Newbie Here New member from s.africa

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
I have been told I need at 1.5 metre ku motorised dish and a 2.3 metre c band motorised dish to pick up FTA signals in S.Africa. It will be an adventure.
My Location
South Africa, Eastern cape
Rotated the LNB.

Managed to get into the SRT settings, and am adding 68.5E.

Which frequency should I allocate to it, from this menu ?

I tested a couple, and nothing from the blind scan.

Attachments

• srt 1.jpg
    srt 1.jpg
    207.3 KB · Views: 27
  • srt 3 lnb flat.jpg
    srt 3 lnb flat.jpg
    454 KB · Views: 26
  • srt 4.jpg
    srt 4.jpg
    233.2 KB · Views: 17
  • srt2.jpg
    srt2.jpg
    382.5 KB · Views: 21

moonbase

Small Dish Man
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
UK
Rotated the LNB.

Managed to get into the SRT settings, and am adding 68.5E.

Which frequency should I allocate to it, from this menu ?

I tested a couple, and nothing from the blind scan.

Check the label on the LNBF or the box it came in for the L.O. value, it will probably be 5150 or 5.150 depending if it is in MHz or GHz. Use that to select the option in the LNB Frequency for the Strong receiver.

If there is no L.O. value available from the LNBF label or box use a value of 5150 for the receiver. It is not a critical setting, all that will happen if you use an incorrect C-Band L.O. value will be that any frequencies scanned in will not be reported correctly, they will have incorrect frequency values but they will still give pictures.

The LNBF looks to be correctly orientatied for polarity skew. If a blind scan of the full C-Band frequency range does not lock any frequencies you may need to marginally rotate the entire mount/dish assembly on top of the pole by a small amount and repeat the blind scan. You might need to do this a few times to locate the satellite.