Advice Needed New recordable Freesat recommendation?

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,515
Reaction score
814
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Mum's Humax HDR1100 has started to intermittently pixelate, I've checked the signal and compared results to an older model in the bedroom and it points to a faulty box.

I hadn't realised that Humax no longer produce Freesat STBs so that's annoying. Then I find the replacement Freesat branded boxes have hundreds of really poor reviews.

She's recently switched telco provider so can't take advantage of Sky Essentials so I'm looking for any recommendations for a suitable replacement that's easy to use and reliable.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
30,813
Reaction score
6,964
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,515
Reaction score
814
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Given the cost of a replacement 1100 or an equivalent (of which none have great reviews) I think I'll reinstate her old Foxsat-HDR which is still going strong and being used in the bedroom then replace that with a Freeview recorder. Her FV signal is OK for most of the time but it's a 100KM sea path so can get affected by tropo. That was only relegated to the boudoir because the iPlayer stuff stopped working but a new TV in the front room takes care of that.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,095
Reaction score
7,393
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I'd replace the caps in the PSU. They are notorious for failing and will likely fix the issue.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,515
Reaction score
814
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Thanks for the tip CJ, I'll retrieve it from garage and take the lid off to see what's required.
 

dmaavrigdo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
223
Reaction score
231
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
1.2m Laminas OFC1200 dish
Inverto black ultra
Zgemma H9S
Technomate Nano M3
Technomate F3/5
Yamaha HTR-2067
My Location
Vansbro Sweden
Top