Help with satalite setup

Boosh

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Sky satellite dish
My Location
Essex
Hi all, absolute novice when it comes to satalite TV. I've had regular TV through an aerial all my life. However, we're getting our roof replaced and roofer has said its worth getting rid of the aerial as less wear on the chimney and tiles so we've decided to loose it and start using the satellite dish that was here when we bought the house. I've bought cheap old Bush Freesat HD box. It has one input although I have 2 x coax cables from the satellite dish. Connected one up and won't even find channels. Tried the other one and it finds all the channels and radio stations but when I go to select a channel it just says no signal. I'm wondering if it's the incorrect type of LNB from what I have read online or is it the old Bush Freesat box just not working? Pictures below of the satellite dish and current LNB. Because we have the scaffolding up for the roof I can easily access the dish safely so coudl always change LNB if needed. Any help is greatly appreciated.

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-13 at 06.44.28.jpegWhatsApp Image 2024-06-13 at 06.44.27 (1).jpegWhatsApp Image 2024-06-13 at 06.44.27.jpeg

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
That is a Sky Q LNB which is not compatible with your Freesat receiver - change it for a mk4 Sky quad universal LNB. Make sure it comes with the bracket (the bit with the spirit level on it) as not all Sky LNBs are the same size.

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Thank you - is this the one: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sky-Satellites-Quad-LNB-Dishes/dp/B077DQHL3H?th=1

Is it an easy switch over for a novice like myself?