Visiosat bisat - loss of signal during bad weather

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,531
Reaction score
809
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
When you are adjusting skew are you moving the whole LNB holder or just the LNB itself? It's only the LNB that should be rotated.

Does the app give suggestions on how high each holder should be? I see there's a scale on the back.
 

Bamboccio

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
47
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
43
Hi I am just rotating the LNB - I am not sure about how to get that detail on the app. I am thinking to buy this beeper:

Do you think that it would help?
 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,531
Reaction score
809
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Hi I am just rotating the LNB - I am not sure about how to get that detail on the app. I am thinking to buy this beeper:

Do you think that it would help?

Yes I used something similar for many years. A video call to a phone/tablet/webcam pointing at the television can be useful too.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,843
Reaction score
1,691
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
I think you really need a dual LNB bracket, not a triple...It put's one center and one offset, a dual bracket would work much better in this setup. That way both LNB's get full signal.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,843
Reaction score
1,691
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Or even replace the current LNB setup with one of these.

Code:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/152665970832?mkevt=1&mkcid=1&mkrid=710-53481-19255-0&campid=5338722076&toolid=10001
 

Bamboccio

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
47
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
43
I think you really need a dual LNB bracket, not a triple...It put's one center and one offset, a dual bracket would work much better in this setup. That way both LNB's get full signal.
Thanks Terryl - I will try to fix the current setup with the beeper and then if I get some success attempt to change the bracket and LNBs. I need 4 outputs so I am not sure if the monobloc would work.
 

Bamboccio

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
47
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
43
Yes I used something similar for many years. A video call to a phone/tablet/webcam pointing at the television can be useful too.
I was calling my wife but her patience run short very quickly :rolleyes:
Thanks
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,843
Reaction score
1,691
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Need 4 outputs? Look down the page to the ""Inverto Black Pro 6 degree quad monoblock"" LNB section.

Code:
https://www.satellitesuperstore.com/monoblock.htm
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
836
Reaction score
419
Points
63
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
I think you really need a dual LNB bracket, not a triple...It put's one center and one offset, a dual bracket would work much better in this setup. That way both LNB's get full signal.

As it is a multifeed dish, all LNBs somewhere in the mid range will get full signal. So no difference for the offset LNBs, as you suggest.

That's the nature of a multifeed dish: parabolic just in the vertical sense, circular in the horizontal sense (not orthogonal).

I think this bracket is fully OK, for Bamboccio's purpose.

greetz,
A33
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,843
Reaction score
1,691
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
On a triple LNB/dish setup I have measured as much as -3 dB drop on the offset LNB's total signal. Don't have the data now as this was done years ago in the lab at work.(using lab calibrated equipment)
 

Bamboccio

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
47
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
43
I am still not client on the skew. If I move the bottom of the LNB to the left looking at the dish I seem to loose signal - at least for hotbitd.
 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,531
Reaction score
809
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
I am still not client on the skew. If I move the bottom of the LNB to the left looking at the dish I seem to loose signal - at least for hotbitd.
Peak the skew for maximum signal rather than what is theoretically correct - it's possible the probes in the LNB are not in the assumed positions.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,659
Reaction score
2,269
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
As it is a multifeed dish, all LNBs somewhere in the mid range will get full signal. So no difference for the offset LNBs, as you suggest.

That's the nature of a multifeed dish: parabolic just in the vertical sense, circular in the horizontal sense (not orthogonal).

I think this bracket is fully OK, for Bamboccio's purpose.

greetz,
A33
1st sentence is correct, but when the centre LNB is aimed at your Southern-most sat then the LNBs on either side may need slightly different skew angles in "opposite directions".

That's true for my "90 West" dish with the centre LNB aimed at 0.8W and the two either side aimed at 4.8E and 5W, and so the centre LNB has virtually "zero" skew, whereas that for 4.8E is skewed very slightly "one way" and that for 5W is skewed very slightly the "other way".

Edited - my longitude is 0.41W
 

a33

Specialised Contributor
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
836
Reaction score
419
Points
63
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
XSAT410
Rebox RE-9000
My Location
NL
On a triple LNB/dish setup I have measured as much as -3 dB drop on the offset LNB's total signal. Don't have the data now as this was done years ago in the lab at work.(using lab calibrated equipment)

I guess that was measured on a normal, non-multifeed dish?

For a multifeed dish, like the T90, you get something like the graph here: wavefrontier t55 of toch t90
Rimantss tested it himself on a T90, and made the drawing of this post: T90 23.5 en 28.2 belangrijkste is dit de beste opstelling?

(Alas both posts without proper credit for the source of the drawing....)

Greetz,
A33
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,843
Reaction score
1,691
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Measured on a Dish Network triple LNB dish,(Dish 1000 =110W, 119W and 129W) this was when they first came out...Sometime around 2006, the last year in the lab for me, I retired at the end of the year.

People on the West coast (well not quite to the coast) had problems with reception on 129W, found out later it was the satellites footprint, 129 was requisition from Canada, (Ciel 2) so it's footprint was not quite optimized for the US.

In the boonies of the Sierra Mountains I need a 1 meter dish for 129, then I use a DP44 switch to combine it with a standard dish 500 antenna with a DP twin LNB for 110 and 119.
 
Last edited:

Bamboccio

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
47
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
43
I had one more go and I got even more signal now. I still do not have enough on 19.2 - 11788 (although I can actually see it, the level is deemed to be too low when I do a search)

Would you be able to suggest which are the best test test channels on for 13 est as well as others for 19.2 est?

Thanks!
 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,531
Reaction score
809
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Going by memory these are the channels I've had issue with before:

19.2E:
12304H 27500 Sky Sport News HD
11229V 22000 BBC World HD

13E
12054H 29900 CNBC Europe HD
12520V 27500 Med Muzik
 

Bamboccio

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
47
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
43
Thank you - I can see all of those.

The level is indicated as circa 13db on my Technomate, I wonder if that is a decent level?
 

ozumo

Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,531
Reaction score
809
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
On a zone 2 dish pointing at 28.2E, an offset LNB for 19.2E, in the sunny North East:
11778V 29500: 9.0dB
12304H 27500: 10.0dB
11229V 22000: 9.5dB

The only dish I have with access to 13E is 1.2M so little point comparing :)
 

Bamboccio

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
47
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
43
On a zone 2 dish pointing at 28.2E, an offset LNB for 19.2E, in the sunny North East:
11778V 29500: 9.0dB
12304H 27500: 10.0dB
11229V 22000: 9.5dB

The only dish I have with access to 13E is 1.2M so little point comparing :)
Thank you so in theory I have a stronger signal.
12304H 12.9dB
11229V 13.2dB

On 11778V I do not have enough to see the value. I will try to adjust a bit more tomorrow.
 
Top