Help Required Technomate killing my HDMI-ARC

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
895
Reaction score
273
Points
63
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
I have a Samsung sound bar with two HDMI inputs - i have apple tv 4k, plugged into it, and a 4k bluray player - using high speed cables - the soundbar has HDMI out to TV - this is plugged into my TV's ARC HDMI port (also by high speed cable)

ALL WORKS WELL!

However, some of you may know i recently bought a TM-5402-M4 stb - this is the problem - when this is plugged into a NON ARC HDMI port on my TV - it breaks the ARC and i get tv speaker sound only. there are no options on the TM regarding HMDI \ CEC which is a shame.

If i HARD power off the TM - ARC returns, and all is well.

I've tried 3 different HDMI cables, between TM and the TV, and other ports, but no matter what - when the TM boots up, ARC breaks on my TV, and only have TV sounds....

a right PITA!!!!

Advice welcome - but no smart alec's pls

to get ARC back, i either have to power the TM stb off when i dont need it, OR i unplug the hdmi from back of TM.

ive tried using a splitter - i.e TM into HDMI splitter, and then route the output of that to TV - BUT i get no tv output at all - so gave up with that
 

dmaavrigdo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
278
Reaction score
261
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m Laminas OFC1200 dish
Golden Media 202+
Octagon SF8008 twin
Zgemma H9S
Technomate Nano M3
Technomate F3/5
Yamaha HTR-2067
My Location
Vansbro Sweden
Does your sound bar have an optical input? Solved a problem for me.
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
3,382
Reaction score
1,284
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
One of these should sort it:


zorrin used something similar to solve HDMI CEC problems with a different receiver:

 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
895
Reaction score
273
Points
63
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
thats great - didnt know they existed! ordered.

THANK YOU!!!
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
895
Reaction score
273
Points
63
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
935
Reaction score
726
Points
93
Age
29
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W/4.8°E), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC (Intel i3 processor, nVidia Graphics, and TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card) running Ubuntu with Kodi/TVHeadend, Wetek Play2, Skybox M3.
My Location
Cheltenham
If you're feeling brave and don't mind sacrificing a cheap HDMI cable, you can cut the CEC wire to PIN 13 yourself!


Or, what I've done before with a device that broke ARC, was stick a tiny strip of electrical tape over pin 13 of the HDMI connector at one end which was fiddly, but did work and was very cheap. :D
 

zorrin

Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
194
Reaction score
176
Points
43
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
Axas HIS 4K Combo
39°E to 34,5°O Ku CM 1m20 +18" actuator+VBox2+CM Feed+Inverto Black Ultra LNB
0,8°E CM 1m20 Fixe+CM Feed+Inverto Black Ultra LNB
28,2°E NEOVIA flat antenna Twin
19°E NEOVIA flat antenna Twin
5°W 80cm Twin
2X DiSEqC 4to1
Samsung 40" (DVB S2 tuner)+FRANSAT CAM
SONY 65" (DVB S2 tuner)+FRANSAT CAM
2X TCL 24" TV (DVB S2 tuner)
Next CM 90cm Fixe/CM 1m20 Moto C bande /Bisat
My Location
france
Top