Advice Needed Technomate TM5402 HD M3 Superplus

Derrick33

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
77
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM 5402 HD M3CI superplus receiver connected to TV via HDMI. External satellite dish fixed on Astra 19.2
My Location
UK
I have replaced this with a TM nano M3. The TM5402 worked, but took many attempts to connect.
My question is, is the TM5402 worth saving, i.e. economic to repair?
I am reluctant to scrap it if it could be of value to someone.
 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,254
Reaction score
674
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
What do you mean by "many attempts to connect"?
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,560
Reaction score
2,217
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
I have two 5402 M3's and it is not at all an "internet connection friendly" box, if that's what you are referring to, and likely never will be.

OTOH, for its age and specifications, and when used simply as a sat tuner, then it's quite good and relatively "user friendly" (most of the time!).

Therefore, if it does work well in the latter respect then it'll be worth a few quid to someone as they sometimes still sell for relatively "stupid" money on eBay!
 

Derrick33

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
77
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM 5402 HD M3CI superplus receiver connected to TV via HDMI. External satellite dish fixed on Astra 19.2
My Location
UK
What do you mean by "many attempts to connect"?
When the box was new it would log on to Astra satellite channels promptly. By the time I replaced it, it would continually try to connect and would succeed after some minutes of rebooting behaviour.
 

Derrick33

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
77
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM 5402 HD M3CI superplus receiver connected to TV via HDMI. External satellite dish fixed on Astra 19.2
My Location
UK
What do you mean by "many attempts to connect"?
The box "reboots" repeatedly then eventually succeeds in connecting to the Astra satellite channels.
 

Derrick33

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
77
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM 5402 HD M3CI superplus receiver connected to TV via HDMI. External satellite dish fixed on Astra 19.2
My Location
UK
I have two 5402 M3's and it is not at all an "internet connection friendly" box, if that's what you are referring to, and likely never will be.

OTOH, for its age and specifications, and when used simply as a sat tuner, then it's quite good and relatively "user friendly" (most of the time!).

Therefore, if it does work well in the latter respect then it'll be worth a few quid to someone as they sometimes still sell for relatively "stupid" money on eBay!
Thanks for your advice. I assume that an electrolytic capacitor needs replacing and someone might be able to do that.
 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,254
Reaction score
674
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Take the lid off and have a look. A few months ago another member had a different problem with a 5402, perhaps the two boxes could be married to make a working one?

@statalite
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,777
Reaction score
7,180
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I have replaced this with a TM nano M3. The TM5402 worked, but took many attempts to connect.
My question is, is the TM5402 worth saving, i.e. economic to repair?
I am reluctant to scrap it if it could be of value to someone.
It might simply be a compatibility issue with the LNB outside.

Try changing that for a different one and scaning again.
 

jno

Regular Member
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
48
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
47
My Location
Burgenland, Austria
Sorry for crashing in on this thread.

I have a TM 5402 M3 CI super+ and agree with the posts above. I find the USB recording works but is a little slow to respond with the remote when the stick is full.

What is nice about it is the record/time slip feature which I use to synch hd pictures on Georgian TV imedi (36e) with English commentary off the internet for FTA Georgian rugby games in HD.

I also use the 5402 to get Austrian ORF via cam module (19e) and tivusat (13e) via the "smart card cam reader" on the 5402.

I was wondering, if I ever upgrade to TN Nano does this have the same two decryption possibilities i.e. insert a cam (ORF) AND a separate smart cam for Italian tivusat?

Any help appreciated.
 

Mindfulsat

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
21
My Satellite Setup
Not yet decided
My Location
Planet Earth
Is there a way to get orf, when I look on Amazon.de it says show Austrian bank and address. So you can’t get anymore, I don’t know.
 
Last edited:

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,254
Reaction score
674
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
There are sellers of activated ORF cards & CAMs on German eBay, however thanks to the B word, finding one who will post to the UK is a mission itself.
 
Last edited:

Mindfulsat

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
21
My Satellite Setup
Not yet decided
My Location
Planet Earth
That’s awesome thanks for answering that. Yeah I tried to get a satellite dish no one hardly ships can’t get the Gibertini. Wish I did it before this ordeal. Hopefully in future there is something better sorted out even if we pay more :(.

Edit: Maybe as its a small item if I want one I will order through a forwarding company, just have to check prices to see if it’s worth it. As it wasn’t for a satellite dish, but they are big and heavy.
Also they are a bit pricey unless there’s just the usual high sell price sellers left currently. But good to know in case.
 
Last edited:
Top