Newbie Here Refurbish Old Satellite Dish

Graham Grable

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Looking to get started, so no setup yet.
My Location
United States
Hello, I am looking into getting this dish for free, which I believe is a Channel Master/Andrew Type 243 dish. Is there a surefire way to see if it is, or can any of you help me identify it? Its seen its day in the weather, and I'm curious if I should be concerned or not. Is there a special paint that I can use to make it look nice and pretty? I've attached a couple of photos of it.
rSIGYif.jpg
3ukqCxj.jpg

A

archive10

yes, that it a slightly battered 243 (or possibly another variant - reflector is the same).
There's a "channel master" embossed near the top of the upper half of the dish.
You may want to paint the surface to avoid the mesh rusting....
Car paint will do fine.
Should still perform fine, though.

Can you post pic of the mount (ground-stand).
This determines the difficulty in mounting it elsewhere...

Graham Grable

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
United States
yes, that it a slightly battered 243 (or possibly another variant - reflector is the same).
There's a "channel master" embossed near the top of the upper half of the dish.
You may want to paint the surface to avoid the mesh rusting....
Car paint will do fine.
Should still perform fine, though.

Can you post pic of the mount (ground-stand).
This determines the difficulty in mounting it elsewhere...
Yeah, of course. Thanks for your help. Is there a particular type of paint that I should look for? Also in terms of mounting it elsewhere, what would you think the difficulty in setting it up to track satellites across the sky would be? Again, thanks for your help.
N0jJtry.jpg

A

archive10

1) Re paint
As you can see the mesh embbeded in the dish, what is coming off is actually plastic layer(s).
If you are just toying around to see what you can make of it, you might as well leave as is to avoid more stuff coming off.