Help Required Octagon fs8008 What firmware

gs887

Member
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
tm-5402
My Location
Warwick
I’m looking at buying an Octagon fs8008 but am confused at what firmware I should specify.

Have been recommended to go for the Open ATV (nightly) does this make sense? not sure what is best.

thanks
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,720
Reaction score
923
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
The 'nightly' version of any software is always risky. A 'stable' version of OpenATV in slot one and Define in slot two would be my preference.
 

gs887

Member
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
tm-5402
My Location
Warwick
Sorry, what is slot 1 and 2. . Looks like I may have to wait until World of Sat have a newer version.
Thanks for your help.
 

gs887

Member
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
tm-5402
My Location
Warwick
Where do I find the define OS software.
thanks
 

danny10

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2015
Messages
70
Reaction score
40
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Amiko Alien 2,E - 85,Famaval 110 ,IBU twin
My Location
Czech republik

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,720
Reaction score
923
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Sorry, what is slot 1 and 2. . Looks like I may have to wait until World of Sat have a newer version.
Thanks for your help.
Multiple operating system 'images' can be installed at the same time on an SF8008. Each one is installed in a theoretical 'slot' and can be switched between. So you could have OpenATV in slot one and Define in slot two. Define is the much more user friendly operating system that is almost identical to Octagons more consumer orientated receivers.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
676
Reaction score
197
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
there are 4 slots on an octagone sf8008 - this mean you can install 4 different OS's - usually E2 images. VIX, OPENATV, etc. The recovery menu offers lots of images to choose from.

there is also something called DEFINE - which is the OS (NON E2) which is based on, or the same as the OS on an Octagon SX88.

theres a link to a vid in here showing how to do it
 

gs887

Member
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
tm-5402
My Location
Warwick
Looks like the sr8008 may not be the answer.
The only large UK dealer does not include the openATV OS apart from a nightly edition which I’ve been advised to avoid. Cannot find any dealer who includes the DEFINE OS. Is there not a ready-to-go receiver that includes S2x and Multistream?
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,649
Reaction score
674
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
You can load OpenVix, or other images, on these receivers, as they are listed as Enigma 2 receivers, and images are available. Loading an image is very easy, just setting your preferences takes time.
There are guides, and even videos, showing you how to set up Octagon receivers:
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,720
Reaction score
923
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
When I had an SF8008 for a short period it came with OpenATV and Define, I assumed that was how it came from Octagon. There is one S2X transponder with television on 33E and that's it, you wouldn't be missing much without it.
 

gs887

Member
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
tm-5402
My Location
Warwick
Thanks ozumo. That would be ideal. Will check with worldofsatellites but not sure if that’s how they supply them in the UK.
I don’t want to buy a receiver, then spend ages trying to get it working with an OS I have not used.

thanks everyone for your help.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,141
Reaction score
7,297
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
The reason some receivers are normally not supplied with an operating system is down to the additional 'enhancements' that sometimes come with them.
 

gs887

Member
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
tm-5402
My Location
Warwick
problem is worldofsatellites do not show the OS I’ve been advised to use. Amazon are out of stock and ebay I don’t think I would take the chance.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,141
Reaction score
7,297
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
The sf8008 will come out of the box with the Octagon basic software installed so you can use it until you've got confidence to trysomething else.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
676
Reaction score
197
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
the octagon will most likely come with OpenATV image without DEFINE, both mine did. I soon put OpenVIX on (my image of choice) - but lets not forget E2 images are all VERY MUCH the same - just different skins

lets also not forget the DEFINE image is an option on the 8008 and its NON E2 - so perfect for the E2 haters
 

gs887

Member
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
tm-5402
My Location
Warwick
Thanks for that. If I can operate it hopefully in multistream and can operate on sats I can see, that will be fine fo now.
cheers
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,720
Reaction score
923
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
"No thanks, factory default" option should come with OpenATV in slot 1, and very likely to have Define in slot 2.
 

Dave5118

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
274
Reaction score
171
Points
43
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
1.5m Gibertini with Inverto 5434 Unicable Hybrid LNB.
TBS 6903 with EBSPro
Vu+ Uno 4K SE
Edision OS Nino Pro
Starsat 2000HD Hyper
Sky Q Silver
Sky minidish with Sky Q Hybrid LNB
My Location
Nr Manchester UK
FWIW, I bought a VU+ from WoS recently, and they installed the latest stable OpenATV image, not the 'nightly build'.
 

gs887

Member
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
tm-5402
My Location
Warwick
Interesting, did you speak to them before and request them?
 
Top