Help - New fta setup

whalley77

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Labgear HD Satellite Kit

Laptop Windows vista
My Location
Bedfordshire
I am completely new to this satellite thing, so I need some help.

I have bought a Labgear HDSR300 Kit, on installation I find that I have hundreds of channels I don't want and very few of the ones I do want. I cannot find BBC 3 & 4, yet I have every version of BBC1 that is going. I have no channels 5 or indeed hardly any of the channels I get on my freeview set.

The Signal strength is 83% and quality is 75% what am I doing wrong?

Whalley77

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Well first of all welcome to the Forum and well done getting the Dish aligned to the correct Satellite.

As for Channels, I assume you just scanned a pre-stored list?

If so, you need to find an option called Blind (or Auto) Scan. Possibly Network scan (which doesn't quite to the same thing) and apply that. But I'm not familiar with that Receiver, so it may not have that feature.

If these scanning features aren't available, what you need to do is look at _http://www.flysat.com/28east.php and then add/edit the listed Transponders to the table in your Receiver.

You can delete, move, rename any Channels you do find, so can end up with a tailored list.

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
BBC 3 & 4 dont start until 7pm so scan after then ;)

The free channels on satellite and freeview are different - so you wont get Dave, Virgin 1 etc - they are pay channels only on satellite.

whalley77

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Labgear HD Satellite Kit

Laptop Windows vista
My Location
Bedfordshire