Advice Needed Setting up channel master

Alejandro_V

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
25
Points
18
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 120 with Inverto PLL LNB
My Location
Oslo, Norway
Hi guys! I usually get very good advice here so I try again.

I got myself a 1.2 Channel Master with a polar mount. I'm not at all familiar with the setup and it's probably overkill for my use (single satellite E5WB in Oslo, Norway - right now my famaval 105 does not provide enough rain margin).

The guy who sold it to me did never mount it but said that everything was included. My impression is that the two metallic bars are supposed to be linked by an actuator (1 bar is mounted in the picture). When I try to fix the bars together it seems to me that the plate is not perfectly aligned to the "south" and if I understand well how this mount works, the elevation will not be according to the adjustments readings in the mount.

One option is obviously to drill another hole in the second bar (to the left in the picture) so that everything is consistent or should I try to get an actuator? Or change the hole thing by an AZ/EL mount since it will be a mono satellite install...
20200408_181850.jpg
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,638
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Seeing as you're using it as a fixed dish, and not motorized, just remove the bar, that attaches to the actuator (motor).

All you need to do is put it on a 3" diameter pole and align the dish to get the strongest signal from the satellite you want.

It's a bit of a waste, as you could get a lot more satellites, if you add a motor, but it's your dish, and your choice.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,964
Reaction score
7,225
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
That silver threaded bar is your elevation adjustment.

Whilst you do not have a motor, your second bar on the floo could be used to lock the mount onto whatever position then move the dish on the pole to the correct position, and adjust the elevation to suit.
 

Alejandro_V

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
25
Points
18
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 120 with Inverto PLL LNB
My Location
Oslo, Norway
Seeing as you're using it as a fixed dish, and not motorized, just remove the bar, that attaches to the actuator (motor).

All you need to do is put it on a 3" diameter pole and align the dish to get the strongest signal from the satellite you want.

It's a bit of a waste, as you could get a lot more satellites, if you add a motor, but it's your dish, and your choice.
You're right! I have some plans about an actuator later...I'm just afraid that it might take some time before I get it if I order it now so I would like making some tests before. Thanks
 

Alejandro_V

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
25
Points
18
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 120 with Inverto PLL LNB
My Location
Oslo, Norway
Hi again!

I started my setup and got some signal, not better than my Famaval 105 so far so I need to spend more time.

1. I did as you suggested Michka but I wonder about something. By choosing "any" position, the rotation of the dish is most probably wrong...I know I can adjust the elevation but not the "useful width" which is depending on the position of the bar. I would assume that the dish should be "horizontal" when facing the satellite, especially since it's 5W but that is obviously not the case (it's tilting about "10mn" clockwise direction)

2. I've read a lot about not optimum LNB position on this dish... I will try an LNB with longer collar but will that be enough?

The dish is a pleasure to adjust with the bolt for the elevation

20200412_192220_edited.jpeg
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,638
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
The rotation of a dish, when using a motor, is to skew (rotate) the LNB, to the correct position. As you currently have it as a fixed dish, adjust the dish, until you get the maximum signal quality, then slightly skew the LNB, to get the best signal.

If setting it up as a motorized dish, you would set it up on the satellite closest to your true south, your longitude position, which for Norway is around 8 East, according to dishpointer. Once setup the motor would, and polar mount, would automatically rotate the dish, correcting for LNB skew, as you move between satellites.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,964
Reaction score
7,225
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Hi again!

I started my setup and got some signal, not better than my Famaval 105 so far so I need to spend more time.

1. I did as you suggested Michka but I wonder about something. By choosing "any" position, the rotation of the dish is most probably wrong...I know I can adjust the elevation but not the "useful width" which is depending on the position of the bar. I would assume that the dish should be "horizontal" when facing the satellite, especially since it's 5W but that is obviously not the case (it's tilting about "10mn" clockwise direction)

2. I've read a lot about not optimum LNB position on this dish... I will try an LNB with longer collar but will that be enough?

The dish is a pleasure to adjust with the bolt for the elevation

View attachment 129722

The focal point of the Channel Master is about 4cms closer than the feedhorn position of the LNB you are using for tests.
 

Alejandro_V

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
25
Points
18
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 120 with Inverto PLL LNB
My Location
Oslo, Norway
The focal point of the Channel Master is about 4cms closer than the feedhorn position of the LNB you are using for tests.

Is there any place one can buy tweaked ones or is it a DIY project...?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,964
Reaction score
7,225
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
As you mentioned, a longer style LNBF will improve things, but the best solution is the dedicated Channel Master feed and a C120 style LNB
 

Burnham Beech

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
1,033
Reaction score
49
Points
48
I have found that a standard LNB - eg the commonly recommended Inverto Black Ultra - performs better than the Channel master feed and an LNB that bolts to it (forgot the technical name - is it a C120?)

I suspect the theory is correct - the feed + a good LNB would work best. But the issue is that no one makes C129 LNBs any more (at least for the hobbyist) and they have not kept pace with the abilities of the cheap integrated LNBs.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,964
Reaction score
7,225
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
There are a number of C 120 LNB sellers on eBay, though you might find the term 'flange' improves the results.

But yes, PLL designs are thin on the ground
 

Alejandro_V

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
25
Points
18
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 120 with Inverto PLL LNB
My Location
Oslo, Norway
There are a number of C 120 LNB sellers on eBay, though you might find the term 'flange' improves the results.

But yes, PLL designs are thin on the ground

I have found some sellers for C120 LNB's and feedhorns but they basically cost as much as I paid for the dish :oops: currently with an Inverto Premium Universal, I have MER levels around 12dB, if I could get a substantial better level I would go for a C120, otherwise I might try a Black Ultra which has reasonable prices.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,964
Reaction score
7,225
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
Seeing as you're using it as a fixed dish, and not motorized, just remove the bar, that attaches to the actuator (motor).

All you need to do is put it on a 3" diameter pole and align the dish to get the strongest signal from the satellite you want.

It's a bit of a waste, as you could get a lot more satellites, if you add a motor, but it's your dish, and your choice.
if you removed the bar, the dish would flip flop about - it needs to connect to the other bar for a fixed sat surely...?

ive temporarily fitted a bar from a tv mount that has one fixed position nut, and a wider nut to give adjustment when adjusting declination until i work out what to do re actuator and vbox
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20210528_180926970.jpg
    PXL_20210528_180926970.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 10
Last edited:
Top