Request..Sirius, Thor Decoder advice

Rabbit

EUROPEAN CHAMPIONS x5
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
My Satellite Setup
System1..
Channel Master 1.8m with CM Feedhorn AZ/EL Mount. MTI AP82-TW 0.6dB LNB. Thomson Sky HD Decoder
System2..
Internet TV... Sweden's Telia Broadband service.
My Location
Hässleholm,South Sweden
Generally I am into Astra 2D, so this part of satellite I am a novice at, so please excuse me!
I currently have an old Nokia Viaccess decoder which I want replacing because of it freezing out very often, and its very slow. I am located in southern Sweden, and have a fixed dish with 4 LNB's that picks up Thor, Sirius, Astra and Hotbird. My Viaaccess decoder currently has an in built 'viaaccess', so I can receive channels on my Swedish Viasat card. I also have a Conax module where I can insert my Canal + card.
I need to know if anyone can recommend a good replacement that is fast, can store thousands of channels, and can still cater for my conax module and a spare slot for my Via-sat card. And also any other improvements that I am unaware of would also be nice to know!
I also have problems, as I can only receive canal + channels. The dish is aligned properly, and everything seems to be set up ok. Could the problem be the 4 way diseq switch located lose to my dish?

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Viasat will shortly move to an encryption called Videoguard (VG), which is only available with a few embedded receivers. There is no VG Cam version that I know of

The problem is going to be what will happen with those wanting both VG and Conax from the same receiver

T24 may have a solution, but my advice would be to wait until there is news on what receiver is recommended by the broadcaster

Rabbit

EUROPEAN CHAMPIONS x5
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
My Satellite Setup
System1..