Newbie looking for DM-600s guidence

phoenix101

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Computer - Windows 7, CuteFTP, FlashWizard
My Location
Bromley, London
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Dreambox world, but I am very interested. I am looking to purchase a DM-600s-PVR but I would just like to ask a few questions before I do so. Forgive my ignorence, but what does PVR stand for?? I know that it is something to do with having external memory connected to the receiver, but just dont know what it stands for.

Also, once I have my box, i need to flash an image on to it. What is the purpose of this?? I will use Dreamup to do the flashing, is this ok??. I would like to use the DM as a full entertainment system, as well as watch channels which are locked. How would I go about receiving some of these locked channels??

thank you

phoenix

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
PVR = personal video recorder.

If you want to receive pay channels the best way is to buy a subscription to the channels you are interested in :-rofl2

Very little is open on keys patches codes or flashes these days, and any other method is fraught with difficulty and danger.

phoenix101

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
Bromley, London
lol, thank you the making me feel like an idiot, lol.:-ohcrap:-bash

So what is the purpose of the images?? and is dreamup ok to flash them. Am I right to assume that the images are some kind of operating systems for the dreamboxes, telling them now to run. where do I get the from and what found be a good image for the DM-600s pvr

thank you

phoenix

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The images are the software that run the box - different images have different features - its really down to personal choice which one you like the look of and what features you want.