My Dish

Sebastianbird

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Ku
My Location
Rincón, Puerto Rico
Here are photos of my dish installation, cable connection, grounding and pointing. Currently, I am honing the Eutelsat 10E satellite.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1367_(1).jpg
    IMG_1367_(1).jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 49
  • IMG_1368_(1).jpg
    IMG_1368_(1).jpg
    808.6 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG_1369_(1).jpg
    IMG_1369_(1).jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 47
  • IMG_1370_(1).jpg
    IMG_1370_(1).jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 50
  • IMG_1371_(1).jpg
    IMG_1371_(1).jpg
    2 MB · Views: 51
  • IMG_1372_(1).jpg
    IMG_1372_(1).jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 47
  • IMG_1373_(1).jpg
    IMG_1373_(1).jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 49

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,709
Reaction score
3,334
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Without wishing to curb your enthusiasm, the KU band footprint for 10E is well out of your reach in Puerto Rico. You'd need a massive dish which would then need to point almost to the horizon. Judging by the photos, achieving a clear line of site to do this would quite a task. What in particular interests you that's broadcast on 10E?
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
676
Reaction score
197
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
that splitter is going to cause you issues straight away!
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,632
Reaction score
3,839
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
676
Reaction score
197
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
Lol. True that
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,139
Reaction score
7,297
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
The C band beam(s) of 10A are received in the Americas on a reasonable sized quality reflector of 1.8m.

 

Sebastianbird

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Ku
My Location
Rincón, Puerto Rico
Without wishing to curb your enthusiasm, the KU band footprint for 10E is well out of your reach in Puerto Rico. You'd need a massive dish which would then need to point almost to the horizon. Judging by the photos, achieving a clear line of site to do this would quite a task. What in particular interests you that's broadcast on 10E?
I understand the East Coast to the USA is where closer satellites are found. 10E is just in front of my dish.
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,709
Reaction score
3,334
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
10E is just in front of my dish.

If you are in Puerto Rico, your due South satellite would be at 70 degrees west. 10E can't be just in front, it's 80 degrees to the east.
 

Sebastianbird

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Ku
My Location
Rincón, Puerto Rico
If you are in Puerto Rico, your due South satellite would be at 70 degrees west. 10E can't be just in front, it's 80 degrees to the east.
According to my satellite finder meter I am facing 97 West to the Caribbean Ocean side and directly opposite is East. Where I placed the dish is pointing to the 10E satellite- Eutelsat 10A side not exactly in front of the dish but to the right. I am re-positioning to point to Eutelsat 117 West. Which Satellites are East Coast or West Coast? Is the regional location not the guide?
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,719
Reaction score
923
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
How do you know you are pointing at a satellite when you don't appear to have ever locked a signal or received a television channel?
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
676
Reaction score
197
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
get a sat bleeper
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,632
Reaction score
3,839
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,852
Reaction score
1,692
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
10 East is not viewable on the US Eat coast, if you are in Jamaica you would need at least a 10 foot dish for the "C" band beam.

10 E.jpg
 

Lexzie

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
205
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
50
My Satellite Setup
Xtrend ET10000 DVB-C, S2, T and IPTV
Dreambox DM920 DVB-C/DVB-S2X/DVB-T2
TBS 5925 USB-tuner
80 cm fixed dish (28.2E/23.5E/19.2E/13E)
120cm Channel Master offset dish with polarmount (42E-34.5W, Ku-band)
90 cm dish with DiSEqC-motor (46E-60E, Ku-band)
My Location
The Netherlands
get a sat bleeper
A sat bleeper bleeps at every signal it gets. It can't detect to which satellite your dish is pointed at.
Maybe an augment reality app like Satellite Pointer might help you.
Our checkout dishpointer.com and satbeams.com.
 

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
526
Reaction score
113
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
looks like dish is pointed towards mars
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,709
Reaction score
3,334
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
looks like dish is pointed towards mars

As Sebastianbird is located only 18 degrees above the equator his dish will have to point almost vertically to track the Clarke Belt.

However, I would suggest to Sebastianbird that more basic research about geo stationary satellites, their positions and footprints would be beneficial to him and save members time in trying to answer disparate questions.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
676
Reaction score
197
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
i think this is a windup thread and should be closed along with the other one
 

Sebastianbird

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Ku
My Location
Rincón, Puerto Rico
Now I am pointing to Galaxy 19 and with the same elevation. A question about Satellite location. On my post of maps I am using one map shows the satellite location from North to South decreasing in degrees the other increasing in longitude degrees from lattitide South to North. Why the descrepancy?
Not as many problems as pointing the dish North rather than South
 
Top