Newbie Here Pixellation problems receiving Hotbird signals

Misterfyer

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Satellite dish on Hotbird / Humax decoder
My Location
North Wales
I have a Humax box (about 7 years old) that I have been using to receive Hotbird channels. However I have just bought a new Samsung 5100 series 1080p HD 40" TV and have found that the satellite channel pictures on the TV screen are now pixelated. My old TV was a prehistoric SD Panasonic and there were no such picture problems with the satellite channels. The box and new TV are connected with a Scart lead. The Hotbird channels I am watching are not broadcast in HD.

I have contacted Samsung and they took me through a software update on the TV and after further checks declared that the fault does not lie with the TV. They hinted that I might need to upgrade to an HD box. I have had the dish checked and it is aligned OK. The signal bars also show a good signal.

None of my local installers have a clue although two of them said that I 'possibly' need to upgrade the box.

My problem is that with no-one having definitively identified the cause of the problem I am reluctant to buy a new box if there is no guarantee that it will solve the problem.

My questions are: 1) if one is receiving non HD satellite signals why does one need an HD box - after all most Freeview channels are not HD and appear on an HD screen without pixelation; 2) do I need an HD box simply because the TV set is HD; 3) is this a common problem and is there a well known solution?

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire