Old timer needs system help please.

Tony Daly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
177
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2mt motorised dish
My Location
South West Ireland
Hi Everyone.

I have a motorised system which I haven't used for some time.
1.2Mt Echostar off set dish with 18" actuator.
Technomate 7102HD-T2 main receiver + a Technomate F3/5 which I used for feed hunting.
I also have an Alsat GBOX attached to the Technomate 7102 for moving the dish.
The dish is fitted with an INVERTO Ultra Twin Dual Output Satellite LNB.
I can get satellites from 45' West to 45' East easily.

All this was purchased around 2014.

The dish is probably about 30 years old but is still perfect. I cleaned up all the fitting when I set up the system again in 2014 after a house move.

I did buy a Gigablue receiver a couple of years ago but sold it again after a short time because my interest in the hobby wained.

I booted up the system yesterday & it does work although some of the Satellites & Transponders are well out of date.
My problem is I find the Technomate 7102HD hard to work with as its old tech now & even entering a new satellite or changing an old one is very convoluted.
I downloaded William-1's Transponder list & I updated the Satellites, Transponders & Channels from 1' West to 45 West (Slowly) . I then made a mistake trying to enter a new satellite which undone all my good work over many hours & put me back to the start :(
Now I have to put them all in again :rolleyes:

After all that my question is, Can I swap out the Technomate 7102HD for something more modern & keep the Alsat GBOX & the other gear without much expense ?
The 7102 was pricey in its day. I don't want to spend a fortune as I know there's not an awful lot left unencrypted out there but I would like to keep the system going if only to use it once in a while.

I'm in my late sixties now but I can muddle my way round most tech things even if its slowly one step at a time.

Any advice will be gratefully received but please explain it fully as it may take time for me to get my head around the information.
Apologies for the very long post but I tried to provide as much information as possible.

Regards.
Tony.
SW Ireland.

EDIT: I've edited the post because originally I made a mistake in the receiver information I provided.
 
Last edited:

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
972
Reaction score
358
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
4x zone 2, 3x channel master 90cm, 1x channel master 1.2m
My Location
South Durham
Octagon sx88+ (not the sx88) is the default recomendation these days and can be found for under £50. It will work with your GBOX the same way it did with your Echostar :)
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,254
Reaction score
2,080
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
SX88+ on the (UK) World of Satellite website.
 

Tony Daly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
177
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2mt motorised dish
My Location
South West Ireland
Thanks for the quick replies guys.
Isn't the Octagon sx88+ a LINUX receiver ?
Would it be difficult to get the hang of it & would it be easy to connect the GBOX to it as I can't remember how it was done on the 7102HD?
Are there any reviews or installation guides on the Octagon sx88+ available as I'll need all the help I can get.
 

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
10,260
Reaction score
10,743
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra 0.2
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 34.5 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Octagon SX88+Optima

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + TM-1 0.1
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ (A/B switch) Edision S2

45cm dish V8 Golden 28E FreeSat Quad Lnb
Virgin Media FreeSat
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
No, the SX88+ is dead simple that is why I use it :)
 

Tony Daly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
177
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2mt motorised dish
My Location
South West Ireland

Tony Daly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
177
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2mt motorised dish
My Location
South West Ireland
These two receivers look the same but a different price ?
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,254
Reaction score
2,080
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
...
Are there any reviews or installation guides on the Octagon sx88+ available as I'll need all the help I can get.
See this thread on the SX88+ (Warning - it's a very long one :D)
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,254
Reaction score
2,080
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
The "WL" version has built-in WiFi, the one without "WL" does not.

Both versions have a conventional 10/100Mb Ethernet RJ45 connector.
 
Last edited:

Tony Daly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
177
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2mt motorised dish
My Location
South West Ireland
See this thread on the SX88+ (Warning - it's a very long one :D)

22 pages later & more confused than wise o_O
It would be great if there were photos somewhere of how a GBOX is connected to the SX88+ or some installation guides showing the setup menus.
Its all part of learning I suppose ?
Does the SX88+ come with some sort of user manual or is it really as easy as William-1 says it is ?
 

dreambox1959

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
80
Reaction score
52
Points
18
Age
61
Location
FRANCE
My Satellite Setup
humax2000 / technomate 7100
My Location
france
i had some tm7100 and 6900 in the past ! great receiver at old times !
now i have octagon sf8008 , a great and simple E2 receiver and fully compatible with diseqc positionner !!!
my friend CARDIFF has same set of devices .
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,569
Reaction score
649
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Does your GBox look like this, at the rear?
GBox-V3000-Back.JPG

As you can see the 4 wires connect to your motor, your LNB, from your dish, goes into the LNB connector and a new, short, cable goes from the receiver connection, to your satellite receiver.
You then go into your receivers menu, tuner settings, and set up Diseqc 1.2, to match your GBox.
Hence if you have Astra 1, 19.2E, set as position 1, on your GBox, you set Astra 1, 19.2E, to position 1, on your receiver.
Although it might seem complex, it isn't, just repetitive, and once set up, that's it, you select a channel, on your receiver, and the dish will move to the correct satellite.
There are plenty of members, on the forum, to help you out, and possibly even video tutorials, available on the internet, that will help.

Have you got your dish set up yet? Have you checked that it's still locking on to the satellites?
 

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
972
Reaction score
358
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
4x zone 2, 3x channel master 90cm, 1x channel master 1.2m
My Location
South Durham
Sat receiver LNB connector -> GBOX receiver connector. GBOX LNB -> LNB on dish. If your motor cable isn't already connected or labelled then you will have to open the actuator and identify which 2 wires are for the motor and which two are for the reed sensor.

edit: beaten to it by Mickha :)
 

Attachments

  • Gxob.pdf
    650.2 KB · Views: 8

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
972
Reaction score
358
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
4x zone 2, 3x channel master 90cm, 1x channel master 1.2m
My Location
South Durham
Just to add it might be worth checking your actuator is still working before spending any money. You can do this by connecting it to the gbox and pressing the left/east or right/west button and seeing if the motor moves, no need for any receiver or LNB to be connected.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,254
Reaction score
2,080
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Just to add it might be worth checking your actuator is still working before spending any money. You can do this by connecting it to the gbox and pressing the left/east or right/west button and seeing if the motor moves, no need for any receiver or LNB to be connected.
I think Tony's earlier posts appear to confirm that the motor & dish combo does still move correctly between most sats.
 

Tony Daly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
177
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2mt motorised dish
My Location
South West Ireland
Thanks everyone for your replies.

Everything has been connected for the past 6 years & is fully working.
Its just the Technomate 7102HD is old technology now & the menus aren't great, so I need something to replace it without breaking the bank to do it.
I'm just worried about setting up a new receiver with the GBOX correctly in the new receivers menus as its been 6 years since I set up the original system. I just don't want to be overwhelmed by the technology in the new receiver.

Tony.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,254
Reaction score
2,080
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
I understand your position as something "totally new" like an SX88+ will inevitably be a bit of a challenge (but "True LINUX" based boxes like the SF8008 will be far more so!).

However, many of the forum members will be happy to try to help you through the setup, and especially getting the motor settings entered correctly in the "Installation" setup menus - therefore I suggest that you "take the plunge" and get a new receiver, and then we will aim to help you "take it from there".
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,243
Reaction score
8,053
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Good "advice".
 

Tony Daly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
177
Reaction score
60
Points
28
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2mt motorised dish
My Location
South West Ireland
Thanks for the advice lads.
Been out all day & just in now.
An Octagon SX88+ SE WL will be ordered tomorrow from World of Satellite.
I presume that's the right box to get ?
Should arrive some time next week & we'll see what happens then.

I'll do a search online for further information.
In the meantime if they're any tutorials that folks know about I'd be grateful for a link.

Thanks.
Tony.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,243
Reaction score
8,053
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I suspect you'll be pleasantly surprised and find much of it intuitive.
 
Top