More & Bigger Adverts!

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Don't know if it's FF or something on the website that has changed, but, over the last few days, I've been seeing more and much larger adverts down the RH side when I look at (for example) the "What's New" page.

Anyone else seeing the same thing?

Edited: seems to be related to something called "AdChoices" - where did that come from?

And now I realise that there are more and larger banner ads at the tops and bottoms of the thread pages (currently showing Kaspersky ads on this particular page - NB: dumping Kaspersky now that the 1yr 10 device subscription is ending, and replacing it with a Norton 10 devices for £17.99 package I picked up a month or so ago!)
 
Last edited:

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
3,217
Reaction score
3,865
Points
113
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
Don't know if it's FF or something on the website that has changed, but, over the last few days, I've been seeing more and much larger adverts down the RH side when I look at (for example) the "What's New" page.

Anyone else seeing the same thing?
Yes, certainly way more adverts now. Maybe to help pay site costs?
 

Laser

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
503
Reaction score
305
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
Dr HD F15, OS mio + 4K, Octagon SF8008, Octagon SX88+. TM 5402HD M3. .Channel Master 1.20 Ku and C Band. 1.1 Triax Dish
My Location
Berkshire
Just looking at an AD for a holiday with TUI going to Barbados......which I have to say looks very nice!!
 

TJExcalibur

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
1,836
Reaction score
1,096
Points
113
Age
82
Location
Out of this world.
My Satellite Setup
Master Focus 90cm .Gigablue UHD Quad 4K on TM 2600 motor. *Tm 5402 HD M3, *Atemio Nemesis. *Not Used.
My Location
Southern England
Don't know if it's FF or something on the website that has changed, but, over the last few days, I've been seeing more and much larger adverts down the RH side when I look at (for example) the "What's New" page.

Anyone else seeing the same thing?

Edited: seems to be related to something called "AdChoices" - where did that come from?

And now I realise that there are more and larger banner ads at the tops and bottoms of the thread pages (currently showing Kaspersky ads on this particular page - NB: dumping Kaspersky now that the 1yr 10 device subscription is ending, and replacing it with a Norton 10 devices for £17.99 package I picked up a month or so ago!)
I do not get any side ads, just a few on the main page and I do not use ad block on the forums. Maybe its something to do with Chrome settings.
The ones I hate are for these dating ads with young women looking for men. Oh the temptation. Mmmmm, maybe they are looking for money and I have as much of that as I have good looks.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Think I've maybe realised what is going on - it's Google and the way its "personalised ads" "system" now works :rolleyes:. Turn it OFF and you seem to get anything and everything, turn it ON and you get more of what it thinks you "like"!:-doh

To anyone NOT using the Google search engine, what are you seeing/not seeing?
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
6,022
Reaction score
916
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
I switched from Google to Bing, so I'm just seeing 2 adverts, currently the one at the top for Adobe, one at the bottom for Moonpig, both just normal banner advertisements, not that big.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
24,000
Reaction score
4,019
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
I rarely see an advert with adblock and chrome
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Nothing untoward.

DuckDuckGo
 

TJExcalibur

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
1,836
Reaction score
1,096
Points
113
Age
82
Location
Out of this world.
My Satellite Setup
Master Focus 90cm .Gigablue UHD Quad 4K on TM 2600 motor. *Tm 5402 HD M3, *Atemio Nemesis. *Not Used.
My Location
Southern England
I rarely see an advert with adblock and chrome
I do not use AdBlock in here as I thought it reduced their revenue streams.
 
A

Archive-8

Guest
AdGuard dns stops 99% of adverts, on all my devices.

Code:
https://adguard.com/en/adguard-dns/setup.html#faq-2-9
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
AdGuard dns stops 99% of adverts, on all my devices.

Code:
https://adguard.com/en/adguard-dns/setup.html#faq-2-9
@Chris1979
With which browsers, and does adguard cause any "issues"?
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Looked into Adguard - seems quite expensive!
Just downloaded Adblock Plus for FF, restarted FF and it seems a lot better, i.e. few if any ads - so far
 
A

Archive-8

Guest
Looked into Adguard - seems quite expensive!
Just downloaded Adblock Plus for FF, restarted FF and it seems a lot better, i.e. few if any ads - so far

AdGuard dns is free.

I haven’t paid anything for it. All I had to do was change the dns address in the router.

Code:
https://adguard.com/en/adguard-dns/setup.html
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
AdGuard dns is free.

I haven’t paid anything for it. All I had to do was change the dns address in the router.

Code:
https://adguard.com/en/adguard-dns/setup.html
AH - hadn't looked closely at the link you posted earlier! What's the overall "performance" like on the Adguard DNS?
 
A

Archive-8

Guest
I can’t say I have noticed any drop in performance using Adguard, where I did notice a big drop in my connection when I used OpenDNS.

In my opinion AdGuard beats OpenDNS.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
I can’t say I have noticed any drop in performance using Adguard, where I did notice a big drop in my connection when I used OpenDNS.

In my opinion AdGuard beats OpenDNS.
Thanks - I'll give that a go in the next few days:
PS: Still no more ads since I installed Adblock Plus on FF earlier today.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Thanks - I'll give that a go in the next few days:
PS: Still no more ads since I installed Adblock Plus on FF earlier today.
Well, that was true on my main laptop - but doesn't seem to have worked on the ASUS netbook and so lots of ads :(
 

Ghostleader

Regular Member
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
1,949
Reaction score
872
Points
113
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
80cm motorised Inverto dish with Dark Motor full metal gears, Xtrend 9500HD, Amiko Alien 2+, Amiko Alien 8900, Moded Zone 2 dish with multi LNB goodness! 50 inch full HD LCD and loads of other stuff! lol
My Location
Glasgow,ish!
The adds top and bottom are definitely bigger on mobile on Chrome, there the width of the screen in height also so there square essentially. Big massive square one at the top for Vectone Mobile at present, was interested in 30Gig data for £10 a month......then I read the Trust Pilot reviews! Sounds like their about to go under or they should be by the reports of their practices.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,748
Reaction score
8,638
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
The ones I hate are for these dating ads with young women looking for men. Oh the temptation. Mmmmm, maybe they are looking for money and I have as much of that as I have good looks.

They may not be young, or women.
 
Top