neumoDVB

helmet

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
30
My Satellite Setup
TBS 6903x - Inver.to Quad LNB
My Location
Belgium
A quick and positive update:

I managed to install the blindscan_kernel drivers and seem to have blindscan activated for my DVB-S card.

My solution was to downgrade the linux kernel on Fedora 34 from 5.15 to 5.11 with the command

Code:
sudo dnf downgrade kernel-headers kernel-devel

I then rebuilt everything and rebooted and it worked. Will now dig in to the settings and do some scanning.

Best regards,
Helmet
 

deeptho

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
152
Reaction score
114
Points
43
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
Yes, for the kernel you really must follow the instructions exactly because of media_build related issues.
Hopefully later some solution can be found to make this simpler. For now it means that either you stick
with the exact kernel version described in the README, and/or you experiment with multiple versions of
media_build until you find one that works.

What can also help is to disable the devices that give compilation errors, as they are almost never related to the dvb drivers.
 

vasi54

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
SKYSTAR HD & PC QUAD CORE 2,66 GHZ
My Location
ROMANIA
I have installed driver for TBS6903x.
I try to install neumodvb but I have errors after cmake.
[root@fedora build]# cmake ..
-- The C compiler identification is GNU 11.2.1
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU 11.2.1
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/lib64/ccache/cc - skipped
-- Detecting C compile features
-- Detecting C compile features - done
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/lib64/ccache/c++ - skipped
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:218 (message):
Could NOT find Boost (missing: Boost_INCLUDE_DIR regex context
program_options) (Required is at least version "1.69")
Call Stack (most recent call first):
/usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:582 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
/usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindBoost.cmake:2208 (find_package_handle_standard_args)
CMakeLists.txt:29 (find_package)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/root/neumodvb/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".

I use Fedora34 and cmake version 3.19.7
kernel-5.11.12-300.fc34.x86_64
kernel-5.15.11-100.fc34.x86_64
kernel-5.15.12-100.fc34.x86_64

kernel-devel-5.15.11-100.fc34.x86_64
kernel-devel-5.15.12-100.fc34.x86_64
 

deeptho

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
152
Reaction score
114
Points
43
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
Please read the install section of the documentation and install what is missing...
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,690
Reaction score
3,841
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
I have installed driver for TBS6903x.
I try to install neumodvb but I have errors after cmake.
[root@fedora build]# cmake ..
-- The C compiler identification is GNU 11.2.1
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU 11.2.1
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/lib64/ccache/cc - skipped
-- Detecting C compile features
-- Detecting C compile features - done
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/lib64/ccache/c++ - skipped
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:218 (message):
Could NOT find Boost (missing: Boost_INCLUDE_DIR regex context
program_options) (Required is at least version "1.69")
Call Stack (most recent call first):
/usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:582 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
/usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindBoost.cmake:2208 (find_package_handle_standard_args)
CMakeLists.txt:29 (find_package)

and eventually install it:
-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/root/neumodvb/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".

I use Fedora34 and cmake version 3.19.7
kernel-5.11.12-300.fc34.x86_64
kernel-5.15.11-100.fc34.x86_64
kernel-5.15.12-100.fc34.x86_64

kernel-devel-5.15.11-100.fc34.x86_64
kernel-devel-5.15.12-100.fc34.x86
Obtain BOOST: sudo dnf install boost-devel

go to the bootstrap file after you've downloaded:

./bootstrap.sh --prefix=/usr/

Build with b2:

./b2

Then install it:

sudo ./b2 install
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,690
Reaction score
3,841
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Just thinking - you're not building from source with boost-devel, as with that the libraries will be placed in their respective folders

If instead you wish to build boost from source, choose a library from Boost C++ Libraries - Browse /boost at SourceForge.net ( I used 1.77.0)

then build from bootstrap as I described.
 

vasi54

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
SKYSTAR HD & PC QUAD CORE 2,66 GHZ
My Location
ROMANIA
Many thanks for help.
I maked what you said and I obtained the graphic from neumodvb.
The blind scan is not tick yet in frontend options.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,690
Reaction score
3,841
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Test of neumoDVB on Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon Desktop

kernel 5.9.0-rc7-tbs+

TBS6903X using Inverto KaKu LNB

16E Ka 21612H

Spectrum scan of Band D TPs. Ignore shown frequencies - no Ka , only Ku and C. at present in neumoDVB. 21612H shown as 11114H.

@deeptho - will there be a possibility later of a LO fix for Ka bands, similar to that in e.g updateDVB's Custom LOF's?



16E Ka 21612H.png

16E Ka.png
 

vasi54

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
SKYSTAR HD & PC QUAD CORE 2,66 GHZ
My Location
ROMANIA
Hi,
1. I installed the driver for TBS6903x
[nicu@fedora ~]$ dmesg| grep frontend
5546b9ecae90c1b663f6694a83dd384904a425da media: dvb-frontends/stid135: option ts_nosync - TS FIFO Minimum latence mode.
5546b9ecae90c1b663f6694a83dd384904a425da media: dvb-frontends/stid135: option ts_nosync - TS FIFO Minimum latence mode.
[ 4.803545] TBSECP3 driver 0000:0a:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (TurboSight TBS 6903x (Dual DVB-S/S2/S2X))...
[ 4.925409] TBSECP3 driver 0000:0a:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 1 frontend 0 (TurboSight TBS 6903x (Dual DVB-S/S2/S2X))...
2. Then I installed blindscan drivers without errors.
3. I Downloaded and compiled neumodvb without errors.
What is wrong because when I run neumodvb , in Lists -> Frontends the option blindscan is non selected?

Thanks.
Best regards
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,690
Reaction score
3,841
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
The way I do a blindscan in neumoDVB :-

Go to Lists ->LNB, choose your LNB, then Control-N to show the Spectrum screen.

Choose the polarisation and frequency range you require, then press Get Spectrum.

After the spectrum graph populates, you can then click on the Blindscan All button. After it scans the graph results, you then get a pop-up list of found frequencies.

Not certain where the list is stored, I didn't check (maybe later when I do another scan)
 

deeptho

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
152
Reaction score
114
Points
43
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
Hi,
1. I installed the driver for TBS6903x
[nicu@fedora ~]$ dmesg| grep frontend
5546b9ecae90c1b663f6694a83dd384904a425da media: dvb-frontends/stid135: option ts_nosync - TS FIFO Minimum latence mode.
5546b9ecae90c1b663f6694a83dd384904a425da media: dvb-frontends/stid135: option ts_nosync - TS FIFO Minimum latence mode.
[ 4.803545] TBSECP3 driver 0000:0a:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (TurboSight TBS 6903x (Dual DVB-S/S2/S2X))...
[ 4.925409] TBSECP3 driver 0000:0a:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 1 frontend 0 (TurboSight TBS 6903x (Dual DVB-S/S2/S2X))...
2. Then I installed blindscan drivers without errors.
3. I Downloaded and compiled neumodvb without errors.
What is wrong because when I run neumodvb , in Lists -> Frontends the option blindscan is non selected?

Thanks.
Best regards
Well, vasi54,

you have to install the correct driver. It is all explained in the documentatun
 

deeptho

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
152
Reaction score
114
Points
43
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
Test of neumoDVB on Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon Desktop

kernel 5.9.0-rc7-tbs+

TBS6903X using Inverto KaKu LNB

16E Ka 21612H

Spectrum scan of Band D TPs. Ignore shown frequencies - no Ka , only Ku and C. at present in neumoDVB. 21612H shown as 11114H.

@deeptho - will there be a possibility later of a LO fix for Ka bands, similar to that in e.g updateDVB's Custom LOF's?



View attachment 140176

View attachment 140177
Llew, it is possible to add more lnb types and/or a custom lnb local oscillator frequency but it requires some programming.

I have been looking for a Ka-band lnb myself. Apart from the saorsat, there does not seem much for sale at a reasonable price. Tips on what/where to buy something for testing are welcome.
 

vasi54

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
SKYSTAR HD & PC QUAD CORE 2,66 GHZ
My Location
ROMANIA

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,690
Reaction score
3,841
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
I have been looking for a Ka-band lnb myself. Apart from the saorsat, there does not seem much for sale at a reasonable price. Tips on what/where to buy something for testing are welcome.
If you have deep pockets, the way into KA band reception is to splash out on one of the Norsat or SMW LNBs; then you need to source a feedhorn for your particular choice.
A few years ago some members here were able to obtain an Inverto combined KA/KU LNBF for a decent price through a quantity purchase. The KA band covers Band D, where several Sub-Saharan African channels are available on 16E and 7E (occasionally 4E, but not recently), probably feeds to the African diaspora in Europe.
Unfortunately Inverto don't seem to be interested any more in supplying the unit to anyone other than large companies (satellite internet providers probably).
Other than those expensive LNBs, sometimes the occasional cheaper (sub £50) KA LNB can be found on fleabay, in particular those used by the North American HughesNet broadcaster. These are usually for Band B, but one or two of us have been fortunate to get Band A and Band D versions.
Bear in mind though that some of these have large heavy transmitter units fixed to them, and sometimes the seller is reluctant to send the LNB separately (the cost of sending to Europe can be more than the LNB's price).

KA Band A LNBs will allow you to access the ITN NewsNet feed on Astra 1L 19E and its occasional OB feeds there, and the Italian Teleippica horseracing feed.
 

deeptho

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
152
Reaction score
114
Points
43
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe

deeptho

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
152
Reaction score
114
Points
43
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
If you have deep pockets, the way into KA band reception is to splash out on one of the Norsat or SMW LNBs; then you need to source a feedhorn for your particular choice.
A few years ago some members here were able to obtain an Inverto combined KA/KU LNBF for a decent price through a quantity purchase. The KA band covers Band D, where several Sub-Saharan African channels are available on 16E and 9E, probably feeds to the African diaspora in Europe.
Unfortunately Inverto don't seem to be interested any more in supplying the unit to anyone other than large companies (satellite internet providers probably).
Other than those expensive LNBs, sometimes the occasional cheaper (sub £50) KA LNB can be found on fleabay, in particular those used by the North American HughesNet broadcaster. These are usually for Band B, but one or two of us have been fortunate to get Band A and Band D versions.
Bear in mind though that some of these have large heavy transmitter units fixed to them, and sometimes the seller is reluctant to send the LNB separately (the cost of sending to Europe can be more than the LNB's price).

KA Band A LNBs will allow you to access the ITN NewsNet feed on Astra 1L 19E and its occasional OB feeds there, and the Italian Teleippica horseracing feed.
The D band seems most interesting and perhaps the Hughesnet (but without a transmitter - I do not want to much weight on the dish).
I have een checking feabay, without success. I guess the timing must e right. Anyway. it is not urgent.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,690
Reaction score
3,841
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
@deeptho, is there any possibility in the future of adding a DVB-T/T2 facility to neumoDVB?
 

deeptho

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
152
Reaction score
114
Points
43
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
@deeptho, is there any possibility in the future of adding a DVB-T/T2 facility to neumoDVB?
DVBT is alrady inlcluded but probably not working due to lack of testing. There is nothing I can receive here at the moment.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,690
Reaction score
3,841
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
A check of a multi-stream 5W.

5.0W 11012V multi.png

5W 11012V.png

@deeptho
I have an issue with DiSEqC porting with this program. I use a 4-port switch, with the 5W LNB on port 4 (3 using DiSEqC 1.0)

It always goes to port 1, so I think DiSEqC switching is not functioning. It's fine with updateDVB and Crazyscan on the same setup ( same PC, cable, switch).
 

deeptho

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
152
Reaction score
114
Points
43
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
LLew,

I use diseqc here without any problem. Even the combination of diseqc1.0 and diseqc1.1 works.
So you may have misconfigured sometihng. Check your lnb configuration.

Ports are numbered starting from 0. So port 4 is diseqc1.0 value 0. Make sure that diseqc1.1 is turned off by setting it to -1
and that tune string has "C" in it.

Also make sure that you do not have more than 1 lnb cnfigured for 5.0W. It is fine to do that but then both configurations
must be correct.

The log files also contain the actual data sent to the swicth, so it is easy to verify.

Unrelated: Recently I also found an old bug in the drivers, which can cause problems on streams which use physical layer scrambling.
The symptom is that tuning may be slow or even fail in neumodvb. It is fixed in the latest drivers.
 
Top