No go, so far.

twingang

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Passion box.
Dell Dimension desktop.
My Location
Essex coast
Hello to all members of satellites.
I would appreciate some help please with my new Gigablue Quad Plus box.
I took delivery of the above towards the end of January & when I contacted Gigablue/Impex, they took forever responding and thus the box has been gathering dust ever since.

The image used Openmips 4.3.
I have trouble both setting up the tuner along with the motorised dish settings and got some erratic results. These settings appear to be much harder to set up than my basic 6 year old Fortec Passion, which is a doddle and is fairly reliable.

To sum up the situation:
I would like to set up tuner A only (for time being) and the dish motor (using DISEqC 1.2) to locate Astra (28.2 East) right through to Hispasat (30 West) inclusive.

Many thanks from Twingang



 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,987
Reaction score
4,014
Points
113
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Hello twingang, welcome to the forum, I think a brief synopsis of what you have tried so far may help members to help you, although it is is not a very common stb hence you may have a limited number of replies
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
3,165
Reaction score
3,795
Points
113
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
Hello to all members of satellites.
I would appreciate some help please with my new Gigablue Quad Plus box.
I took delivery of the above towards the end of January & when I contacted Gigablue/Impex, they took forever responding and thus the box has been gathering dust ever since.

The image used Openmips 4.3.
I have trouble both setting up the tuner along with the motorised dish settings and got some erratic results. These settings appear to be much harder to set up than my basic 6 year old Fortec Passion, which is a doddle and is fairly reliable.

To sum up the situation:
I would like to set up tuner A only (for time being) and the dish motor (using DISEqC 1.2) to locate Astra (28.2 East) right through to Hispasat (30 West) inclusive.

Many thanks from Twingang




Is the Openmips image Enigma 2?
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,596
Reaction score
6,073
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
It is maybe not very common STB, but I have found it a very good replacement/competitor of my old good Dreambox 8k. I had GigaBlue Quad and also GB Quad Plus for some time. Pretty happy with it's performance.It is Enigma2 receiver. It works great wiht almost no bugs. So, @twingang , maybe you just do not really know how to set it up to work with motor? Or, your motor is not in great condition. What exactly is not working?
 

huve

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
70
Reaction score
88
Points
18
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Faval SH 100, Mystique SaTiX-S2 Sky V2 USB, GI 110 cm, Inverto Black Ultra single
My Location
Helsinki
Is your motor working with USALS? It is easier get working, but aiming is difficult. I've been using my gb quad with USALS. With DISEqC 1.2 your have to setup every satellite individually, I'm too lazy for that. DISEqC 1.2 motor setup procedure is described in page 9 in openvix manual http://www.openvix.co.uk/openvix-builds/Guides and Tutorials/VIX Manual Vs 1.1.pdf. The menu settings are also in openMIPS, but in a different place.
 

twingang

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Passion box.
Dell Dimension desktop.
My Location
Essex coast
Hello twingang, welcome to the forum, I think a brief synopsis of what you have tried so far may help members to help you, although it is is not a very common stb hence you may have a limited number of replies
Thanks for you reply
 

twingang

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Passion box.
Dell Dimension desktop.
My Location
Essex coast
Thanks for your response Topper,
I did manage to load Astra 19.2 but only a limited amount of channels were available even though the actual list was 500 to 600 .
If I then managed to (after many attempts) locate Hotbird only a fraction of the channels could be received.
I know all the sats that I am able to receive as I have been using the same motor with my Fortec for many years now.
I prefer to use DISEqC 1.2

I find the whole set up very awkward and erratic on my unused Gigablue and hence I only use my old Fortec.

Regards Twingang
 

twingang

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Passion box.
Dell Dimension desktop.
My Location
Essex coast
Last edited by a moderator:

twingang

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Passion box.
Dell Dimension desktop.
My Location
Essex coast
It is maybe not very common STB, but I have found it a very good replacement/competitor of my old good Dreambox 8k. I had GigaBlue Quad and also GB Quad Plus for some time. Pretty happy with it's performance.It is Enigma2 receiver. It works great wiht almost no bugs. So, @twingang , maybe you just do not really know how to set it up to work with motor? Or, your motor is not in great condition. What exactly is not working?
Hello Rima ntss,
Thank you for your response.
Once I had took delivery of the box (back in January) I printed out the English instructions and used them to set up my new box.
My motor, dish and lnb are all in perfect working order as I use them with my old Fortec Passion every day of the week (and have been for over six years now).
I would welcome advice on how to setup tuner A only (for the time being) along with the motor setup
to receive the 12 or so sats I normally receive (using DISqC 1.2).

Regards Twingang
 

T_G

The Consumate Dreamer
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
6,693
Reaction score
241
Points
63
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
1 GigaBlue Quad plus, 1 Dreambox 5620, MOTECK SG2100A DISEqC Motor, 120 cm noname offset dish, Humax 95 cm offset dish and a few UK digiboxes.
My Location
Somewhere where the Sauer is Kraut and the Wurst is Brat
Hey Twingang,
I have a Gigablue Quad Plus box, and I have to say it is the best receiver I ever had... setting up is really straight forward.
I use this image, and it does everything. I know installing backup images is not the "pure" way of doing things, but if you want a quick solution, that's it.
I am not sure how your German is, but you can download it from here (comes from the giablue-support.org website. They already published newer versions, but for me this one works really well.

File-Upload.net - New-OpenATV-5.1-PimpGigaBlueQuadPlus-Image-by-stony272.zip

Other than that, please post a screenshot of your tuner setup, let's see what you have entered in there and we'll try to help.
You can do screenshots by connecting to the receiver via your computer (put the IP address of receiver into your browser).

TG
 

twingang

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Passion box.
Dell Dimension desktop.
My Location
Essex coast
Hello T-G,
Your response to my problem is the most constructive I have received so far.
I will try this.

Regards Twingang
 

twingang

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Passion box.
Dell Dimension desktop.
My Location
Essex coast
Hello T-G,
Your response to my problem is the most constructive I have received so far.
I will try this.

Regards Twingang
Hello again T-G.

I have tried to download "OpenATV-4.3-PimpGigaBlueQuadPlus-Image-by-stony272".
but have only managed to display"gambling/adult" sites from this.
Can you at all advise on a direct site for this image please.
Thank you.
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
882
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Strange, the link in T_G's post should send you directly to the file download.
Try copying, and pasting, the coded link, into your browser:
Code:
http://www.file-upload.net/download-11026443/New-OpenATV-5.1-PimpGigaBlueQuadPlus-Image-by-stony272.zip.html
 
Top