Eastern sats after 33e

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
maybe i could start by cutting this down....its my "bush"

there is also a tree in the background but i doubt thats the issue
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20210525_141811496.MP.jpg
    PXL_20210525_141811496.MP.jpg
    1,009 KB · Views: 19
  • PXL_20210525_141734727.jpg
    PXL_20210525_141734727.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 20

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,659
Reaction score
2,269
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Just get it above the garage roofline, and maybe further "back" towards where it first was -then 52E should be your "oyster".
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,411
Reaction score
8,154
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Just get it above the garage roofline, and maybe further "back" towards where it first was -then 52E should be your "oyster".
...... "lobster" ........
 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,532
Reaction score
811
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
My Channel Masters have never needed to be re-aligned once after storms/wind, Az/El or polar mount. The main dish is only 2.5M above the ground but we get very strong winds here.

If you fine tune the polar mount at ground level on a plumb pole, and your pole in the final position is plumb, once the dish is up all you need to do is get the azimuth correct. I found it's much easier to rotate the pole than to rotate the polar mount on the pole, so you need not be up a ladder to fine tune it.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,659
Reaction score
2,269
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
...... "lobster" ........
"oyster", "lobster" - I'm not particularly partial to either, but "whatever takes your fancy" as far as crustaceans are concerned :D
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
My Channel Masters have never needed to be re-aligned once after storms/wind, Az/El or polar mount. The main dish is only 2.5M above the ground but we get very strong winds here.

If you fine tune the polar mount at ground level on a plumb pole, and your pole in the final position is plumb, once the dish is up all you need to do is get the azimuth correct. I found it's much easier to rotate the pole than to rotate the polar mount on the pole, so you need not be up a ladder to fine tune it.
you can tell its Friday! :)

hey @ozumo - thanks, i was thinking that....

i.e get the CM plonked on, get the ARC lined up on the polar mount where it is now (where i can get to it easily) - get it tracking from 30w to 39e then losen pole brackets....and raise the pole, in theory as long as the pole stays plum i should be good.

my other train of thought is, i would be annoyed if it was the bush\tree causing this, as its a lot simpler to hack that down, than do the above...
:) i think i will get my lopper out, WAHAY!!!!

oh i need a cheap actuator and vbox - still unsure on 12, or 18, i dont quite understand the length advanatges \ disadvantages

also - where its sited currenly is there enough room on the back do you think to accomodate an actuator....12 or otherwise
 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,532
Reaction score
811
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
also - where its sited currenly is there enough room on the back do you think to accomodate an actuator....12 or otherwise
Any actuator will be fine as long as it's mounted on the left side when looking from the rear, which is preferable for eastern satellites.

If you take your Laminas off the motor and set it up as a fixed dish, it will be much easier to visualise where the signals are coming from - I think it's the building in the way rather than the foliage :)
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
good idea mate! will try that.

i hope someone on here might want my Laminas if i can get this CM going.... :)
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,659
Reaction score
2,269
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
good idea mate! will try that.

i hope someone on here might want my Laminas if i can get this CM going.... :)
If the "house is in the way" is the "problem" then there'll be no difference between using the DiSEqC motor and an actuator approach - until you put the dish back where it was, i.e. above the eaves of the house roof :(
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
id rather it be where ive moved it too i.e the garage, id rather it be away from the house, and on the garage (and so would the mrs).
if i have to raise it above the garage roof, then so be it, id rather that then trust ladder resting against gutter and also the extension roof isnt flat (old old location)
so do i want a 12" or 18" actuator for 53e 45w ?
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
think this is conclusive - 39e, and 53e.
42e is apparently possible, but it might be the tree blocking it tho.
 

Attachments

  • 39e.JPG
    39e.JPG
    20.8 KB · Views: 14
  • 53e.JPG
    53e.JPG
    20.5 KB · Views: 14

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,659
Reaction score
2,269
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
id rather it be where ive moved it too i.e the garage, id rather it be away from the house, and on the garage (and so would the mrs).
if i have to raise it above the garage roof, then so be it, id rather that then trust ladder resting against gutter and also the extension roof isnt flat (old old location)
so do i want a 12" or 18" actuator for 53e 45w ?
"No such problem/solution" required! - just cut that "local" bush/tree "down a bit" and move the existing pole and dish as far as possible to the "right" on the garage wall as you can. That way you should be able to get 52E (and maybe further East?) without changing the means of rotating the dish.
 

manikm909

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
634
Reaction score
186
Points
43
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2M \ Channel Master 90cm \ Laminas OFC 1200 Dish, Octagon SF8008 (main STB) - Icecrypt 6600 - TM5302
My Location
SE London, UK
thanks, that did cross my mind, but then i think it will be too close to the neighbours shed - also, its very bushy down that side of garden border, so i think other sats will suffer from 5e up to 53e
i think raising it where it is, is the best option for me. not much work, just hassle. i will need to source vbox and actuator and get the CM commisoned
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
836
Reaction score
419
Points
63
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
maybe i could start by cutting this down....its my "bush"

there is also a tree in the background but i doubt thats the issue

Well, I would first ANALYSE what are your line of sight issues:
What part comes from the garage building, what part comes from trees?

You can use dishpointer.com for the angular direction (azimuth) of e.g. 42E.
Then make a cardboard or so with the needed elevation angle for 42E, and check the line of sight form your dish towards 42E.

Or, of course, wait for the sun-outage period, and do the analyzing then...

greetz,
A33
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,659
Reaction score
2,269
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
thanks, that did cross my mind, but then i think it will be too close to the neighbours shed - also, its very bushy down that side of garden border, so i think other sats will suffer from 5e up to 53e
i think raising it where it is, is the best option for me. not much work, just hassle. i will need to source vbox and actuator and get the CM commisoned
I REALLY can't understand your new "obsession" with the V-box + actuator approach because if you can't get 52E with a DiSEqC motor then you WILL NOT get that with a V-Box and an actuator because the HOUSE IS STILL IN THE SIGNAL PATH !

Thus, to start with, raise the dish as far you can and see what you get with the existing setup. If that doesn't get 52E then, as I said earlier, cut down the bush/tree and move the pole/dish to the "right" :rolleyes:
 

Gladstones

Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
483
Reaction score
82
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
Zone 2 Fixed @ Astra 2
Gibertini XP 1 meter motorised
Technomate TM2600
Inverto Ultra Black
LG 55 UH770V
Octagon SX88+SE
XCRUISER XDR785HDR Avant Android 4K
My Location
Midlothian
Don’t cut the poor trees and bushes
Best is to install the dish on flat roof
 
Top