Advice Needed UHF antenna coupling

zorrin

Specialised contributor
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
440
Reaction score
421
Points
63
Age
51
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
CM 1m20 Ku 52°E to 45°O GTMEDIA V9 Prime
CM 1m20 Ku 50°E to 45°O OCTAGON SF8008
My Location
france
Hello,
I found 2 UHF antennas and I would like to couple them.

UHF1.jpg

What type of coupler should I use ?

UHF5.jpg


To fix them together on a horizontal tube, I decided to move the fixing from the back to the center of the antennas.
The weight would be better distributed between the front and the rear.

UHF3.jpg

In this photo the vertical tube passes through the center of the antenna.

Do you think this is blocking reception?

UHF4.jpg
 

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
5,179
Reaction score
2,576
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham

zorrin

Specialised contributor
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
440
Reaction score
421
Points
63
Age
51
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
CM 1m20 Ku 52°E to 45°O GTMEDIA V9 Prime
CM 1m20 Ku 50°E to 45°O OCTAGON SF8008
My Location
france

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,198
Reaction score
1,918
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Your only going to get an additional 3 dB of signal strength when you phase couple two identical antennas.

And the mast location has been accounted for in it's design.
 

zorrin

Specialised contributor
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
440
Reaction score
421
Points
63
Age
51
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
CM 1m20 Ku 52°E to 45°O GTMEDIA V9 Prime
CM 1m20 Ku 50°E to 45°O OCTAGON SF8008
My Location
france
Your only going to get an additional 3 dB of signal strength when you phase couple two identical antennas.

And the mast location has been accounted for in it's design.
The two antennas cost me a total of 20 euros...
And I need the 3dB for my project.
I already know that I can receive the TNT signal from Brussels in Belgium in Paris with my current small installation (only one time...)
I would like to try to receive it continuously.
It's a bit crazy but I'll do it!

Now the coupler is my problem.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,476
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Your only going to get an additional 3 dB of signal strength when you phase couple two identical antennas.

And the mast location has been accounted for in it's design.
3dB is good for the initial cost.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,476
Reaction score
8,525
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Hello,
I found 2 UHF antennas and I would like to couple them.

View attachment 145523

What type of coupler should I use ?

View attachment 145524


To fix them together on a horizontal tube, I decided to move the fixing from the back to the center of the antennas.
The weight would be better distributed between the front and the rear.

View attachment 145525

In this photo the vertical tube passes through the center of the antenna.

Do you think this is blocking reception?

View attachment 145526G
Use quality sub GHz combiners and keep all cables between the two antennas at an identical length.

Are you looking to capture just horizontal polarity ?
 

zorrin

Specialised contributor
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
440
Reaction score
421
Points
63
Age
51
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
CM 1m20 Ku 52°E to 45°O GTMEDIA V9 Prime
CM 1m20 Ku 50°E to 45°O OCTAGON SF8008
My Location
france
Use quality sub GHz combiners and keep all cables between the two antennas at an identical length.

Are you looking to capture just horizontal polarity ?
Are you talking about that?

1665946960943.png

Not this one (don't need adjustment) ?

1665947088796.png
Or something else ?
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,253
Reaction score
1,141
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
Have you managed to receive the RTBF on UHF channel E56 since the launch of 700MHz 5G in France? I saw recently that this is now causing signal issues even near the border between France and Wallonia.

Apparently the RTBF mux will move to DVB-T2 HD (HEVC like the German channels) in spring 2023, and at the same time switch to channel 42.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,198
Reaction score
1,918
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Try looking for one of these hummers.....
Code:
https://www.channelmaster.com/products/jointenna-tv-antenna-combiner-cm-0500

And your still going to have to match the coax lengths between the antennas.
 

zorrin

Specialised contributor
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
440
Reaction score
421
Points
63
Age
51
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
CM 1m20 Ku 52°E to 45°O GTMEDIA V9 Prime
CM 1m20 Ku 50°E to 45°O OCTAGON SF8008
My Location
france
Have you managed to receive the RTBF on UHF channel E56 since the launch of 700MHz 5G in France? I saw recently that this is now causing signal issues even near the border between France and Wallonia.

Apparently the RTBF mux will move to DVB-T2 HD (HEVC like the German channels) in spring 2023, and at the same time switch to channel 42.
My Sony TV has a permanent automatic search function.
Very quickly I saw the names of unknown
channels appear that I identified as coming from Belgium on channel 56.
But I had never seen an image before last September.
The quality was very good but the channels and radios slowly disappeared 30mins later.

Channel 42 would not be a problem for me, only the Eiffel Tower, which is the opposite of Belgium from me, uses this frequency.
My Sony TV has a permanent automatic search function.
Very quickly I saw the names of unknown channels appear that I identified as coming from Belgium on channel 56.
But I had never seen an image before last September.
The quality was very good but the channels and radios slowly disappeared 30mins later.

Channel 42 would not be a problem for me, only the Eiffel Tower, which is the opposite of Belgium from me, uses this frequency.

054D5938-1578-4EA4-AAFE-3A1D9ADAA0D9.jpeg
 

zorrin

Specialised contributor
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
440
Reaction score
421
Points
63
Age
51
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
CM 1m20 Ku 52°E to 45°O GTMEDIA V9 Prime
CM 1m20 Ku 50°E to 45°O OCTAGON SF8008
My Location
france
Try looking for one of these hummers.....
Code:
https://www.channelmaster.com/products/jointenna-tv-antenna-combiner-cm-0500

And your still going to have to match the coax lengths between the antennas.
Yes, I suspected that requirement :)
 

zorrin

Specialised contributor
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
440
Reaction score
421
Points
63
Age
51
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
CM 1m20 Ku 52°E to 45°O GTMEDIA V9 Prime
CM 1m20 Ku 50°E to 45°O OCTAGON SF8008
My Location
france
There are 251 km between my house and the transmitter.
I am at an altitude of 132m and the transmitter at 172m.

The maximum height is 174m between us.
It's a problem but not too much I think.

1665953694268.png
 

zorrin

Specialised contributor
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
440
Reaction score
421
Points
63
Age
51
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
CM 1m20 Ku 52°E to 45°O GTMEDIA V9 Prime
CM 1m20 Ku 50°E to 45°O OCTAGON SF8008
My Location
france
I will of course put a rotator for the fine adjustment but also to see if I wouldn't be able to catch you too :)

1665954288342.png
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,253
Reaction score
1,141
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
Interesting stuff :)

The nearest Francophone Belgian DVB-T transmitter to Paris is Tournai/Froidmont. That's 40kW but in V polarisation. The high powered transmitter near Brussels (Wavre) is 80kW H. Both currently use channel 56 in SFN.

Looks like from the Paris region that the terrain profile is more favourable towards Brussels than Tournai.
 

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
5,179
Reaction score
2,576
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
There are 251 km between my house and the transmitter.
I am at an altitude of 132m and the transmitter at 172m.

The maximum height is 174m between us.
It's a problem but not too much I think.

View attachment 145546
Looks more like 32m than 132m on that chart? This line-of-sight calculator allows you to enter antenna heights (Wavre is 232m according to wikipedia):

Code:
https://www.scadacore.com/tools/rf-path/rf-line-of-sight/
 

zorrin

Specialised contributor
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
440
Reaction score
421
Points
63
Age
51
Location
France
Website
www.facebook.com
My Satellite Setup
CM 1m20 Ku 52°E to 45°O GTMEDIA V9 Prime
CM 1m20 Ku 50°E to 45°O OCTAGON SF8008
My Location
france
Looks more like 32m than 132m on that chart? This line-of-sight calculator allows you to enter antenna heights (Wavre is 232m according to wikipedia):

Code:
https://www.scadacore.com/tools/rf-path/rf-line-of-sight/
No, I'm sure of my position.
I am at one of the highest places near Paris.
I based myself on the transmitter of the tower of Brusseles not the Wavre one.
But I believe that you are right for that.
I will recalculate today :)
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,253
Reaction score
1,141
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
The central Bruxelles/Tour des Finances transmitter looks like it’s only a few kW in power from the info I found, and is V polarisation like Tournai rather than H like Wavre. All are using channel 56.

On the other hand, once the switch to channel 42 happens next year, V pol may be better for you as it would give you better rejection of the H pol transmission on E42 from the Eiffel Tower transmitter.
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,253
Reaction score
1,141
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
There's also Anderlues/Mont-Sainte-Geneviève (80kW H @ 157m), and Profondeville/Rivière (50kW H @ 157m) also on channel 56.

Source: fmscan.org

Screenshot 2022-10-17 094934.png
 

LeBelge

Member
Joined
May 14, 2015
Messages
290
Reaction score
148
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
2x Triax TD 110, 2x Edision OS Mio 4K (plus), Edision OS Mini 4K, Edision OS Nino Pro
My Location
Belguim
The two antennas cost me a total of 20 euros...
And I need the 3dB for my project.

I think that you need a better antenna like that one:

antena283.jpg

I bought it from castorama.fr ( in France )
 
Top