Platforma HD to close

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,107
Reaction score
9,826
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Russian service Platforma HD & Platform DV will close at the beginning of July:

-http://www.broadbandtvnews.com/2012/06/06/russian-dth-platform-to-close/
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,139
Reaction score
7,297
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
News a few weeks back was that the 9E transmission was to close, leaving the other satellite further east (with possible cable to the main regions as well)
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,107
Reaction score
9,826
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Looks like the whole lot has been canned due to dire subscription levels!
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,139
Reaction score
7,297
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
From my inbox a few weeks back

The subscribers in Russia might have some opportunities to buy 50% discounted receivers for similar service from 36East, under condition that they had have an HD package subscription.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,225
Reaction score
7,465
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
This has been discussed about since the start of the year on Russian forums. Tricolor - another provider in Motherland - bought Platforma and are creating a new HD service under Tricolor HD name, which is just an addition to their already very popular Tricolor package. Tricolor is very cheap, even free on a lot of channels. It's a bit like Freesat from Sky, where you need a one-off card but can add other subscription level channels to it.

Their current promotion is that anyone with an active Platforma HD subscription (i.e. me!) can pay around £50 for a new receiver, a year's worth of subscription to HD channels and swinging the dish over to 36E - including the circular LNB. Shame that anyone west of Poland can't receive the Russian beam from 36E.

:(
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,139
Reaction score
7,297
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I thought I'd posted that earlier.

Anyhow, there are a few transponders spare on the satellite, it wouldn't be impossible for Tricolour to rent one or two Eurasia beams once the channel lineup is complete and subscriptions have been taken.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,107
Reaction score
9,826
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Platforma HD has now ceased and all the channels have been removed from 9E
 

solly

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
5,166
Reaction score
3,041
Points
113
Age
51
My Location
Tel Aviv, Israel
what the transponder use on 36e paltforma hd now ?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,107
Reaction score
9,826
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
No idea - I only get a handful of channels that are on the west European beams on 36E
 

solly

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
5,166
Reaction score
3,041
Points
113
Age
51
My Location
Tel Aviv, Israel
maybe under ntv plus same channel from platforma hd
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,225
Reaction score
7,465
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Platforma HD bought out by Tricolor, which started a new Tricolor HD service. 36E, Russian beam.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top