Stab HH100 motor not moving

Red alert

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
165
Reaction score
35
Points
28
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
1m Gibertini XP, Edision Mio 4K on Stab HH100
My Location
Manchester
Hi all,

its been a while since I last posted, system has been working great, good signal on weak sats too. Yesterday the motor stopped moving for unknown reasons or probably because Stab motors are load of crap, anyway I am still getting signal from the motor but the motor is stuck. I tried reseting to through receiver and tried goto 0. Nothing works. I hooked up a GT media v8 and once I connected to motor the sat meter started smoking and I could smell burning plastic. Strange. So what do you guys think? Bin it and set up my non usals motor or can we fix the motor and get it moving?
With my non usals motor the dish will be 50cm lower and prob lose signal on western sats but wont be a problem.

Cheers
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,497
Reaction score
7,377
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Most satellite receivers have short circuit protection for the tuner input to prevent damage. The emitor analyser and my previous meters had same.

Have you checked the input line to the rotor with a standard ohm meter ?

(You should also disconnect the LNB cable from the rotor in case the failure is purther up the line)

Post a picture of the label on the Stab
 

Red alert

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
165
Reaction score
35
Points
28
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
1m Gibertini XP, Edision Mio 4K on Stab HH100
My Location
Manchester
I
Most satellite receivers have short circuit protection for the tuner input to prevent damage. The emitor analyser and my previous meters had same.

Have you checked the input line to the rotor with a standard ohm meter ?

(You should also disconnect the LNB cable from the rotor in case the failure is purther up the line)

Post a picture of the label on the Stab
only have the Gt Media v8 and no other meter.
Here is a pic of the label on Stab. I have disconnected the lnb cable going into the lnb port of the Stab motor. Only think connected now is reciever.
 

Attachments

  • A13CF07B-251A-4AA9-B48C-877AA413CCBE.jpeg
    A13CF07B-251A-4AA9-B48C-877AA413CCBE.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 16

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,905
Reaction score
1,712
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Disconnect the receiver and do an ohm check of the coax going to the motor, if less then 30 ohms you have a problem in the motor/coax, check the coax for a short, if clear,(infinite ohms <10 meg ohms) then the motor has an internal short and should be replaced.

Also check the DC voltage at the receiver, it should be +13 volts to +14 volts DC, or +18 volts to +19 volts DC, (this depends on the transponder polarity) any less then 13 or more then 19 or somewhere in between 14 to 18 volts , then the receivers internal LNB power supply has a problem.

Also check the AC voltage ripple, use the AC volt selection on the DVM and see what the AC ripple is on the receivers LNB output, if greater then 100 mV AC then you may have a capacitor problem in the receivers power supply.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,541
Reaction score
8,236
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
@Red alert is the motor stuck with the dish at one or other extremes of your arc? I ask because I use 52E quite a bit and my motor tends to stick there - A few jabs at the manual buttons sorts it.

Another issue I've experienced with sticking motors is "oomph" related ....... sometimes if the new target is Vertically polarised I need instead to select a Horizontally polarised one first (ie 18v instead of 13v).

Don't forget that there is often only barely enough current available from today's dinky little receivers!
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,497
Reaction score
7,377
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
If the motor really has got a fault, if under two years old it should be changed under warranty by the supplier, unless it has been taken apart (and is visible).
 

Red alert

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
165
Reaction score
35
Points
28
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
1m Gibertini XP, Edision Mio 4K on Stab HH100
My Location
Manchester
@Red alert is the motor stuck with the dish at one or other extremes of your arc? I ask because I use 52E quite a bit and my motor tends to stick there - A few jabs at the manual buttons sorts it.

Another issue I've experienced with sticking motors is "oomph" related ....... sometimes if the new target is Vertically polarised I need instead to select a Horizontally polarised one first (ie 18v instead of 13v).

Don't forget that there is often only barely enough current available from today's dinky little receivers!
Its stuck at 26 east. Its been working great on my receiver for a year so dont think its the receiver. It happened when I re-connected the lnb cable to the lnb. There were a few spiders under the lnb and wanted to clean it. Need to go buy an Ohm meter to test. Wiered that my sat meter started to heat up and smoke when I connected to the Rec on the Stab motor
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,497
Reaction score
7,377
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Its stuck at 26 east. Its been working great on my receiver for a year so dont think its the receiver. It happened when I re-connected the lnb cable to the lnb. There were a few spiders under the lnb and wanted to clean it. Need to go buy an Ohm meter to test. Wiered that my sat meter started to heat up and smoke when I connected to the Rec on the Stab motor
Then disconnect that cable and try again.

Switch on the meter first without anything connected (you may also find keeping the charger lead on helps in the event you have knackered the internal battery).
 

Red alert

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
165
Reaction score
35
Points
28
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
1m Gibertini XP, Edision Mio 4K on Stab HH100
My Location
Manchester
I just disconnected the cable going to Rec on Stab motor and connected to Technomate motor and it moves fine. So this leads me to believe it is not a receiver issue. Also if I do get signal on my receiver from that one sat wouldnt that mean the lnb cable going to Lnb on motor is fine also?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,497
Reaction score
7,377
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I just disconnected the cable going to Rec on Stab motor and connected to Technomate motor and it moves fine. So this leads me to believe it is not a receiver issue. Also if I do get signal on my receiver from that one sat wouldnt that mean the lnb cable going to Lnb on motor is fine also?
Logic would suggest yes, though if there was an intermittent fault with the LNB or cable/connectors running to it, then you may not get the same result if it has now cleared.
At least the meter appears not to have been totalled.

The motor serial number suggests it was manufacturerd in 2011 by Stab, from previous work on these there are at least two other production codes on components inside.
 

Red alert

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
165
Reaction score
35
Points
28
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
1m Gibertini XP, Edision Mio 4K on Stab HH100
My Location
Manchester
Logic would suggest yes, though if there was an intermittent fault with the LNB or cable/connectors running to it, then you may not get the same result if it has now cleared.
At least the meter appears not to have been totalled.

The motor serial number suggests it was manufacturerd in 2011 by Stab, from previous work on these there are at least two other production codes on components inside.
Even though I disconnected the lnb cable to the Stab the motor still wont move. Note I connected my sat receiver not the sat meter to the Technomate motor. Just purchased a multimeter so will test the ohms in the motor later today or tomorrow
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,905
Reaction score
1,712
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
OK some info from the manufacture on that motor, in standby (not moving) the current consumption is around 30 mA, when moving (at +18 volts from the receiver's DC supply) the current consumption is around 190 mA, at startup the max current draw is around 350 mA, so at most the ohm reading you get should be no less then 50 to 30 ohms (30 ohms is for a +13 volt supply) if the motor is stuck in the on/move position.

And why did the satellite meter start smoking?? If the motor is stuck and drawing at most 350 mA, is that above the max current supply from the sat meter??
 

Red alert

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
165
Reaction score
35
Points
28
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
1m Gibertini XP, Edision Mio 4K on Stab HH100
My Location
Manchester
OK some info from the manufacture on that motor, in standby (not moving) the current consumption is around 30 mA, when moving (at +18 volts from the receiver's DC supply) the current consumption is around 190 mA, at startup the max current draw is around 350 mA, so at most the ohm reading you get should be no less then 50 to 30 ohms (30 ohms is for a +13 volt supply) if the motor is stuck in the on/move position.

And why did the satellite meter start smoking?? If the motor is stuck and drawing at most 350 mA, is that above the max current supply from the sat meter??
Its puzzling because I have used this sat meter in the past with Stab motor and never had problems. I used it in the beginning when I was aligning the motor. But why now, not sure. Could a faulty cable draw more current than is needed?

Note, I had not used the sat meter in over a year as had no use for it.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,497
Reaction score
7,377
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Looking back through the posts, you had an Amiko receiver, what happened to it ?

Do you have a television with satellite tuner input ?
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
871
Reaction score
447
Points
63
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
When you need schematics of the circuit board of the HH100, see here: This Is News To Me. Stab HH100

I've had a defective HH100 too, R20 burnt through, caused by a defective U2. Irrepairable, alas.

greetz,
A33
 

Red alert

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
165
Reaction score
35
Points
28
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
1m Gibertini XP, Edision Mio 4K on Stab HH100
My Location
Manchester
Looking back through the posts, you had an Amiko receiver, what happened to it ?

Do you have a television with satellite tuner input ?
Amiko is in the shed somewhere under some junk. I also had a Next Ye 2000 receiver but thats over 20 years old and will need re-flashing. You know good thing you reminded me to check my tv. I remember it supports usals. Its a LG tv and used it once with Usals. Will try it now
 

Red alert

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
165
Reaction score
35
Points
28
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
1m Gibertini XP, Edision Mio 4K on Stab HH100
My Location
Manchester
Same result with the tv too. Motor not moving. Only picking up signal from the sat it’s stuck at.
 

Red alert

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
165
Reaction score
35
Points
28
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
1m Gibertini XP, Edision Mio 4K on Stab HH100
My Location
Manchester
When you need schematics of the circuit board of the HH100, see here: This Is News To Me. Stab HH100

I've had a defective HH100 too, R20 burnt through, caused by a defective U2. Irrepairable, alas.

greetz,
A33
How long did it take to realise the HH100 became defective? Was it sometime after you purchased the motor?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,497
Reaction score
7,377
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Same result with the tv too. Motor not moving. Only picking up signal from the sat it’s stuck at.
Take the LNB cable off and try again , just to isolate the fault.
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
871
Reaction score
447
Points
63
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
How long did it take to realise the HH100 became defective? Was it sometime after you purchased the motor?

IIRC I bought it secondhand, and I had it running (not very intensively) for over a few years, I believe.
Why, is that relevant?

Greetz,
A33
 
Top