Eumetsat access licences now free

s-band

Contributor
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
884
Reaction score
1,295
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
1.5m IRTE PF, Octagon OSLO external Ref., TBS6983,
Various L, S, C, X & Ka bits. 1.2m S/X/Ku/Ka Prodelin on Az-El
My Location
SE UK
I installed a 6GB RAMdisk and put Tellicast on there, together with all the user directories. Over a few hours I only had one or 2 key missing failures. However, I was still losing some parts of some images (I'm still downloading all channels). MSG-Data Manager retrieved the MSG HRIT and some other World high res. The MSGs were all complete but some of the high res had bits missing.

I think the way to work is to use the RAM Disk for all incoming files. MSG Data Manager and some other s/w will remove old and processed files. I could see space being freed on the RAM disk as it was running. It looks like serious users have one PC to receive and another to process. However, I think it may work ok on one PC if you restrict the number of channels captured.

I Used Softperfect RAM Disk which will also archive the disk image on an HD. The latest version is not free but V3.4.8 is shareware, free for home users. Download SoftPerfect RAM Disk - MajorGeeks

Images Copyright Eumetsat
 

Attachments

  • 201904161725-rss-ch01.jpg
    201904161725-rss-ch01.jpg
    129.1 KB · Views: 16
  • eumet2.PNG
    eumet2.PNG
    158.9 KB · Views: 15
Last edited:

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,096
Reaction score
7,030
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I had a email in earlier in the week, asking for feedback on the Eumetsat software, specifically the altimetry data of Sentinel 3.

I'd better plug things in and try it.

Dear User,

You are receiving this email because you are a registered user of Copernicus Sentinel-3 altimetry data.

Following the annual Copernicus User Survey conducted at the beginning of 2019, EUMETSAT is now conducting a survey targeted to Sentinel-3 altimetry data users.

We hereby kindly invite you to complete the survey linked below (this should take you about 10 minutes):

EUMETSAT - Sentinel-3 Altimetry Survey

Your contributions will be very valuable to EUMETSAT and our continued development and provision of altimetry services.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,670
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Due to assorted family issues over the last 12 months I havent got round to completing my station yet. :(
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,096
Reaction score
7,030
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
And....... a few years later.

Than ks to a couple of days indoors I've managed to cobble all the parts together into a dedicated case, the TBS8920 PCi card, Asus motherboard M4N78 Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate and the Eumetsat software.

First run from Sirius on the satellite c20200211_114606.jpg20200211_141851.jpgard showed some issues with the motherboard HDMI output but I've found a workaround so in the next few days I'll have a play with the Eumetsat dongle.
 
Last edited:

sat-tv-fan

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
645
Reaction score
128
Points
43
Location
East Sussex, South East UK
My Satellite Setup
1m motorised dish + Octagon 0.1db PLL LNB
66 E - 45.0 W
Azbox HD Premium
Azbox ME
Amiko A3 combo (android)
TBS 5925 and 5927 USB
Octogan SX88+
Octagon SF8008
Koqit K1 mini
Openbox SX6 HD
Mecool K3 pro (android)
X2 Premium HD
Skybox F3
Technomate 5302 HD
Technomate 5402 M3
iSmart X8
My Location
East Sussex, South East UK
Is the TBS5990 Eumetsat compatible ? Unfortunately though I see it's been discontinued anyhow :(
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,670
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Thanks to lockdown & 2 family bereavements this year Ive STILL not got my system set up :(
 

sat-tv-fan

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
645
Reaction score
128
Points
43
Location
East Sussex, South East UK
My Satellite Setup
1m motorised dish + Octagon 0.1db PLL LNB
66 E - 45.0 W
Azbox HD Premium
Azbox ME
Amiko A3 combo (android)
TBS 5925 and 5927 USB
Octogan SX88+
Octagon SF8008
Koqit K1 mini
Openbox SX6 HD
Mecool K3 pro (android)
X2 Premium HD
Skybox F3
Technomate 5302 HD
Technomate 5402 M3
iSmart X8
My Location
East Sussex, South East UK
Thanks to lockdown & 2 family bereavements this year Ive STILL not got my system set up :(
I'm sorry to hear this. wish I had known about the 5990 as it has dual inputs perfect for both data channels for Eumetsat
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,670
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
An interesting document here:


At the moment the Eumetcast reserve capacity in case of Eute 10A failure is Eute 21B, but from early next year it will be Hotbird. I wonder if there is a medium term plan to migrate to 13E when 10B comes into service.

This also means there cannot be anything important allocated to 11317V & 11355V at any time from the 21E -> 13E changeover
 
Last edited:
Top