Just Sharing This Break up on picture TalkTalk recording set top box.

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,279
Reaction score
1,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Called out today, customer had been experiencing on and off picture breakup on their TalkTalk box, TalkTalk replaced with another and the problem was the same.
On my Promax the signal was very clean and 72db, no interference from 4G or 5G. I've experienced similar problems before with thes units, they will not function properly with 72db of signal, I attenuated by 10db and all is now well. Very poorly designed box though, 72db should not be a problem for terrestrial tuners.
 
Last edited:

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,188
Reaction score
1,917
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Well it's all up to the amount of AGC the tuner has to work with...And 72 dB??? dB what? dBm, dBuv, dBpv, +72 dB, -72 dB???
If -72 dBm then there is a problem with the AGC, if -72 dBuv or -72 dBpv then a problem with the incoming signal, if +72 dBm then you have a hot amp, but 72 dB means nothing till referenced to something.

What is the Promax referencing the signal strengths to?
 

Manikm909

Small'ish Dish Man
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
2,369
Reaction score
1,110
Points
113
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.8M on Edision MIO 4K & GTMEDIA Combo, and CM1.2M on Octagon SF8008
My Location
Kent, UK
@rolfw also did you mean SHOULD or SHOULDNT be a problem for terrestrial
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,462
Reaction score
8,518
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Yes, I've had trouble in the past, many clients have advised of signal loss between day and night reception (can't remember which) on higher group aerials.
Then there are those loop through issues to the TV, that software upgrades from the manufacture seem to have disabled correctly.

It's almost as if the boxes are designed/programmed to put the subscriber off live TV and onto the paid stuff.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,279
Reaction score
1,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,279
Reaction score
1,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Well it's all up to the amount of AGC the tuner has to work with...And 72 dB??? dB what? dBm, dBuv, dBpv, +72 dB, -72 dB???
If -72 dBm then there is a problem with the AGC, if -72 dBuv or -72 dBpv then a problem with the incoming signal, if +72 dBm then you have a hot amp, but 72 dB means nothing till referenced to something.

What is the Promax referencing the signal strengths to?
In the UK we generally use dBuv, unless you are really old school and pretty much all commercial analysers for the field use this as standard. No amplifier involved, this is direct from the aerial, a Triax XG10 high gain, not my installation, would have used a Fracarro log as this is a very good reception area. The tuners on these boxes also don't like signal strengths down in the low 40s either.
 
Last edited:

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,462
Reaction score
8,518
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Ah, the DN370 pepper pot.

 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,279
Reaction score
1,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
It seems that they have rectified the deaf tuner issue and given it dumbo ears, so much so that in strong signal areas they will have problems.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,188
Reaction score
1,917
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
They might have done that to allow for the insertion loss of a 4G/5G filter.....But who knows what some Jr engineer is thinking now days.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
@rolfw

Not directly related to the main issue, which you so expertly fixed, but w.r.t. other "issues" which resulted from being a "TalkTalk" customer, most of which appear to amount to "don't TalkTalk"- just "WalkWalk", in another & totally different direction!

PS: One, if not more, of my local u3a photo-group members got really screwed by "TT" when their email a/c got hacked and that took a long time to fix - on my advice, he now has a gmail main address!
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,984
Reaction score
4,013
Points
113
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
@rolfw

on my advice, he now has a gmail main address!
Oh the irony, in its original configuration of Googlemail it was one of the most insecure mail servers going
 
Top