Trouble getting Tivùsat working alongside Kabelio on an Edision receiver

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,558
Reaction score
2,216
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Thank-you. As it does not have a terrestrial TV aerial input, it seems to be about the same for my purposes as the ZGemma I currently have (unless I am missing something). I have looked it up, but might not have grasped the difference fully: Is there any disadvantage of CI as opposed to CI+ other than parental block features?
Re-read the spec - It doesn't have a terrestrial tuner as standard, but there is a spare internal tuner slot and (at least according to the WoS website) you can buy an optional C/T/T2 tuner to fit into that slot!
 

shamone

Regular Member
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
101
Reaction score
11
Points
18
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
Vu + Duo, Mut@nt HD51, Icone Wegoo,
1.3M Dish, Technomate TM-2600 Super,
Inverto Black Ultra 0.2dB LNB, 53E - 30W + Fixed Zone 2 on 28E,19E,13E
My Location
N.E UK
You can get a CI+ CAM to work in a CI slot on an enigma 2 reciever with the help of plugins, and only on certain images.

I found this out the hard way :)
 

KabelioSat

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
28
Reaction score
7
Points
3
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Freeview receiver with Edision
My Location
Bexley
OK great, the USB tuners probably won’t come with the cable - you’ll need a fly lead to connect from the wall socket to the USB tuner in the same way as you would to plug into a TV.

RTBF is currently DVB-T but is apparently moving to DVB-T2 later this year (still free to air though, unlike the Flemish channels which are all paid!).

You’ll need a DVB-T2 USB tuner that’s compatible with the Enigma2 software on the box. I’m not sure which ones are, I believe the very cheap XBox One tuners (which are around 10€) may now be compatible though. The Pinnacle PCTV 292e should also be compatible. Not sure if anyone else has more experience, but you should definitely be able to find something.

I have an old PCTV 290e that I will try in one of my Enigma2 receivers to see if I can prove this all works in theory! I’ll let you know.
I somehow missed this. This is looking like the easiest solution. I hopefully won't be performing any updates on the Zgemma once I have it all set up, so I can just leave the USB slot permanently occupied for the tuner.

Does something like this look right for the tuner?

Formuler DVB-T2 USB tuner

I reckon I can use my existing aerial cable as a fly lead by simply connecting it to the USB tuner so this seems like a good solution.

In terms of having the receiver recognise and set this up, though, do you see any problems? Since the receiver isn't designed with terrestrial TV in mind, I imagine there won't be any obvious options on the inbuilt Zgemma software to get it to pull these terrestrial channels up via the USB tuner. It might require some sort of workaround.

Part of me still thinks a receiver with all of this stuff built in would be ideal, but I'm realising such a receiver might not exist at a reasonable price point.
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
846
Reaction score
610
Points
93
Age
28
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W/4.8°E), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC (Intel i3 processor, nVidia Graphics, and TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card) running Ubuntu with Kodi/TVHeadend, Wetek Play2, Skybox M3.
My Location
Cheltenham
I somehow missed this. This is looking like the easiest solution. I hopefully won't be performing any updates on the Zgemma once I have it all set up, so I can just leave the USB slot permanently occupied for the tuner.

Does something like this look right for the tuner?

Formuler DVB-T2 USB tuner

I reckon I can use my existing aerial cable as a fly lead by simply connecting it to the USB tuner so this seems like a good solution.

In terms of having the receiver recognise and set this up, though, do you see any problems? Since the receiver isn't designed with terrestrial TV in mind, I imagine there won't be any obvious options on the inbuilt Zgemma software to get it to pull these terrestrial channels up via the USB tuner. It might require some sort of workaround.

Part of me still thinks a receiver with all of this stuff built in would be ideal, but I'm realising such a receiver might not exist at a reasonable price point.

I'm not sure about that USB stick - it depends on whether there are Linux drivers for it.

I've just dug out my old PCTV 290e stick and tried it with my Octagon receiver - obviously different to the ZGemma box but it's running the Enigma2 operating system in the same way, so the experience should be the same. The same drivers tend to be available for most boxes running the operating system.

There's one on Ebay going for a few quid - PCTV 290e TV Tuner Black used | eBay

I had to install the drivers package for the DVB-T2 stick using the command line, but that was a pre-built driver package that only required one command to install. Once that was done and the box rebooted, the USB tuner appeared in the tuners menu on the box and I can tune the channels in fine using it (in my case UK Freeview HD DVB-T2 and Freeview SD DVB-T ones).

The Enigma2 operating system supports DVB-T2 so once the USB tuner is inserted and the drivers are installed it just appears as another tuner in the menu that can tune channels in the normal way. The box knows it's a DVB-T device.

I would test the XBox One USB tuner but unfortunately I think I sold the one I had a few months back!

Excuse the dust in the photo :D
 

Attachments

  • bbc_one_hd_dvb-t2_enigma2.jpg
    bbc_one_hd_dvb-t2_enigma2.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 9
  • tuner_c_pctv290e.jpg
    tuner_c_pctv290e.jpg
    532.1 KB · Views: 8
  • C916D930-A2DB-4D58-A500-69F7698FE133.jpeg
    C916D930-A2DB-4D58-A500-69F7698FE133.jpeg
    61 KB · Views: 8

KabelioSat

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
28
Reaction score
7
Points
3
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Freeview receiver with Edision
My Location
Bexley
I'm not sure about that USB stick - it depends on whether there are Linux drivers for it.

I've just dug out my old PCTV 290e stick and tried it with my Octagon receiver - obviously different to the ZGemma box but it's running the Enigma2 operating system in the same way, so the experience should be the same. The same drivers tend to be available for most boxes running the operating system.

There's one on Ebay going for a few quid - PCTV 290e TV Tuner Black used | eBay

I had to install the drivers package for the DVB-T2 stick using the command line, but that was a pre-built driver package that only required one command to install. Once that was done and the box rebooted, the USB tuner appeared in the tuners menu on the box and I can tune the channels in fine using it (in my case UK Freeview HD DVB-T2 and Freeview SD DVB-T ones).

The Enigma2 operating system supports DVB-T2 so once the USB tuner is inserted and the drivers are installed it just appears as another tuner in the menu that can tune channels in the normal way. The box knows it's a DVB-T device.

I would test the XBox One USB tuner but unfortunately I think I sold the one I had a few months back!

Excuse the dust in the photo :D
Thanks that's really good to know. Keeping the Zgemma and adapting it looks like the way to go. If I could figure out the update before buying the PCTV 290e, so that I could see the terrestrial option on the Zgemma device beforehand, that would be ideal. I have proven really quite useless at identifying good receiver software/ firmware update sources so far, so if you know a website where I should focus my search, could you let me know?

Edit: Would a 292e work? I don't see the 290e one.
 
Last edited:

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
846
Reaction score
610
Points
93
Age
28
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W/4.8°E), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC (Intel i3 processor, nVidia Graphics, and TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card) running Ubuntu with Kodi/TVHeadend, Wetek Play2, Skybox M3.
My Location
Cheltenham
Thanks that's really good to know. Keeping the Zgemma and adapting it looks like the way to go. If I could figure out the update before buying the PCTV 290e, so that I could see the terrestrial option on the Zgemma device beforehand, that would be ideal. I have proven really quite useless at identifying good receiver software/ firmware update sources so far, so if you know a website where I should focus my search, could you let me know?

Edit: Would a 292e work? I don't see the 290e one.

Yeah the 292e is supported too. There’s definitely firmware available on the receivers for that one. It’s just an updated version of the 290e, which was pretty much the first USB DVB-T2 stick that came out around 10 years ago.

You can install the firmware for the device in advance, but you won’t see any options for it until you have it and it’s plugged in. Once it is you’ll have a menu option under Reception like in my screenshot, where you’ll see the third tuner with its label and can select it and run a terrestrial scan. The channels will just get added to the list alongside the satellite ones.

Not sure regarding the best source for the software these days, my Octagon has OpenATV 6.4 on it but it came like that. That’s the one that’s working nicely with my PC290e though. Someone else here might know the best place to download and install the images for these boxes!
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
846
Reaction score
610
Points
93
Age
28
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W/4.8°E), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC (Intel i3 processor, nVidia Graphics, and TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card) running Ubuntu with Kodi/TVHeadend, Wetek Play2, Skybox M3.
My Location
Cheltenham
Could a firmware update from here do the trick? openATV Nightly Downloads

They should be fine I think yes. Might be an easier way to check though, if you plug the receiver in to your TV and turn it on, the booting screen should have a background image telling you what image is installed on it already (e.g OpenATV, OpenVIX etc).

If it’s already OpenATV, if you connect it to your Wifi/network it should be able to do an online software update without you needing to apply one via USB.

My Octagon was OpenATV and that’s all I’ve ever done with it, never used the USB update feature.
 

KabelioSat

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
28
Reaction score
7
Points
3
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Freeview receiver with Edision
My Location
Bexley
I've got myself in a bit of a mess. In front of me now I have a Technisat HD8+, an Edision Piccollo 3in1, and a Zgemma H9 Twin receiver.

  • Edision Piccollo 3in1: I had this up and working just the way I wanted it for months. However, once I tried to get Tivùsat working alongside the Kabelio CAM, it proved impossible.

  • Zgemma H9 Twin: So I got the Zgemma. The hardware looks the most modern of the three. No wacky old timey ports on the back, just modern stuff like HDMI, and useful stuff like ethernet. However, even after installing firmware like OpenATV, I have no idea how to get it working. It is by far the least intuitive of the three. When I try and do a simple blind scan of Hotbird, it yields some random assortment of channels rather than just finding them all in the way I would expect.

  • Technisat HD8+: So I got the Technisat. It is gigantic and looks old-fashioned. However, it has some automatic setup process for dummies like me. It was fixed on Astra so it didn't work at first, but I could quickly figure out how to run a scan on Hotbird and it seems like it works fine. The trouble is still that there's no local TV aerial input and I can't figure out software/ firmware stuff to get an adaptor to work.

I got impatient with eBay and so bought a new, overpriced "WinTV-soloHD Triple mode HD TV" adapter for TV aerial input on either the Zgemma or Technisat. But I can't get it to work.

Obsessing over the Tivùsat has gotten me into quite a bit of trouble...
 

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,210
Reaction score
658
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, AZ/EL x3.
My Location
South Durham
The Technisat won't ever work with an external turner. The ZGemma will have a steep learning curve, it may be better to manually scan the transponders you are after.
 

KabelioSat

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
28
Reaction score
7
Points
3
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Freeview receiver with Edision
My Location
Bexley
The Technisat won't ever work with an external turner. The ZGemma will have a steep learning curve, it may be better to manually scan the transponders you are after.
Thanks, I didn't realise this. I guess I either need to return a silly amount of stuff or learn how to get the Zgemma working. All I'd like is for the Zgemma to do a blind scan + recognise the aerial tuner. Maybe doing it by transponder wouldn't be so bad but it doesn't sound much fun. Can't it do a blind scan like any other receiver?
 

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,210
Reaction score
658
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, AZ/EL x3.
My Location
South Durham
A quick search of the forum suggests the blind scan on Zgemma receivers is problematic. Are there any other scanning options such as 'preset or auto scan'? It would then be able to scan the transponders already in the receiver's database. I'm not particularly familiar with this type of receiver so sorry I can't be specific.
 

KabelioSat

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
28
Reaction score
7
Points
3
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Freeview receiver with Edision
My Location
Bexley
A quick search of the forum suggests the blind scan on Zgemma receivers is problematic. Are there any other scanning options such as 'preset or auto scan'? It would then be able to scan the transponders already in the receiver's database. I'm not particularly familiar with this type of receiver so sorry I can't be specific.

I have attached the options I see. Nothing I can do from this menus seems to work. At best, I got a random assortment of channels up, but not what a blind scan would produce on either the Technisat or the Edision.

IMG_0874.jpeg
 

ozumo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,210
Reaction score
658
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, AZ/EL x3.
My Location
South Durham
Manual scan 11766 Vertical 29900, does it find the Rai channels? If there is an option to network or NIT scan enable that as well, in theory it should find all the Tivusat transponders.
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
846
Reaction score
610
Points
93
Age
28
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W/4.8°E), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC (Intel i3 processor, nVidia Graphics, and TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card) running Ubuntu with Kodi/TVHeadend, Wetek Play2, Skybox M3.
My Location
Cheltenham
I have attached the options I see. Nothing I can do from this menus seems to work. At best, I got a random assortment of channels up, but not what a blind scan would produce on either the Technisat or the Edision.

View attachment 136166

Manual scan 11766 Vertical 29900, does it find the Rai channels? If there is an option to network or NIT scan enable that as well, in theory it should find all the Tivusat transponders.

Have you first gone into Tuner Configuration and 'assigned' Hotbird/Eutelsat 13 to the tuner?

You should then be able to go into manual scan, select predefined transponder at 11766V 29900 (if it doesn't exist you can change it to manually defined transponder and set the parameters manually), then tick the network scan box and press search.

Or you can go into Automatic scan, select predefined transponders and do a transponder search for Eutelsat 13. The list should hopefully be fairly up-to-date on a new version of OpenATV like that.

Regarding the WinTV solo HD stick, apparently the driver should be the same as the PCTV 292e to get it working in Enigma2. If you go to menu and find plugins, install plugins from web - do you have a 'drivers' section in there? You need to find one called something like enigma2-plugin-drivers-ct2-dvb-usb-pctv292e (the 292e bit is the important bit), install it and then reboot the box. The WinTV Solo HD should hopefully then appear in the tuner configuration. If not, we can work out how to do it via the command line!
 

KabelioSat

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
28
Reaction score
7
Points
3
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Freeview receiver with Edision
My Location
Bexley
Have you first gone into Tuner Configuration and 'assigned' Hotbird/Eutelsat 13 to the tuner?

You should then be able to go into manual scan, select predefined transponder at 11766V 29900 (if it doesn't exist you can change it to manually defined transponder and set the parameters manually), then tick the network scan box and press search.

Or you can go into Automatic scan, select predefined transponders and do a transponder search for Eutelsat 13. The list should hopefully be fairly up-to-date on a new version of OpenATV like that.

Regarding the WinTV solo HD stick, apparently the driver should be the same as the PCTV 292e to get it working in Enigma2. If you go to menu and find plugins, install plugins from web - do you have a 'drivers' section in there? You need to find one called something like enigma2-plugin-drivers-ct2-dvb-usb-pctv292e (the 292e bit is the important bit), install it and then reboot the box. The WinTV Solo HD should hopefully then appear in the tuner configuration. If not, we can work out how to do it via the command line!
Thanks so much for this.

I am using a mini projector with low brightness, so I can't actually see anything during the day (which I find to be a good thing while teleworking). This is why I'm a bit slow to reply, since I need to wait for sundown to test anything (I have Velux windows and the blinds are broken).

From my previous experimenting, I can't remember exactly what I did, but I got precisely the Tivùsat channels up. I found it odd that it didn't find all the other channels alongside them. This was either a manual or automatic scan, I don't remember. So I know I can find Tivùsat, luckily. But I haven't found free to air channels or the Kabelio channels.
 

KabelioSat

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
28
Reaction score
7
Points
3
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Freeview receiver with Edision
My Location
Bexley
I also couldn't figure out how to delete the Astra channel list and move channels about. I'm sure I will figure something that simple out, but it certainly seems trickier to do basic things like that versus the Edision
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
846
Reaction score
610
Points
93
Age
28
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W/4.8°E), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC (Intel i3 processor, nVidia Graphics, and TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card) running Ubuntu with Kodi/TVHeadend, Wetek Play2, Skybox M3.
My Location
Cheltenham
I also couldn't figure out how to delete the Astra channel list and move channels about. I'm sure I will figure something that simple out, but it certainly seems trickier to do basic things like that versus the Edision

OK, so I've managed to have a look on my receiver running OpenATV so I can find what the exact things to do would be -

1. To get the relevant USB DVB drivers for your WinTV Solo HD stick -

Menu > Plugins > Green button (Download Plugins) > After the list populates, Press OK on drivers (to open submenu) > scroll down to ct2-dvb-usb-pctv292e and press OK > Answer Yes to 'Are you sure...?' > After the driver installs, reboot the receiver and the USB tuner should be recognised.

2. To scan Eutelsat 13/Hotbird -

Menu > Setup > Reception > Tuner Configuration > Select the satellite tuner(s) you have plugged the cable into with OK, go down to 'satellite' and scroll left/right until you get 13.0E Hotbird 13B/13C/13E > Press green to save.

You'll then get the option to delete the channels for other satellites (e.g. Astra) that are no longer configured, select either yes or yes to all to remove the other sats. You may only get this option once you assign both tuners to Hotbird, so no tuner has Astra assigned (or set the tuner with no sat cable connected to 'nothing connected' under satellite by scrolling left/right til you find that option).

After you've saved and deleted any unused sats, press Exit. Then -

Menu > Setup > Reception > Manual Scan -

Tuner - make sure the satellite tuner with the Hotbird cable attached is selected with left/right remote keys (probably Tuner A)
Scan type - press right button on remote until you get 'Single satellite' option
Satellite - should show now as 13.0E Hotbird, but you can scroll left/right to find it if not.
Network scan - yes
Clear before scan - probably yes if you want to start fresh, no otherwise
Free to air (FTA) channels only - no

Hit the green button to start the scan, it should tune all the pre-defined transponders in the receiver's list which should hopefully be up to date. Plus network scan will hopefully catch any others.

3. Delete Astra channels (if the steps above don't clear them)

Exit from all menus > Click Up key on remote to show the channel list > Click green button on remote until you see (TV) with 'folders' showing the different sats > Scroll down to the 19.2E Astra 1 folder > Press Menu button on remote > Select Remove Selected Satellite
 

Attachments

  • screenshot_20210505142443.jpg
    screenshot_20210505142443.jpg
    605.7 KB · Views: 2
  • screenshot_20210505142747.jpg
    screenshot_20210505142747.jpg
    529.3 KB · Views: 2
  • screenshot_20210505143630.jpg
    screenshot_20210505143630.jpg
    490 KB · Views: 2
  • screenshot_20210505144024.jpg
    screenshot_20210505144024.jpg
    530.7 KB · Views: 2
Last edited:
Top