rather cool satellite meter

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
hey guys.

as you know ive recently been rethinking \ re-doing my setup.

i finally plucked for one of those satellite meters which are on ebay and amazon - the ones with a TV screen etc.

anyway, the one i got was "GT MEDIA V8 Satellite Finder Meter Digital" from amazon for 90 quid.

it supports usuals, so initially this was great for moving motor during setup...i have now done away with diseq for a 36v system

some of the features which are cool, other than usuals support, its ability to add TP, spectrum analyser - a blind scan (Which isnt really a blind scan) - but it really helped me setup my 36v system today, im not sure if 90 quid is pricey or not, but im sure it will come in handy time and time again.

some pics attached
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20210528_173927891.jpg
    PXL_20210528_173927891.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 47
  • PXL_20210528_174026662.jpg
    PXL_20210528_174026662.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 48
  • PXL_20210528_174645340.jpg
    PXL_20210528_174645340.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 42
  • PXL_20210528_174655817.jpg
    PXL_20210528_174655817.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 41
  • PXL_20210528_174720467.jpg
    PXL_20210528_174720467.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 40
  • PXL_20210528_174729905.jpg
    PXL_20210528_174729905.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 39
  • PXL_20210528_174756207.jpg
    PXL_20210528_174756207.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 39
  • PXL_20210528_174925856.jpg
    PXL_20210528_174925856.jpg
    847.3 KB · Views: 38
  • PXL_20210528_174928808.jpg
    PXL_20210528_174928808.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 42

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,533
Reaction score
813
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Is it correct these meters can tune below 10700MHz? If you have a PLL LNB it would be interesting to know if it can tune 10493H 1500 on 26E. Also how quickly does the spectrum update? :)
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
That's the feature which most cheap meters fail on, spectrum refresh, but that one looks quite useful.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
took about 1m30 per polarity - 3 mins in total....im not sure what it does, is the idea to scan in all TP on H and then V - and add them to the TP database, thats what it does i think....i did a video but its 700mb
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The prices of those have rocketed - I paid half as much 2 years ago for something very similar. Personally I find mine more or less useless as the screen is unreadable on anything but a completely overcast day.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Is it correct these meters can tune below 10700MHz? If you have a PLL LNB it would be interesting to know if it can tune 10493H 1500 on 26E. Also how quickly does the spectrum update? :)

Some of them can - it depends on the tuner in them. Some folk use them for tuning the the Eshail 2 amateur channels. Of course mine doesnt go that low - I even tried flashing it with different firmware in case that helped but no.


 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,533
Reaction score
813
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
took about 1m30 per polarity - 3 mins in total....im not sure what it does, is the idea to scan in all TP on H and then V - and add them to the TP database, thats what it does i think....i did a video but its 700mb
Thanks, is it possible to narrow the frequency range on the spectrum analyser to speed it up?

Some of them can - it depends on the tuner in them. Some folk use them for tuning the the Eshail 2 amateur channels. Of course mine doesnt go that low - I even tried flashing it with different firmware in case that helped but no.
I can lock the transponder on my older Satlink WS-6933 with a cheap little PLL LNB, but it's so basic it doesn't play video or even scan transponders. The screen (and battery) are also useless :lol:
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,964
Reaction score
7,225
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
There is something very wrong with that spectrum result in the first picture.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,964
Reaction score
7,225
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Some of them can - it depends on the tuner in them. Some folk use them for tuning the the Eshail 2 amateur channels. Of course mine doesnt go that low - I even tried flashing it with different firmware in case that helped but no.
It might be worth trying the new batch of meter firmware updates.
 
Last edited:

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
video of it in action here:
the jump halfway is me changing to V after waiting for H
 

Bamboccio

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
47
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
43
I am thinking of buying one of these with the added purpose of connecting it to some speakers as a satellite radio source.
Is it a bad idea and if so could you recommend a model?
 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,533
Reaction score
813
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Many of the cheaper range of satellite meters like this are nigh on identical but with different brand names. I don't know if connecting the an AV cable disables the screen. A dedicated internet radio may be a better option.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
the av out cable is RCA \ composite, so you could use just the red and white out to any amp \ speaker input - but yes, not ideal for the purpose of internet radio
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
there are smaller dedicated receivers such as octagon sx88 which would do the job much better im sure
 

Bamboccio

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
47
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
43
Thank you - I liked the idea of the small LCD screen but no pint if it is disabled. I will check out the octagon sx88 / one with support for Tivusat card.
Thanks
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
i wouldnt have thought the screen gets disconnected, that was someones speculation.

i can test later
 

statalite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
600
Reaction score
245
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Nova-HD-S2, Dr HD D15, Free sat V7S, Free sat v8 finder V-71HD
Zone 1 @ 28.2°E with cable tied LNB @ 19.2°E
Zone 2 @ 28.2°E
Channel Master 1.0m (to be setup)
Channel Master 1.2m (to be setup)
SMR 1224
My Location
UK Midlands
The battery isn't big, I have the previous model and it's 3000ma and degrading over time so if you have the screen on even with radio it won't last too long.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,964
Reaction score
7,225
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Thank you - I liked the idea of the small LCD screen but no pint if it is disabled. I will check out the octagon sx88 / one with support for Tivusat card.
Thanks
When I checked (a few months ago) the main issue was the on screen graphics of the unit remain the screen , both on the lcd and any monitor connected with rca or HDMI.

It wouldn't take much to alter the firmware to disable things such as the battery level indicator. but then the meter becomes a fully fledged receiver (dual screen as well) which may cause conflict with other machines from the manufacturer.
 

mike1

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
169
Reaction score
42
Points
28
Age
33
My Satellite Setup
30w-60e motorised (64cm triax / black ultra)

Vu solo2

Mutant 51

Tm5402 M3
My Location
UK
i have used the v8 sat meter going fishing with a small plastic 35cm dish antenna.
Plus you re-charge with a 12v solar panel dc car battery charger when off grid.
The battery last for 2hours for tv viewing.
 
Last edited:
Top