Electrician's Join Splitters - Four since Christmas

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,376
Reaction score
7,097
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I pulled out this one earlier, from an 'alleged 'IRS' aerial system since the end of the festive season.

This was the last version I saw, but the one today is even cheaper.

2 Way F-Type Splitter Combiner TV Virgin Cable Sky Satellite Freeview [006992] 5055383469925 | eBay , I thought the Ross ones were bad with Bellng Lee fittings on a plastic case but at least that had some reactive stuff inside.

I doubt there are any inside this one, without burning them in an oven to check the interior, I'm not going to bother.

These are widely sold online for both satellite and terrestrial work, but why are they being used on commercial systems where there is a need for evenly distributed signals serving - in this case - 16 individual apartments ?
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    664.5 KB · Views: 19
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    746.8 KB · Views: 15
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    670 KB · Views: 18
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    799.8 KB · Views: 20
Last edited:

Gerry55

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2003
Messages
87
Reaction score
35
Points
18
Channel Hopper
Can I add my tuppence worth, Kenable_Ltd are an excellent company!
With a good range of products
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,364
Reaction score
2,120
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
TBH, I buy most "basic" media cables from Kenable - relatively "cheap", very rapid & reliable delivery (subject to Royal Mail's local delivery service - which is very good around here) and have had few, if any, faulty items (so far).

OTOH, those splitters are fraught with basic issues, as are the simpler "90 deg" F-connectors - just thrown away 3 of 10 of the latter type because the exposed "male" pin was simply "loose", meaning that there was no solid i/p to o/p connection (BTW: ISTR that those didn't come from Kenable)!
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,376
Reaction score
7,097
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Channel Hopper
Can I add my tuppence worth, Kenable_Ltd are an excellent company!
With a good range of products
I don't doubt the company has a positive credential, however to advertise a device like this as suitable for more than just DC continuity is dangerous.

I could make a reasonable profit selling people a razor blade and strip of insulation tape for 50p, posting them out for another 65p. The resulting connection with the three cables would have a similar signal quotient, saving the buyer three f-plugs in the process.

If I get a spare moment I'll check/post the slope response at UHF and IF frequencies.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,781
Reaction score
1,665
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
I wonder if they are even 75 ohms????
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,057
Reaction score
1,443
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I've used a couple to split and old composite CCTV camera feed before, but nothing else.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,376
Reaction score
7,097
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I wonder if they are even 75 ohms????
No, I imaged the meter in the first post, no more than 0.2 Ohm once I've negated the loss through the test leads.

I would be very surprised if there were coils built into the casing.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,781
Reaction score
1,665
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Do you have an inductance meter by chance??
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
They've no place on commercial systems for sure.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,376
Reaction score
7,097
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Do you have an inductance meter by chance??
Good thinking and yes, I do have one of those TC1 multifunction testers in the office.

Will charge up and report back with results.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,781
Reaction score
1,665
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
As a direct coupler you could get 75 ohms,(third leg may cause problems with the readings) but the second you connect a 75 ohm load to the third port you would more then likely get 25 ohms on all 3.

And looks way too small to have coils and a ferrite inside.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,376
Reaction score
7,097
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I will try all three combinations, any inductive splitter worth its salt usually has only two in there so the readings should be different.
 
Top