Advice on monoblock installation in sky dish

anonimity

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Uno
My Location
London
Hello,
I have recently moved to a new flat and that has a sky dish preinstalled. I would like to replace the original LNB with a monoblock LNB so as to watch ASTRA and HOTBIRD.
I must note, I am completely new to this and have no idea how to install it, on the other hand I don't want to spent money on a professional installer if it is easy (for an amateur) to do it.
Any advice? Also, is the configuration going to work with the sky 60cm dish or needs 80cm?
Cheers.

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Tricky.

Monoblocks are designed to work most efficiently with 80cm dishes, but are generally ok for slightly smaller or larger.

Indeed, I have one on an old Sky "Analogue" dish.

But there is another issue as the current Sky dishes are wider than they are high - the opposite of a standard dish.

Add into the mix the fact that a Monoblock LNB will have a Feedhorn designed to match a normal dish and you have the potential for a difficult installation.

I have read of people succeeding, but not totally ie on all frequencies.

So my advice would be to replace the Sky dish with a proper one - provided the existing dish serves only you and not other flats too.

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
There are two Astras. Monoblocks are for fairly narrow differences in satellite position and a six degree monoblock would be needed between Astra 1 at 19E and Hotbird at 13E...

BUT $ly is at Astra 2 at 28E and anyway a $ly minidish isn't really big enough to get a decent signal from a secondary satellite (even if you could get a monoblock to fit).