Ka band???

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
117
Reaction score
26
Points
28
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Hello, this forum has an interesting Ka band section. However, after many readings, I suspect that Ka band is losing interest from many satellite enthusiasts, maybe due to TV signal lacking, isn't it? How many channels are broadcasted in this frequencies? And what about feeds? Feeds catching is one of my preferred activities in satellite reception, but maybe very few feeds are available. Is it so useful to make an installation including Ka band? I suspect the answer is no, but I ask to you.
Please note that I'm located near Milan, North part of Italy, I don't know if there is some spot aimed to my area, and one which satellite. Could you please clarify this point to me? Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
3,056
Reaction score
1,092
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Have a look at Flysat... quite a few satellites have Ka footprints that cover northern Italy.

 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
117
Reaction score
26
Points
28
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Yes Ozumo, you are right, no footprints aimed to my area. Apart of this, in your opinion, why we had much interest in the past and not anymore now? And in all areas, including UK where you had daily broadcasting like RTE channels? Do you think that broadcasters understood that Ka band is so critical, particularly with rain or bad weather conditions? Recently I spoke with a satellite operator that made some Ka band links with a portable system (maybe on a truck, not sure), and he told me that during a rainy day the signal dropped dramatically and he got serious problems to send/receive the signal. Is there any additional reason? Thanks.
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,473
Reaction score
3,065
Points
113
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
Yes Ozumo, you are right, no footprints aimed to my area. Apart of this, in your opinion, why we had much interest in the past and not anymore now? And in all areas, including UK where you had daily broadcasting like RTE channels? Do you think that broadcasters understood that Ka band is so critical, particularly with rain or bad weather conditions? Recently I spoke with a satellite operator that made some Ka band links with a portable system (maybe on a truck, not sure), and he told me that during a rainy day the signal dropped dramatically and he got serious problems to send/receive the signal. Is there any additional reason? Thanks.
I would say that sums it up. Rain a big problem for Ka band. It never really got going. Very little of interest now, and what is available is usually data signals
 

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
3,056
Reaction score
1,092
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham

dreamsat

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
445
Reaction score
582
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
2,20m Kathrein, 3,7m Andrew, KU,KA,C,C-Ext. LNBs
My Location
germany
Hello,
the 19.2 ° E, 16.0 ° E and 7.0 ° E satellites should definitely work. A lot can be achieved with a 1.5 m antenna.

best regards
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
117
Reaction score
26
Points
28
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Could you please explain better? What can I receive from 19.2°E, 16.0°E and 7.0°E here? I suspect only data, or are there any feeds or regular broadcasting? A 1.5m dish would not be a problem, a bigger issue could be to find a good LNB I'm afraid. But I'm not sure if I will begin any Ka band approach.... Very doubtful. Thanks.
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,473
Reaction score
3,065
Points
113
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
Could you please explain better? What can I receive from 19.2°E, 16.0°E and 7.0°E here? I suspect only data, or are there any feeds or regular broadcasting? A 1.5m dish would not be a problem, a bigger issue could be to find a good LNB I'm afraid. But I'm not sure if I will begin any Ka band approach.... Very doubtful. Thanks.
Take a look on Flysat. Very few feeds, but some African programming to be had off 16E and 7E.
 

dreamsat

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
445
Reaction score
582
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
2,20m Kathrein, 3,7m Andrew, KU,KA,C,C-Ext. LNBs
My Location
germany
At 19.2 ° E, the ITV feeds vertically and there are horse races horizontally. On the other satellites, as scopus said, has African programs. But you already need two different LNBs. AStra has 18.2-19.2 GHz and the Eutelsat have 20.2-22.0 GHz.
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
117
Reaction score
26
Points
28
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Yes I knew that Ka band is splitted in four parts (A to D I believe). So, reading your post I think that a unique LNB for all portions does not exist.... and different polarities (circular and linear) could be an additional problem, am I wrong? Finally, very few signal to invest in a specific installation. Thanks.
 

dreamsat

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
445
Reaction score
582
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
2,20m Kathrein, 3,7m Andrew, KU,KA,C,C-Ext. LNBs
My Location
germany
The LNB for all areas is already available in the professional area. With a feed, the appropriate depolarizer and this LNB, you are at around 10,000.00 euros.:-ohmy:-ohmy:-ohmy
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
117
Reaction score
26
Points
28
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
10.000 Euros.... really too much for such few trasmissions. I checked flysat, not interested in this band anymore. Thanks for your explanations.
Just an additional question: how can a single LNB cover almost 4 GHz? Two Ka portions can be switched using 22KHz command, but as diseqc is not used in the professional world I don't know which commands are used for the entire band. Thanks.
 

dreamsat

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
445
Reaction score
582
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
2,20m Kathrein, 3,7m Andrew, KU,KA,C,C-Ext. LNBs
My Location
germany
14/18 and 14-22khz/18-22khz for the bands and the polarity moved with a depolarizer
 
Top