Advice Needed Receivers with the lowest Symbol Rate?

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
475
Reaction score
130
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB)
My Location
SE London, UK
I did run a full blindscan on 30W and 45W with no lock ups on the Icecrypt 6600HD. It did however download a couple of data channels off 45W which it stored, but trying to access them AFTER blindscan did lock up the box, power recycle sorted it
interesting...i thought they were same hardware under hood...so this suggests its a firmware issue.
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,361
Reaction score
2,965
Points
113
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
interesting...i thought they were same hardware under hood...so this suggests its a firmware issue.
This was a high end receiver, so probably same firmware but different hardware..
 

stephan94

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
544
Reaction score
700
Points
93
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
1.20 Channel master ( Paris)and 1200 Laminas ( Bavaria) KU and C Band
Openbox SX6 and S3 Mini, Dr HD 15, Octagon SF 4008 and Octagon SX88and SX8 HD One, TBS 6983
My Location
Bavaria and Paris
thank you for clearing that up - its nice to know the STB is not just hanging.
is the openbox sx4 same as openbox sx6? in terms of hardware \ software
 

Attachments

  • sx4 sx6.jpg
    sx4 sx6.jpg
    172.6 KB · Views: 34

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
475
Reaction score
130
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB)
My Location
SE London, UK

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
475
Reaction score
130
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB)
My Location
SE London, UK

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
475
Reaction score
130
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB)
My Location
SE London, UK
I did run a full blindscan on 30W and 45W with no lock ups on the Icecrypt 6600HD. It did however download a couple of data channels off 45W which it stored, but trying to access them AFTER blindscan did lock up the box, power recycle sorted it
hey mate, thank you - can you scan 24.5w and see if it finds anything, mine didnt (openbox sx4), i might be after an icecrypt 6600 at this rate...i love the speed of these blind scans and the fact it picks up silly low SR TP's - if only it wasnt for the quirks...

EDIT - I THINK the channel maximum has been hit, that why it found nothing....confirming now....

nope, wasnt that, i dont get, its finding loads of TP's but when it scans them - 0 channels found (27.5w)
 
Last edited:

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,361
Reaction score
2,965
Points
113
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
hey mate, thank you - can you scan 24.5w and see if it finds anything, mine didnt (openbox sx4), i might be after an icecrypt 6600 at this rate...i love the speed of these blind scans and the fact it picks up silly low SR TP's - if only it wasnt for the quirks...

EDIT - I THINK the channel maximum has been hit, that why it found nothing....confirming now....

nope, wasnt that, i dont get, its finding loads of TP's but when it scans them - 0 channels found (27.5w)
Have to be later when I get in from work..
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,361
Reaction score
2,965
Points
113
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
475
Reaction score
130
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB)
My Location
SE London, UK
so, now on 24.5w, one of the TP returned a few TV channels - i think the last one in the scan....

27.5w however - not showing the bbc, itv, etc Freesat\view backup channels which is weird - it finds about 12 TP's but doesnt return anything after the scan...

do you know if the 27.5w freesat\view channels are actually TV channels - just scrambled...? or something more like data, so that might be why...
 
Last edited:

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,346
Reaction score
8,111
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
so, now on 24.5w, one of the TP returned a few TV channels - i think the last one in the scan....

27.5w however - not showing the bbc, itv, etc Freesat\view backup channels which is weird - it finds about 12 TP's but doesnt return anything after the scan...

do you know if the 27.5w freesat\view channels are actually TV channels - just scrambled...? or something more like data, so that might be why...
They are BISS encrypted TV Channels.

The Symbol Rate is over 40000, which is outwith some receivers' capabilities.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
475
Reaction score
130
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB)
My Location
SE London, UK
They are BISS encrypted TV Channels.

The Symbol Rate is over 40000, which is outwith some receivers' capabilities.
thanks for confirming - that might be it, i will check the openbox sx4 specs.
 

huve

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
67
Reaction score
84
Points
18
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Faval SH 100, Mystique SaTiX-S2 Sky V2 USB, GI 110 cm, Inverto Black Ultra single
My Location
Helsinki
thanks for confirming - that might be it, i will check the openbox sx4 specs.
27.5W has a intentionally broken header that does not contain channel pids. You must have a receiver that has a possibility to manually type in the pids. There has been only a few receiver models (openbox not one of them) before it was built into enigma2. Read this:
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,636
Reaction score
7,152
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I received two transponders in a search for 24.5W a few minutes ago (80cm dish )

Neither are listed on Lyngsat, or Flysat.
 

Attachments

  • 20210221_115109[1].jpg
    20210221_115109[1].jpg
    485.8 KB · Views: 25
Last edited:

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,361
Reaction score
2,965
Points
113
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,361
Reaction score
2,965
Points
113
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,636
Reaction score
7,152
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Definitely 24.5W, I get a completely different blind scan for 27W (and more channels).
 

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,001
Reaction score
599
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, AZ/EL x3.
My Location
South Durham
I locked 11596V 30000 & 11635V 30000 the other night on a fixed 90cm pointing at 22W. No signal at the moment.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,636
Reaction score
7,152
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I'll try 22 W later today, but since the dish is tracking correctly I doubt I am getting an adjacent satellite signal.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,486
Reaction score
2,165
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
I locked 11596V 30000 & 11635V 30000 the other night on a fixed 90cm pointing at 22W. No signal at the moment.
Both (and maybe also 11598/v/3000) still "live" ATM on 24.5W
 
Top