SAORSAT - NORTH DEVON ?

caterpillar

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
10
Points
3
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
sky hd 60cm
My Location
north devon
Hi Gentlemen - I am in North Devon and have been trying in vain to receive Saorsat to get RTE for my dad

I have a vu+ Duo and a 1 meter solid aluminium dish set up on eutelsat 9 as primary focus, the picture quality on the main Ku signals is superb

however each time i swap out the ku for the KA LNB nothing, no signal no lock,
my location has been reported on other threads as being within the footprint and i am right on the sea near Barnstaple, and indeed someone posted they were receiving it in exeter which is further inland than me

any suggestions as to what i am doing wrong?

cheers
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,986
Reaction score
4,014
Points
113
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Never having been involved in Saorsat reception, I can only say that generally, the footprint of any satellite becomes variable on its fringes, reception can be achieved in one street and not in the next. The footprint could have been altered on-the-fly to stop exactly what you are trying to do and limit the reception area. The satellite could have drifted within its location window in orbit. No doubt others who have reception of these transmissions will have other information.
 

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
5,175
Reaction score
2,575
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
The FEC was recently changed from 2/3 to 5/6 which requires over 2dB more signal to lock, so most likely a bigger dish will be needed.
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,964
Reaction score
880
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Did you manually configure your tuner settings correctly, in the Tuner menu, to set your LNB to KA band?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,471
Reaction score
8,524
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Has the interference/null patterning been removed from Ka service ?
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,194
Reaction score
1,917
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
I think your too far outside the Ka band spot-beam for that satellite, here is a footprint map of the closest spot-beam to you.

9 East spotbeam.jpg
I think you would need a very large dish to get anything off that one.

The Ku band beam is saturating your area, so that one is not a problem.

Here is the link to the footprint map, you can play with it your self.....
Code:
https://satbeams.com/footprints
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,250
Reaction score
1,139
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
I know of someone who receives it in north west Devon (or at least did), and I'm 99% sure they're using a 1m dish. This may have been before the FEC switch though.

If you don't change the LNB settings on the receiver from universal (as for Ku band), you need to input the frequency as 10757 (instead of 20193) - with the Saorsat Ka Band LNB 20193 gets downconverted to 1007MHz which is the same as what 10757 gets downconverted to with a univeral LNB - the receiver sees them in the same place. All changing the LNB type in the receiver does is map the downconverted frequencies back to their original values based on the local oscillator frequency of the LNB, for ease of tuning!
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,194
Reaction score
1,917
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
With the Ka band beam that far away from his location he would need a 4 meter dish or larger to get anything off that spot-beam.

The Ka band beams are much tighter and harder to receive outside of the foot print then a Ku band beam.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,644
Reaction score
11,115
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
I think your too far outside the Ka band spot-beam for that satellite, here is a footprint map of the closest spot-beam to you.

View attachment 138441
I think you would need a very large dish to get anything off that one.

The Ku band beam is saturating your area, so that one is not a problem.

Here is the link to the footprint map, you can play with it your self.....
Code:
https://satbeams.com/footprints
He is wanting the Irish spotbeam that carries the RTE programming. That one should be recivable in north Devon without too many problems.
 

EnoSat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 29, 2004
Messages
685
Reaction score
619
Points
93
Age
53
Website
enosat.euweb.cz
My Satellite Setup
TBS-5925/5220/5520SE , Dr.HD , Dreambox , Edision , Mutant
My Location
Slovakia
SAORSAT uses beam 24 no 34 , theoretical level - 60 dBW (30 cm)

capture_001_10092021_204147.png
 
Last edited:

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,250
Reaction score
1,139
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
I think your too far outside the Ka band spot-beam for that satellite, here is a footprint map of the closest spot-beam to you.

View attachment 138441
I think you would need a very large dish to get anything off that one.

The Ku band beam is saturating your area, so that one is not a problem.

Here is the link to the footprint map, you can play with it your self.....
Code:
https://satbeams.com/footprints

Not sure I've ever seen the supposed footprints of Ka-Sat the same on two websites before.

The one that would closest match the Irish spotbeam in use for RTÉ/Saorsat on Satbeams would be spot 24 as shown on Satbeams, but I think the actual beam is shifted more to the north west than shown on there, as well as being at a different angle, centred over most of Ireland rather than just the Sunny South East!

Also, the major problem with Ka-Sat is frequency re-use rather than a weak signal, making its coverage interference limited. It's impossible to receive RTÉ at all any further east than parts of Wales and the South West peninsular of England because of the beam covering the north east of France using the same frequencies, and that being the closer of the two in those locations. The same applies further north as one of the beams covering eastern Scotland also does this as far as I know.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot from 2021-09-10 19-41-34.png
    Screenshot from 2021-09-10 19-41-34.png
    288.3 KB · Views: 27

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
422
Reaction score
605
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
One issue is that the "published" footprints of the specific Ka-Band spot beam that Saorsat broadcasts on has to my knowledge never been issued by either Eutelsat of Saorsat/2RN, therefore what actual dish size is needed in certain locations only seems to be available via local knowledge.

I have a Saorsat-compatible Ka-Band LNB that I use the odd time for testing ATM and this time last year it was working fine on an offset position on an 80cm dish pointed at 13E here in County Tyrone, however this was before the most recent parameter changes which included the change in the FEC rate so I'm not sure how good it is now until I get it out again and measure it.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,644
Reaction score
11,115
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
FM Vipersan had a damn good go at Saorsat a few years ago in Manchester. No success whatsoever even with his array of dishes & equipment - the Scotland beam on the same frequency drowned anything out.

ISTR @Llew had a signal on one occasion in East Anglia but that was considered to be a switching error that had put Saorsat onto the eastern England beam
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,213
Reaction score
4,185
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Still checking :-rofl2

 

caterpillar

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
10
Points
3
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
sky hd 60cm
My Location
north devon
Thanks Gents
Had another mess around today and Successfully managed to get a lock using theses settings, my Father is really happy thanks

As I mentioned I am Just south of Bideford Devon, using a 1 meter solid dish

many thanks for all your help
Cheers
 

Attachments

  • 6A4496D6-7F03-43C4-BE45-9506A2D30DE4.jpeg
    6A4496D6-7F03-43C4-BE45-9506A2D30DE4.jpeg
    71.9 KB · Views: 27
  • 29FB15C5-8518-484A-A78E-08F8E8071734.jpeg
    29FB15C5-8518-484A-A78E-08F8E8071734.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 25

caterpillar

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
10
Points
3
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
sky hd 60cm
My Location
north devon
Thanks Gents
Had another mess around today and Successfully managed to get a lock using theses settings, my Father is really happy thanks

As I mentioned I am Just south of Bideford Devon, using a 1 meter solid dish

many thanks for all your help
Cheers

SAORSAT uses beam 24 no 34 , theoretical level - 60 dBW (30 cm)

View attachment 138453
Thanks Enosat
These figures in the picture below actually worked for me
Cheers.
 

Attachments

  • 72296882-D5C1-46E1-A62F-8256BC6967BF.jpeg
    72296882-D5C1-46E1-A62F-8256BC6967BF.jpeg
    71.9 KB · Views: 23

caterpillar

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
10
Points
3
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
sky hd 60cm
My Location
north devon
With the Ka band beam that far away from his location he would need a 4 meter dish or larger to get anything off that spot-beam.

The Ka band beams are much tighter and harder to receive outside of the foot print then a Ku band beam.
It’s worked on a 1m solid dish Teryl
I think this footprint may be more representative
 

Attachments

  • C93EE77C-072A-4AD2-AE60-4EB1F1B0D2D1.jpeg
    C93EE77C-072A-4AD2-AE60-4EB1F1B0D2D1.jpeg
    26.1 KB · Views: 19

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,644
Reaction score
11,115
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Nice one - thanks for letting us know - confirmed reports are always useful .

Be aware that at these frequencies the signal may well be lost in heavy rain, the fec 5/6 signal is nowhere near as robust as it would have been when it was fec 2/3
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,471
Reaction score
8,524
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
More importantly, is your father happy with the RTE programme content ?
 

caterpillar

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
10
Points
3
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
sky hd 60cm
My Location
north devon
With the Ka band beam that far away from his location he would need a 4 meter dish or larger to get anything off that spot-beam.

The Ka band beams are much tighter and harder to receive outside of the foot print then a Ku band beam.
It’s worked on a 1m solid dish Teryl
I think this footprint may be more representative
More importantly, is your father happy with the RTE programme content ?
Thanks hopper
Well yes, it’s only bits and pieces like the GAA sports, news and stuff,
I know it’s not all that, but if it makes him happy to have it
Cheers
 
Top