Advice Needed Strange Ferguson SRB1 Display. Is it an Error Code?

retunerman

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Philips STU902 / Technomate 6902
My Location
United Kingdom
Could anyone help me with some advice on this Ferguson SRB1 error code please?

The code (or garbage) appears the moment the receiver is powered up, there's no delay at all. All the buttons and the setup key on the rear are compeletely unresponsive and on the channel number display I get three horizontal lines (above each other) followed by the number 2 which alternates with the -- standby indicator.

I've had a look through the service manual and can find no reference to this or any other error codes, so I'm guessing it's probably kaput.

Any help would be gratefully received. I'm a newbie here and I've enjoyed reading a lot of the posts on this forum.

Many thanks :Y

philpem

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
HackRF, SVA1, HackTV... you know... the usual!
My Location
GB
There are a couple of possible causes of the issue. There are a couple of DRAMs attached to the MAC chipset which can fail and cause a huge mess which the firmware won't be able to figure out. I think they're usually 4164s, two of them. If they're "MT" branded I'd replace them as a first step.

After that I'd check the 20.25MHz clock (which supplies the MAC section and ACM), then check voltages and other clocks, and go through the diagnostic steps for "receiver LEDs light up but does not come out of standby".

Unfortunately the system selftest status is only shown on one of the ACM diagnostic screens, which is a bit pointless because just about the whole receiver needs to be working (at least as far as output video sync and ACM comms) before it can tell you what's gone wrong ...!

retunerman

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
United Kingdom