motor if you should fit one later) then do what you planned to do earlier by digging a hole and concreting it in.
- if you don't do that, you would have to secure the pole to the fence post - but I am not aware of any suitable fixing methods apart from T&K brackets as mentioned earlier.

Personally, I'd stay with a short length (2-3ft) of aluminium tube stood off from the pole on a couple of T&K brackets, and with the dish mount on the tube between the brackets - especially if you have no immediate plans to use a motor.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,839
Reaction score
2,376
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,839
Reaction score
2,376
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
The key thing is to have the dish as close to the top bracket as possible, or even below it. A long pole with a bracket at the top & bottom of the post will add stability to the post, but I don't think it's vital for it to be the full length of the it.

An 80cm fixed dish should be fine if mounted in the middle of one of those brackets I linked to, would then only need a very short pole.
:Y
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
233
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
The key thing is to have the dish as close to the top bracket as possible, or even below it. A long pole with a bracket at the top & bottom of the post will add stability to the post, but I don't think it's vital for it to be the full length of the it.

An 80cm fixed dish should be fine if mounted in the middle of one of those brackets I linked to, would then only need a very short pole.
Cool, I would need it about 6 feet above ground level.

So in this case, I guess I'd need a 3m fence post with 2m above ground.

And then grab a 2 or 3 ft pole?

Edit: corrected silly mistake
 
Last edited:

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
233
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
Depends how you decide to secure the pole because scaffolding poles are heavy!:
- if the bottom is in the ground (which is probably the best option due to the combined weight of the pole, and dish - and motor if you should fit one later) then do what you planned to do earlier by digging a hole and concreting it in.
- if you don't do that, you would have to secure the pole to the fence post - but I am not aware of any suitable fixing methods apart from T&K brackets as mentioned earlier.

Personally, I'd stay with a short length (2-3ft) of aluminium tube stood off from the pole on a couple of T&K brackets, and with the dish mount on the tube between the brackets - especially if you have no immediate plans to use a motor.
Do you mean to not bother with putting in a wooden fence post and just mount the scaffold pole in a concrete base instead?
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
3,382
Reaction score
1,284
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Cool, I would need it about 6 feet above ground level.

So in this case, I guess I'd need a 3m fence post with 2m below ground.

And then grab a 2 or 3 ft pole?
Two metres above ground, maybe even more, you can always saw the top off if required.
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
233
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
Two metres above ground, maybe even more, you can always saw the top off if required.

I haven't had my daily coffee, I meant to say 2m above ground and 1m below to get 2:1 ratio
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,839
Reaction score
2,376
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Do you mean to not bother with putting in a wooden fence post and just mount the scaffold pole in a concrete base instead?
In order of increasing time, effort & cost required:
a) 80cm fixed dish on short pole on the "E-shaped" brackets shown earlier
b) new fence post with a) as above, but buried in the ground and "bracketed" to existing fence post with wooden battens or metal bars - won't require much in the way of "foundations" if you sit the post on a largish concrete slab on the ground
c) full height scaffolding pole with dish mounted directly on it, and maybe braced to the fence post with "E" brackets (which is basically how one of my steerable dishes is mounted) - needs "full" foundations
d) as c) but with dish on motor on the scaffolding pole

Personally, as I said earlier, a) would my choice for a quick, easy and cheap "starter for 10" - but it's your choice, so it's up to you!
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
233
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
For (b), by concrete slab do you main to get a couple of bags of concrete from wickes and use that, or just grab a patio slab?

If it is the latter, could I get away with using some breeze blocks instead?
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,839
Reaction score
2,376
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
For (b), by concrete slab do you main to get a couple of bags of concrete from wickes and use that, or just grab a patio slab?

If it is the latter, could I get away with using some breeze blocks instead?
A largish patio slab, but make sure it's "level" before you put the post on top of it - wouldn't use breeze blocks as they will be smaller and might move "differentially".
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
233
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
Does anyone have any experience with Dur-Line dishes? I've seen two variants on amazon

A cheaper MDA

And a pricier Select
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,753
Reaction score
3,369
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Does anyone have any experience with Dur-Line dishes

Never heard of them, but personally I'd stick to known manufacturers E.G. Gibertini, Fracarro. (Avoid Triax, good dishes but difficult to set up)
 

Offtensive

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2021
Messages
233
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Sky q
My Location
Midlands
Never heard of them, but personally I'd stick to known manufacturers E.G. Gibertini, Fracarro. (Avoid Triax, good dishes but difficult to set up)

Thanks, are the Fracarro as good as a Gibertini?
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
928
Reaction score
484
Points
63
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
Avoid Triax, good dishes but difficult to set up

I believe with the new versions of the Triax dishes, the mount doesn't have that difficult 'slide' anymore.
And the LNB arm doesn't have a bend anymore; which is also better I think.

That doesn't mean I am changed to an advocate for Triax, though. I'm no advocate to any dish. Just thought I'd supply the extra info. :)

Greetz,
A33
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,753
Reaction score
3,369
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Thanks, are the Fracarro as good as a Gibertini?

I've had good results in a multi sat set up from both a Gibertini 1M and a Fracarro Penta 85.
 
Top